
 

Tax on Digital Products 
 

WHAT’S NEW  

Act 84 of 2016, specifically applies the 

commonwealth’s 6 percent sales and use tax to 

the purchase of digital products delivered to a 

customer electronically, digitally or by 

streaming. 

 

WHAT ARE DIGITAL PRODUCTS?  

Digital products include any product transferred 

electronically to a customer by download, 

streaming, or through other electronic means. 

 

Common examples of digital products include 

video, music, books, apps, games, and canned 

software.  

 

“Transferred electronically” means the product is 

accessed or obtained in a way other than a USB 

drive, DVD disk or other physical storage.  

 

EXAMPLES OF ELECTRONICALLY 

TRANSFERRING A PRODUCT INCLUDE:  

 Downloading a product from the internet. 

 Viewing a product that is streamed over the 

internet. 

 Receiving a product by email from the 

retailer. 

WHEN IS A TRANSFER OF DIGITAL MEDIA 

TAXABLE? 

The sales and use tax applies to any transfer of 

a digital product where the purchaser pays a 

consideration, unless that transfer is otherwise 

exempt.   

Common purchases of digital products that are 

taxable include, but are not limited to:   

 E-books or a subscription to download e-

books. 

 Digital video that is downloaded or 

streamed or a subscription to a streaming 

service, such as Netflix or Hulu.  

 Digital audio that is downloaded or 

streamed including songs, ringtones, and 

audio books from iTunes, Google Play and 

other services, as well as subscriptions to 

satellite radio and other streaming services. 

 Apps and games that are downloaded, add-

ons to an app or game, and subscriptions to 

online games. 

 Photographs 

 e-greeting cards 

 

WHAT IS THE AMOUNT OF TAX DUE? 

The sales and use tax is 6 percent of the 

purchase price. If a ringtone is $1, the tax is 

$.06.  

 

HOW DO I PAY THE TAX?  

Businesses with operations in Pennsylvania are 

responsible for collecting the tax and remitting it 

to the department. 

 

WHAT IF THE BUSINESS DOESN’T COLLECT 

THE TAX? 

The customer should report the purchase on 

their Pennsylvania personal income tax return 

the following year. 

 

HOW IS THE LOCATION OF THE SALE 

DETERMINED? 

For state tax purposes, the location of the sale is 

the customer’s billing address which the seller 

has on file. Pennsylvania sales tax does not 

apply to items a seller delivers to customers 

outside the state, whether transferred 

electronically or by other means.  

 

ARE THERE EXEMPTIONS? 

The same exemptions that apply to tangible 

property apply to digital products. Examples 

include: 

 Purchases by qualified charitable 

organizations, volunteer fire companies, 

religious organizations and nonprofit 

educational institutions unless used in an 

unrelated trade or business. 

 Newspaper and magazine subscriptions. 

 The resale of a digital product. 

 


