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GOVERNOR WOLF LAUDS
THE DEPARTMENT’S NEW
STATEMENT OF ACCOUNT

Governor Tom Wolf recently praised a new innovation that allows
business taxpayers and tax practitioners to receive an electronic
statement of account and for releasing an informational video
explaining the new feature.

Scan this QR code with your smartphone to watch the video ]
:

“Businesses and tax professionals have been requesting online access
to their tax account information with more details and the Department
of Revenue delivered,” said Governor Tom Wolf. "Making statements
of account available electronically will help all businesses - especially
small business owners - get their tax information quickly so they can
spend more time with their customers and clients.”

The video describes how to request and receive the statement of
account through the department’s free business tax system, e-TIDES.
The statement will be accessible the next business day. Information
about more than 40 tax types is available. Several tax practitioner
organizations tested the self-service tool before the public launch.

“The best part is the department worked with taxpayers and tax practitioners to develop this new tool,” said
Jason Skrinak of Reinsel Kuntz Lesher LLP, Certified Public Accountants and Consultants, and a member of the
Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants. “It's fast and easy to use while providing comprehensive
tax information which is important to keep a client’s account with the department up-to-date.”

For more information including step-by-step instructions, visit the department online at www.revenue.pa.gov,
select e-TIDES, then Get Assistance. Please share the video to help inform taxpayers and tax practitioners about
the new online tool.

Click Here to sign-up for PA Tax Update e-alerts.

Tax Update is a bi-monthly e-newsletter published by the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue.


http://www.revenue.pa.gov/GeneralTaxInformation/News%20and%20Statistics/Pages/PA-Tax-Update-Newsletter.aspx#.VglET7bGJBL
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ms99bLcODMU&feature=youtu.be
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OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX TAKES EFFECT OCT. 1

Pennsylvania’s new tax on other tobacco products -
e-cigarettes, pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, snuff, and
any other tobacco products for chewing, ingesting or
smoking, except cigars - takes effect Oct. 1, 2016. Floor
tax returns and payments are due by Dec. 29, 2016.

The effective day for the tax on roll-your-own tobacco is
60 days after the Pennsylvania Attorney General
publishes a notice in the Pennsylvania Bulletin
announcing it has reached an agreement with the
participating manufacturers under the Master Settlement
Agreement.

THE OTP FLOOR TAX
RETURN AND PAYMENT ARE
DUE BY DEC. 29, 2016

The tax change was part of the revenue package passed
with bipartisan support in the General Assembly to fund
the state budget. Pennsylvania had been the only state
without a tax on so-called other tobacco products (OTP),
other than e-cigarettes.

The tax rate on roll-your-own, pipe tobacco and
smokeless tobacco is 55 cents per ounce, with a
minimum per-package tax of 66 cents. The tax rate on
e-cigarettes, including the products and substances that
go into the e-cigarettes, is 40 percent of the retailer’s
purchase price from the wholesaler/manufacturer.

When the law takes effect at 12:01 a.m. Oct. 1, 2016,
retailers and vending machine operators are required to
take an inventory of OTP products. The floor tax return,
REV-1141, and payment are due by Dec. 29, 2016. The
return must be filed even if no tobacco products are in
inventory. The floor tax return due date for roll-your-own
tobacco will be determined based on when the
announcement is published in the Pennsylvania bulletin.

OTP Licenses

The law also includes new licensing and registration
requirements for all manufacturers, wholesalers, retailers
and vending machine operators selling the other tobacco
products. The licensing fees are $1,500 per location for
manufacturers and wholesalers and $25 per location for
retailers and vending machines.

Dealers who did not receive a tobacco products license
from the department may register by Vvisiting
www.pal00.state.pa.us.

OTP Tax Reporting Requirement

OTP manufacturers and wholesalers are responsible for
collecting and remitting the tax and filing reports with the
department. If a retailer purchases an untaxed product,
the retailer is responsible for the payment of the tax and
filing requirements.

The first filing period will be for the quarter from October
through December and will be due by Jan. 20, 2017.
However, the filing period changes to monthly in 2017.
The return, schedules, payment, and report will be due
by the 20th day of the following month. For example, the
January 2017 return, schedule, payment, and report will
be due by Feb. 20, 2017.

Manufacturers and wholesalers must file using REV-679;
and the applicable schedules, REV-679 A, B, C, D and E.
Returns must be filed using the department’s free and
secure online business tax filing system, e-TIDES, at
www.etides.state.pa.us. Registration and information
in e-TIDES for the OTP tax will be available in January.

