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INFORMATIONAL NOTICE
LOCAL OPTION CIGARETTE TAX 2014-02

I ssued September 24, 2014

Pennsylvania L ocal Option Cigarette Tax in a School District of the First Class: Rates and
Floor Tax Guidelines

Act 131 of 2014, signed into law on Sept. 24, authorizes a $2-per-pack cigarette tax on all cigarettes and little cigars
sold in Philadel phia, effective Oct. 1, 2014, in order to supplement public school funding in the city.

Philadelphia Cigarette Tax Stamps

Philadelphiatax stamps combining the new 10-cent-per-stick Philadelphia cigarette tax and the 8-cent-per-stick state
tax — for atotal cigarette excise tax of $3.60 per pack of 20 cigarettes/little cigars and $4.50 per pack of 25
cigarettes/little cigars sold in Philadel phia— have been created and are available to cigarette stamping agencies

beginning Sept. 24.

To alow the new tax stamps to work their way into the product chain, for up to 30 days following the effective date
of the Philadelphia cigarette tax, until Oct. 31, wholesalers may sell Pennsylvania-stamped cigarettes not reflecting
the Philadel phia cigarette tax to Philadelphiaretailers, so long as the wholesaler charges the Philadelphia cigarette
tax ($20 per carton) to each retailer in Philadelphia and issues the retailer an invoice showing the Philadel phia tax
was paid.

Cigarette Retailer and Vending Dealer Requirements

Each retailer and vending dealer must calculate, report and remit cigarette floor tax on al cigarettes and little cigars
in inventory and vending machines in Philadelphia as of 12:01 am. on Oct. 1. A floor tax return (REV-779) will be
provided to each retailer and vending dealer, and the return will also be available at www.revenue.pa.gov. Failureto
file a complete and accurate floor tax return and pay the tax due will result in the imposition of penalties and
interest, and may result in criminal prosecution.

Enforcement visits will be conducted to Philadelphiaretailers to ensure retailers are selling correctly stamped and
documented packs. Each retailer must maintain for inspection a copy of its floor tax return/inventory and all
wholesaler invoices showing Philadel phia tax was paid on additional Pennsylvania-stamped product acquired
between Oct. 1 and Oct. 31.

Retail evasion of the Philadelphia cigarette tax will violate state law and be punishable by suspension or revocation
of the retailer’ s cigarette license, criminal fines and/or imprisonment.

Cigarette Wholesaler Requirements

To facilitate monitoring of Philadel phia-stamped and Pennsylvania-stamped product across the state, as of Oct. 1 the
department will require wholesalers to report their salesto retail and vending customers monthly. The return and
accompanying schedules for this monthly report will be available on the department’ s website,
WWW.revenue.pa.gov.

Bureau of Business Trust Fund Taxes | PO Box 280909 | Harrisburg, PA 17128 717.783.9374 | www.revenue.pa.gov



pennsylvania

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

For up to 30 days following the effective date of the Philadelphia cigarette tax, until Oct. 31, wholesalers may sell
Pennsylvania-stamped cigarettes not reflecting the Philadel phia cigarette tax to Philadelphiaretailers, so long asthe
wholesaler charges the Philadel phia cigarette tax ($20 per carton) to each retailer in Philadelphia and issues the
retailer an invoice showing the Philadelphiatax was paid. Wholesalers must remit the Philadel phia cigarette tax
collected to the Department of Revenue by the 20th day of the month following the sale, along with copies of
invoices to verify the Philadelphia tax collected.

Alternatively, wholesal ers can exhaust Pennsylvania-stamped product by selling to retailers and wholesalers located
outside of Philadelphia or returning the state-stamped inventory to a CSA for arefund or a credit toward
Philadelphia stamped cigarettes.

Additionally, a new return, REV-1142P, isin development for documentation of tax due on unstampable little cigars
sold in Philadelphia

If awholesaler is unable to exhaust Pennsylvania-stamped product, it should inventory and segregate state-stamped
product on Nov. 1 and contact the department at 717-783-9374.

Cigarette Stamping Agent Requirements

Cigarette stamping agents must purchase and affix Philadelphiatax stampsto product that will end up in retail and
vending locations in Philadel phia, and Philadel phiatax stamps will be availa ble to cigarette stamping agents
beginning Sept. 24. Additionally, cigarette stamping agents will have to file a separate return (REV-1030P/REV -
1036P) to account for cigarettes sold into Philadel phia and the stamps purchased and used on a monthly basis.

Administrative matters related to the Philadel phia cigarette tax:
e Philadelphiatax stamps will be sold in rolls of 7,200 stamps for both 20- and 25-packs of cigarettes.

e A revised REV-1043, Cigarette Stamping Agent Purchase Order, will be available at
www.revenue.state.pa.us beginning Sept. 24.

e The 0.87 percent cigarette stamping agent commission does not apply to the Philadelphia cigarette tax, but
the commission on state cigarette tax will apply to Philadel phia stamps.

o Cigarette stamping agents purchasing cigarette tax stamps on a consignment basis may need to increase
their bond liability amounts by executing and submitting abond rider to the department at the address
below.

e A new return, REV-1142P, isin development for documentation of tax due on unstampable little cigars
sold in Philadelphia

Any cigarette stamping agent that wants to request a refund for Pennsylvania-stamped cigarettes is encouraged to
call the Miscellaneous Tax Section at 717-783-9374.

Any cigar ette licensee with questionsregar ding administration of the Philadelphia cigar ette tax is encour aged
to call the Miscellaneous Tax Section at 717-783-9374.
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