
 

 

WINE EXCISE TAX 

What is the wine excise tax?  

On June 8, 2016, Governor Tom Wolf signed 

into law Act 39 of 2016, amending the 

Liquor Code to provide for various consumer 

convenience initiatives including direct 

shipment of wine to residents of this 

commonwealth by wine producers that are 

licensed by the PA Liquor Control Board as 

“direct wine shippers.”  

 

The amendments to the Liquor Code impose 

a $2.50 per gallon excise tax on direct wine 

shipments. In addition, all direct wine 

shipment sales are subject to Pennsylvania 

state and local sales tax. The 18 percent 

liquor tax does not apply to direct 

shipments of wine by direct wine shippers. 

 
I have questions about becoming a 

wine shipper.  Who can I contact? 

Contact the PA Liquor Control Board at 717-

783-7637 or 1-800-332-7522 or visit their 

website at www.lcb.state.pa.us. 

 

What is the process to become a direct 

wine shipper? 

Complete a PA-100 Enterprise Registration 

form to apply for a sales tax license.  After 

you receive your license, access the PA 

Liquor Control Board at website at 

www.lcb.state.pa.us to apply for a Direct 

Wine Shipper license. 

 

How do I file my Wine Excise Tax 

return and payment? 

Beginning October 1, 2016, you can visit e-

TIDES, the department’s electronic filing 

system, to register your wine excise tax 

account and begin filing returns and 

payments at www.etides.state.pa.us.  As 

a licensed direct wine shipper you are 

required to remit wine excise tax to the 

Department of Revenue on a quarterly 

basis.  Returns are to be filed whether or 

not taxable transactions occur in a period. 

 

 

 

 

 

How often must I remit a Wine Excise 

Tax return and payment?  

For direct wine shippers that ship wine to 

Pennsylvania customers, returns and 

payments of the wine excise tax are due on 

a quarterly basis on the 20th day of the 

month following the end of each calendar 

quarter. 

 

The due dates will coincide with the sales 

tax quarterly due dates which can be found 

on our website at www.revenue.pa.gov 

under Forms and Publications.   
   

How is penalty and interest calculated? 

The penalty for a past due payment is 5 

percent a month from the date due until the 

date filed to a maximum of 25 percent. If 

an underpayment penalty is warranted, it is 

imposed at a rate of 3 percent a month on 

the unpaid tax balance from the date filed 

to the date paid to a maximum of 18 

percent. 

 

The interest rate for any given year is 

established by the U.S. Treasury Secretary 

and is effective on January 1st of each year.   
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