More information about tobacco taxation, including
returns and due dates, is available online at
www.revenue.pa.gov.

Cigarette dealer floor tax returns due Oct. 31

The state tax rate for cigarettes and little cigars changed
to $2.60 per pack on Aug. 1, 2016. The Cigarette Dealer
Floor Tax Return and payment must be filed no later than
Oct. 31, 2016.
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NJ TO END TAX RECIPROCAL AGREEMENT WITH PA

In early September, the governor of New Jersey
announced that he will unilaterally end a nearly 40-year-
old tax reciprocal agreement with Pennsylvania effective
Jan. 1, 2017. The agreement allowed commuters to pay
state income tax in the state where they live, rather than
the state where they work.

Ending the agreement will impact thousands of
employees and employers. Nearly 250,000 workers in
both states, including approximately 125,000 in
Pennsylvania, will take on the added burden of filing
income tax returns in both states. Pennsylvania residents
will receive a resident credit for income tax paid to New
Jersey on wages earned there. The department estimates
a $5 million revenue loss for the commonwealth as a
result of the change.

While Pennsylvania has a low, flat personal income tax
rate of 3.07 percent, New Jersey’s income tax rates range
from 1.40 percent for taxable incomes under $20,000 to
8.97 percent for taxable incomes over $500,000, nearly
triple Pennsylvania’s rate.

Governor Tom Wolf urged New Jersey’s governor to
reverse his decision, which will hurt our states’ mutual
interest in creating jobs and economic opportunities in
the region, and make Pennsylvania residents working in
New Jersey suffer for that state’s political budget debate.

The 1977 agreement between the states allowed either
party to end the agreement with 90 days notice prior to
the start of the next tax year.

The PA Department of Revenue will provide more
information in the future.

TAX AMNESTY GUIDELINES PUBLISHED IN PA BULLETIN

Act 84 of 2016, signed into law July 13, 2016, authorized the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue to administer a tax
amnesty period which will be from April 21, 2017 through June 19, 2017. Program guidelines were published in the
Sept. 10, 2016 edition of the PA Bulletin and are available online at www.revenue.pa.gov.

The Tax Amnesty program will allow taxpayers with eligible periods to pay the tax and half of the interest due. The
remaining interest, penalties and fees will be waived. Eligible periods are those periods with known or unknown
delinquencies as of Dec. 31, 2015. Taxpayers who participated in the 2010 Tax Amnesty Program are not eligible to
participate in this amnesty. Failure to pay taxes eligible for amnesty will result in the application of a 5 percent penalty
to non-participants.

More information about Pennsylvania's Tax Amnesty program will be available in the coming months.

PREVENT LATE TAX PAYMENTS DUE TO ACH DEBIT BLOCKS

Many financial institutions offer ACH debit blocks to prevent an unauthorized transaction with an account. Such security
features are intended to protect their customers from becoming victims of fraud.

The Department of Revenue has experienced an increase in rejected electronic tax payments due to ACH debit blocks.
When this happens, the department is prevented from debiting an intended tax payment. As a result, the taxpayer will
receive a Notice of Assessment along with additional fees for the blocked payment.

To ensure the department can debit a tax payment as intended, taxpayers should contact their financial institution to
authorize the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue for ACH debit transactions.

If the financial institution requires information from the department, or if you have any questions, contact the
e-Business Tax Unit at 717-783-6277 or retides@pa.gov.


http://www.revenue.pa.gov/taxamnesty/Pages/default.aspx#.V-1qnDLMyel
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FUEL COMPOSITION AND ACCOUNTABILITY
PROGRAM (FUELCAP) EXPANSION

The Fuel Composition and Accountability Program
(FuelCAP) is expanding. The Department of Revenue will
perform inspections of multiple fueling stations under the
same ownership. The inspections may be simultaneous.

FuelCAP was developed in 2007 and is performed by the
Bureau of Motor and Alternative Fuel Taxes. The program
helps to ensure that oil company franchise taxes owed to
the commonwealth are accurately paid.

At the department’s request the fueling station owner or
controlling entity must provide records within a
reasonable time, typically 24 hours.

Information about record keeping requirements is
available from the brochure, Recordkeeping
Requirements for Retail Service Stations, DMF-76.
The department has more information about the program
online at www.revenue.pa.gov.

2016-2017 General Fund Revenues
Estimated versus Actual Revenue Collections (in millions)

Fiscal year-to-date General Fund collections totaled $4 billion,

which is $73.6 million, or 1.8 percent, below estimate.
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TAX PROFESSIONAL E-SERVICES CENTER

for easy access to clients’ tax information.

