CONTACTING
THE BUREAU OF MOTOR AND
ALTERNATIVE FUEL TAXES

1-800-482-4382

Mailing Address:

PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUREAU OF MOTOR AND
ALTERNATIVE FUEL TAXES

PO BOX 280646
HARRISBURG PA 17128-0646

District Offices:

RIVERFRONT OFFICE COMPLEX
1101 S FRONT ST
HARRISBURG PA 17104

HARRISBURG DISTRICT OFFICE
1846 BROOKWOOD ST
HARRISBURG PA 17104
717-787-3937

NORRISTOWN DISTRICT OFFICE
STONY CREEK OFFICE CTR
151 W MARSHALL ST 1ST FL
NORRISTOWN PA 19401
610-270-1638

SCRANTON DISTRICT OFFICE
SCRANTON STATE OFFICE BLDG
100 LACKAWANNA AVE STE 365
SCRANTON PA 18503
570-335-9414

PITTSBURGH DISTRICT OFFICE
11 PARKWAY CTR STE 150
PITTSBURGH PA 15220
412-920-2044

CONTACT INFORMATION

Answers to questions not related to motor and
alternative fuels may be found through the
following resources.

Online Customer Service Center
WWWw.revenue.pa.gov

Taxpayer Service & Information Center
Personal Taxes: 717-787-8201
Business Taxes: 717-787-1064

e-Business Center: 717-783-6277

Property Tax/Rent Rebate Program
1-888-222-9190

1-888-PATAXES (728-2937)

Touch-tone service is required for this
automated 24-hour toll-free line. Call to
order forms or check the status of a
personal income tax account, corporate tax
account or property tax/rent rebate.

Automated Forms Ordering Service
1-800-362-2050

Service for Taxpayers with Special Hearing
and/or Speaking Needs

1-800-447-3020

Call or visit your local Department of Revenue
district office, listed in the government pages
of local telephone directories.

WWw.revenue.pa.gov

LIQUID FUELS AND FUELS
RECORDKEEPING REQUIREMENTS

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

FOR RETAIL SERVICE STATIONS

DMF-76 (09-15)



Purpose

The purpose of this guidance is to provide notice to
Pennsylvania retailers and unlicensed dealers of the
requirements for record keeping related to liquid
fuels and fuels. This guidance details the various
electronic record-keeping measurements and
processes that will facilitate retail service stations’
compliance with statutory record-keeping provisions.

Statutory Provisions

Pennsylvania retail service stations and unlicensed
dealers, which are defined as any person engaged in
the retail sale of liquid fuels or fuels who does not
hold a registered distributors permit with the
commonwealth, shall keep records as required by the
Pennsylvania Vehicle Code, Title 75, Chapter 90,
Section 9009(a), Retention of records by distributors
and dealers of the Liquid Fuels and Fuel Tax Act,
which provides:

1. The distributor and dealer shall maintain and
keep for a period of two years a record of liquid
fuels and fuels used or sold and delivered
within this Commonwealth by the distributor,
together with invoices, bills of lading and
other pertinent papers as required by the
Department.

2. A person purchasing liquid fuels and fuels
taxable under this chapter from a distributor
for the purpose of resale shall maintain for a
period of two years a record of liquid fuels and
fuels received, the amount of tax paid to the
distributor as part of the purchase price,
delivery tickets, invoices and bills of lading and
such other records as the Department requires.

The records specified herein should be available at
the retail location. If not available, the records shall be
made available from the owner or controlling entity
within a reasonable time frame (typically 24 hours)
upon request by the department.

Definitions

For purposes of these record-keeping requirements,
“product” refers to:

Liquid Fuels - gasoline and gasohol
Fuels - diesel, biodiesel and kerosene

Alternative Fuels - compressed natural gas (CNG),
liquefied natural gas (LNG), propane (LPG), gasoline-
alcohol mixtures containing at least 85 percent
alcohol by volume, hydrogen, hythane, electricity and
any other fuel used to propel motor vehicles on the
public highways not considered liquid fuels or fuels.

Specific Recordkeeping Requirements

All retail service stations, in addition to the general
requirements described in the Statutory Provisions,
are required to:

Inventory

1. Take a physical inventory of all products on
hand at the start of business each day.

2. Keep record of tank measurements and the
gallons, as per calibration charts, which are
required to be in the station or dealer’s
possession for the storage tanks. The Bureau of
Motor and Alternative Fuel Taxes will accept
physical inventories performed by electronic
storage tank monitoring systems and/or
manual stick reading charts, with appropriate
tank calibration, as acceptable forms for the
physical inventory.

3. Perform this physical inventory at the same
time as sales/disbursement meter readings are
recorded.

Maintain Receipts

1. Maintain a record of all products received,
including name and address of the supplier,
date of delivery, and gallons of product received.

2. Keep purchase invoices, bills of lading, and
delivery tickets to cover all receipts.

WWWw.revenue.pa.gov

Document Sales/Disbursements
1. Maintain appropriate records of all sales/
disbursements by recording electronic or
mechanical meter readings of pumps or other
dispensing devices that dispense motor fuels
and alternative fuels at the start of business
each day.

2. Record the amount of product dispensed from
each individual pump or dispensing device such
that the dispensing information can be easily
extracted from the system.

3. Record this dispensing information concurrently
with the recording of physical inventory. Point
of sale electronic cash register systems can
be used to record and reconcile product
inventories.

4. Document retail sales to motor carriers
operating under the requirements of the
Pennsylvania Motor Carriers Road Tax, or in
accordance with the International Fuel Tax
Agreement (IFTA), by a fuel receipt containing:
name and address of seller, date, gallons, fuel
type, price per gallon, vehicle/unit number
fueled and the purchaser’s name.

Other Requirements
1. Maintain a stock control sheet for each
calendar month showing opening physical
inventory, receipts, closing physical inventory,
disbursements, and stock gains and losses.

2. Maintain normal business records including
cash/credit disbursements and receipts.

Penalties

A retail service station or unlicensed dealer that fails
to maintain records as described herein commits a
summary offense, and shall, upon conviction, be
sentenced to pay a fine between $100 and $2,000,
imprisonment up to 90 days, or both.




