
REV-142 AS AFP(07-16)
FAX NO 717-705-8413

SIGNATURE TITLE DATE

CIGARETTE STAMPING AGENT
2016 FLOOR TAX RETURN

CIGARETTE TAX ACCOUNT ID

SALES TAX ACCOUNT ID

Make check or money order payable to:
PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Mail to:

All cigarette dealers must file a return on or before October 31, 2016. Please refer to the instructions on the reverse side of this notice.

Pennsylvania Stamped Cigarettes, Unstamped Little Cigars and Unaffixed Stamp Inventory
As of close of business July 31, 2016

PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
MISCELLANEOUS TAX (CIG)
PO BOX 280408
HARRISBURG PA 17128-0408

Effective August 1, 2016, the Pennsylvania cigarette tax rate will increase from $1.60 to $2.60 per pack of 20 cigarettes/little cigars; and
from $2.00 to $3.25 per pack of 25 cigarettes/little cigars.Stamped cigarettes in Philadelphia will increase from $3.60 to 4.60 per pack of
20 cigarettes/little cigars and from $4.50 to $5.75 per pack of 25 cigarettes/little cigars.

FIEN/SSN

Section II
Pennsylvania Resident Cigarette Stamping Agents Only: Record the inventory of unstamped and foreign stamped cigarettes.

6) Number of packs of unstamped 20 cigarettes/little cigars

7) Number of packs of unstamped 25 cigarettes/little cigars

8) Number of packs of foreign stamped cigarettes

Cigarettes Little Cigars

Section I
Inventory of Pennsylvania stamped packs of cigarettes/little cigars No. of Packs Rate Tax Due

1) Number of packs of 20 cigarettes/little cigars
2) Number of packs of 25 cigarettes/little cigars
3) Number of Philadelphia packs of 20 cigarettes/little cigars
4) Number of Philadelphia packs of 25 cigarettes/little cigars
5) Balance due from inventory of packs of cigarettes and little cigars (add Lines 1 through 4)

X $1.00 =
X $1.25  =
X $1.00 =
X $1.25  =
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X $1.00 =
X $1.25  =
X $1.00 =
X $1.25  =

Section III
Inventory of unaffixed Pennsylvania and Philadelphia tax stamps No. of Stamps Rate Tax Due

9) Number of unaffixed $1.60 PA stamps
10) Number of unaffixed $2.00 PA stamps
11) Number of unaffixed $3.60 Philadelphia stamps
12) Number of unaffixed $4.50 Philadelphia stamps
13) Balance due from inventory of unaffixed tax stamps (add Lines 9 through 12)

Section IV

14) Penalty and Interest if filed after October 31, 2016 (see instructions on the back)

15) Total Amount Due (Add Lines 5, 13 & 14)
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Important: Failure to file this return and pay the floor tax due will result in the imposition of penalties and interest and may result
in criminal prosecution pursuant to 72 P.S. @ 8276. 

I hereby certify that this return is true and correct.

.

.

PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUREAU OF BUSINESS TRUST FUND TAXES
PO BOX 280909
HARRISBURG, PA 17128-0909



Effective Date of Tax Change - Effective August 1, 2016, the Pennsylvania cigarette tax will change from $1.60 to
$2.60 per pack of 20 cigarettes/little cigars and from $2.00 to $3.25 per pack of 25 cigarettes/little cigars.  Stamped
cigarettes in Philadelphia will change from $3.60 to $4.60 per pack of 20 cigarettes/little cigars and from $4.50 to $5.75
per pack of 25 cigarettes/little cigars.  The Pennsylvania cigarette tax rate on unstampable little cigars will change from
8 cents per little cigar stick to 13 cents per little cigar stick and the unstampable little cigar tax rate in Philadelphia will
change from 18 cents per little cigar stick to 23 cents per little cigar stick.

On August 1, 2016, stamping agents, wholesalers, retailers and vending dealers will have on hand cigarettes/little
cigars and unaffixed stamps bearing the old rate.  To adjust this inventory to the new rate, all agents and dealers must
pay a floor tax on all Pennsylvania   and Philadelphia stamped cigarettes/little cigars on hand as of the close of
business July 31, 2016.  Cigarette Stamping Agents must pay the floor tax on full and partial rolls of unaffixed cigarette
stamps and account for unstamped cigarettes/little cigars as of the close of business July 31, 2016.  Use the results of
the inventory to complete this return and file it with your payment on or before October 31, 2016.  Every cigarette
licensee must file a return even if no cigarettes/little cigars are in inventory.

NOTE: Vending machine operators have an option of reporting their inventory of Pennsylvania stamped cigarettes/little
cigars as either a) an actual physical count of all cigarettes/little cigars in the vending machines, or b) a calculated
figure of 60 percent of the charge-out inventory.  Charge-out inventory is the amount of cigarettes/little cigars shown as
the normal fill capacity of each machine.

Monthly Reporting for Cigarette Stamping Agents:
CSA's will be required to file a monthly report using the period beginning July 1, 2016 and ending July 31, 2016.

Rate of Tax - The Pennsylvania cigarette/little cigar and unstampable little cigar tax rate will change from 8 cents per
cigarette to 13 cents per cigarette.  Cigarettes/little cigars and unstampabale little cigars sold in Philadelphia will
change from 18 cents per cigarette to 23 cents per cigarette. The floor tax per pack of 20 cigarettes/little cigars and
unaffixed stamps is $1.00.  The floor tax per pack of 25 cigarettes/little cigars and unaffixed stamps is $1.25.    

Filing Requirements - A return for each licensed location must be filed on or before October 31, 2016. Please make
checks payable to the PA Department of Revenue.

Record Retention - You must retain a copy of the completed tax return and supporting inventory documents for a
period of four (4) years.

Unsaleable Cigarettes/Little Cigars - Unsaleable cigarettes/little cigars which are on the premises as of 12:01 a.m.,
August 1, 2016, are subject to the cigarette floor tax.  Credits for unsalable cigarettes/little cigars will not be issued by
the department until the floor tax return and payment are received and the credit is verified.

Cigarettes/Little Cigars in Transit - Cigarettes/little cigars which are alleged to be in transit as of August 1, 2016, will
be deemed the property of the shipper.  The shipper shall file a return and pay the floor tax imposed (72 P. S. @
8206.1) by October 31, 2016.

Penalty and Interest - Failure to submit your tax return and payment by October 31, 2016, will require the settlement
of cigarette floor tax due, plus penalty and interest.  Penalty is calculated at five percent of the tax due but unpaid for
each month or fraction thereof that remains unpaid.   Interest on late payments is calculated from the due date of this
return until the date paid (TAX DUE x DAYS LATE x DAILY INTEREST RATE). The daily interest rate is established
annually by the U.S. Treasury and is provided on form REV-1611.

Additional Penalties - In addition to settling penalty and interest, the department has the authority to settle
administrative penalties in an amount equal to the floor tax evaded plus interest and/or suspend or revoke a cigarette
dealers license, and pursue criminal prosecution for a willful failure to file a floor tax return by October 31, 2016.

Information and Forms - Should you have questions about your floor tax obligations, please call 717-783-9374 or
write to the Miscellaneous Tax Division, PO Box 280909, Harrisburg PA 17128-0909.
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