Tax professionals are encouraged to use the department’s Tax Professional e-Services Center

Visit the department’s Online Customer Service Center or call 717-787-1392. .

&
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https://revenue-pa.custhelp.com/app/home
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/FormsandPublications/FormsforBusinesses/Documents/MFT/dmf-76.pdf
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/FormsandPublications/FormsforBusinesses/Documents/MFT/dmf-76.pdf
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34TH ANNUAL FALL TAX SEMINAR

The 34th annual Fall Tax Seminars are underway. This year the department is focusing on how to further Governor’s
Wolf’s initiative of Government that Works by making the Department of Revenue more effective, accountable and

Please see the schedule below for a listing of seminar dates and locations.

2016 FALL TAX SEMINAR SCHEDULE

SPONSOR DAY DATE CONTACT PERSON CONFERENCE LOCATION
Central Chapter PSTAP Tuesday 10-18-2016  Sherry DeAgostino The Inn at Reading
1-800-270-3352 1040 North Park Road
sherry@pstap.org Wyomissing, PA 19610
Pittsburgh PSTAP Thursday 10-20-2016 Sherry DeAgostino Cranberry Regional Learning
1-800-270-3352 Alliance Center
sherry@pstap.org 850 Cranberry Woods Drive
Cranberry Township, PA 16066
Philadelphia Tri-County Wednesday 10-26-2016 Sherry DeAgostino Springfield Country Club
Chapter PSTAP 1-800-270-3352 400 W. Sproul Road (Route 320)
sherry@pstap.org Springfield, PA 19064
South Central Friday 10-28-2016  Sherry DeAgostino Eisenhower Conference Center
Chapter PSTAP 1-800-270-3352 2634 Emmitsburg Road
sherry@pstap.org Gettysburg, PA 17325
Wilkes University Thursday 11-03-2016 Margaret Petty The Woodlands Inn and Resort
Continuing Education Dept. 570-408-4460 Highway 315
Margaret.Petty@wilkes.edu Wilkes-Barre, PA 18766
Neumann University Thursday 11-17-2016 Janet Massey Neumann University
Division of Business & 610-558-5588 Thomas A. Bruder, Jr. Life Center Bldg.
Information Mgt. jmassey@neumann.edu 1 Neumann Drive
Aston, PA 19014
Penn State University Wednesday 12-14-2016 Theresa Bloom Penn State University

215-881-7402
tmb17@psu.edu

Abington Campus
1600 Woodland Road
Abington, PA 19001

Continued on Page 6
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2016 FALL TAX SEMINAR AGENDA

TIME TOPIC PRESENTER
7:50 - 10:00 A.M. INTRODUCTION & PERSONAL INCOME TAX UPDATES David A. Braden, CPA
> 2016 Tax Law Changes Donald E. Bianchi, CPA

> 2016 Forms & Instructions Changes
> BIT's New Fraud Investigation Unit
> Inheritance Tax

> Miscellaneous Issues

10:00 - 10:10 A.M. BREAK

10:10 - 11:10 A.M. CORPORATION TAXES UPDATES Jeffrey A. Creveling, CPA,
> Legislative Tax Changes Valerie Greene or Glenwood
> Completing RCT-101 for 2015 Hoskin

> New Tax Forms 2016
> Completing the RCT-128 Properly
> CNI Affiliate Tax Addback and Credit

11:10 - 11:20 A.M. BREAK
11:20 - 12:00 P.M, BTS STATEMENT OF ACCOUNT Adria Senft
> Electronic Detailed Statement of Account Torrence Miller

Crystal Antley
12:00 P.M. - 1:00 P.M. LUNCH

1:00 - 1:50 P.M. PASS THROUGH BUSINESS UPDATES Jane McCurdy, CPA
> Federal/Pennsylvania Differences Christopher Wilsbach
> Common Errors
> What's New

1:50 P.M. - 2:00 P.M. BREAK

2:00 - 2:50 P.M. SALES TAX UPDATES Jane McCurdy, CPA
> Legislation Updates Christopher Wilsbach
> What's New

2:50 - 3:00 P.M. BREAK

3:00 - 4:20 P.M. COLLECTIONS UPDATES Tony Bupp, William Orasin,
> Overview of CATS Organizations Denise Pickup, Debra Saul,
> General Compliance Process Joe Stagliano, Rocco Sivillo,
> Registering a Business, Remitting Payments Matthew Willis

and Reporting Changes
> Common Issues
> New Items

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Department will make every effort to
provide an alternative format to persons with disabilities about the content of the seminars.





