PA Department of Revenue Criminal

Tax Investigators Can:

® Provide tobacco tax law training to law
enforcement.

® Investigate alleged violations of tobacco tax
laws.

® File criminal charges with local prosecutors.

® Seize tobacco, vehicles and vending
machines used in violation of tobacco laws.

® File vehicle forfeiture petitions within 10
calendar days of the arrest.

® Act as liaisons between law enforcement
and the tobacco industry.

® Provide information on cigarettes and tobacco.

® Assist with identifying and tracing cigarette
tax stamps.

® Assist in investigations involving stolen
tobacco, fencing operations and speakeasies.

® Secure and keep confiscated tobacco.

® Secure and dispose of confiscated cigarettes
and tobacco products.

® Provide testimony regarding the commission
of tobacco crimes.

If you suspect tobacco violations, need
assistance or have any questions:

Call: 717-783-4649
Fax: 717-787-8289
Email: revocti@pa.gov

Or write to:

PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUREAU OF CRIMINAL TAX INVESTIGATIONS
4TH AND WALNUT STREETS
5TH FLOOR STRAWBERRY SQUARE
HARRISBURG PA 17128-0646

THE FACTS ABOUT
CIGARETTE TAX EVASION:

The Pennsylvania Department of Revenue is
charged with enforcing and verifying the compli-
ance of the tobacco tax laws and regulations of
the commonwealth.

When PA loses tobacco tax revenues from illegal
activities, everyone loses.

Profits from tobacco smuggling have funded
terrorism acts against the U.S.

Children rely on the Children’s Health Insurance
Program fund (CHIP) and are cheated out of
resources that should be available to provide
health care.

Citizens are deprived of tax dollars that support
state programs like healthcare initiatives and
farmland preservation.

Honest tobacco retailers and wholesalers are
forced to compete with profiteers who can reduce
their prices through illegal activities.

Black market operations contribute to crime in
local neighborhoods.

Revenue’s goal is to assure maximum revenues in
tobacco taxes for the benefit of PA citizens.

Master Settlement Agreement payments from the
tobacco industry of almost $350 million are used for
additional health initiatives benefiting PA citizens.

The enforcement effort is aimed at prosecuting
tax evaders and protecting legitimate businesses
from unfair competition.

The Tobacco Enforcement Division can provide
information and support to law enforcement
officials in their own investigations of stolen
tobacco products. The division is involved in
numerous criminal investigations of suspected
tobacco tax evasions every year. These investiga-
tions usually are the result of combined efforts of
law enforcement officers and the department.

A person is permitted to possess up to one carton
of unstamped cigarettes but the state taxes must
be paid and the cigarettes may not be resold and
you must complete a Consumer Cigarette
Use/Excise Tax return (REV-793) and submit it to
the state.
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What is Legal?

Cigarette and tobacco products are legally
distributed in Pennsylvania by businesses that
have been issued a license by the Department
of Revenue.

Only licensed CSA’s or common carriers with
authentic invoices may possess unstamped
cigarettes.

The current cigarette tax rate in PA is $2.60 per
pack and $4.60 per pack in Philadelphia County.

Only cigarette and roll-your-own loose tobacco
listed on the Office of Attorney General’s
Tobacco Product Directory and complying
with FDA regulations may be sold at retail.
(www.attorneygeneral.gov)

Cigarette packs are required to be stamped.
PA STAMP PHILADELPHIA STAMP
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Yellow Lavender

The top number is the stamp roll number (there
are 30,000 stamps on one roll) The bottom
number is the individual stamp number, 00001
-30000.

Both stamps contain a holographic “PA” image
on the surface of the stamp.

Other Tobacco Products (OTP)

On October 1, 2016 PA passed a law taxing OTP
which includes (Pipe, chew and Roll-your-own
tobacco, Snuff, Plug, Twist, Fine cut or other
chewing tobacco, Hookah, Gutka and any form
of tobacco suitable for chewing, ingesting or
smoking and electronic cigarettes and liquid.

Large cigars (those over 4 pounds per thousand)
are not taxable in PA and therefor are not
regulated by the Department of Revenue.

What to Watch For:
® Packs without PA or Philadelphia tax stamps.

® Packs affixed with other states’ tax stamps.

® Multiple packs bearing the same roll number
and stamp number.

® Packs, cartons or packages of OTP in large
quantities concealed in garbage bags,
boxes, suitcases, and under blankets in
vehicles traveling the interstate, (There
should be paperwork to document the
transfer of product).

Sales of loose cigarettes.
Sales of tobacco products on street corners.
Cigarette packs labeled "Export Only".

There is no tax stamp for OTP and the tax
rate is much higher in surrounding states
making PA a source state. Smugglers will use
the I-95 corridor to transport OTP, cigarettes
and counterfeit goods from the low tax states
to the high tax states in the northeast.

Criminal Charges:

Cigarette Statutes - Title 72 P.S. §

201 to 230 and § 8201 to 8296

Other Tobacco products (OTP) Statutes -
Title 72 P.S. § 8201-A to 8234-A

Violations of PA tobacco tax laws carries civil
penalties of fines up to $15,000 or equal to
200% of the tobacco value per violation and/or
the filing of criminal charges.

Felony Charges:

o Willfully evading payment of the Pennsylvania
or OTP tax - Up to $15,000 fine and/or five
years in jail.

® Possessing 300 or more cartons of cigarettes
labeled “Export only” - $2,000 to $20,000
fine and jail.

Misdemeanor Charges:

® Possessing 300 or more unstamped cartons
or cartons not bearing PA tax stamps -
$1,000 to $15,000 fine and/or up to three
years in jail.

® Possessing 20-300 cartons of “Export Only”
cigarettes - $1,000 to $15,000 fine and jail.
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® Failure to furnish information, false informa-
tion or failure to permit to inspect - $500 fine,
up to one year in jail and loss of license.

Summary Charges:

® Selling cigarettes or OTP without a license -
$250 to $1,000 fine.

® Selling one or more packs of unstamped
cigarettes or packs not bearing PA tax
stamps - $100 to $1,000 fine and up to 60
days in jail.

® Possessing 1-5 cartons of unstamped
cigarettes or cartons not bearing PA tax
stamps - $300 fine and/or up to 90 days in jail.

® Possessing up to 200 cartons of cigarettes
labeled “Export Only” - $250 to $1,000 fine
and jail.

® Sales or possession of any tobacco product
in which the proper tax has not been paid -
$100 to $1,000 and/or not more than 60
days in jail.

Actions Leading to the Seizure of
Cigarettes, Tobacco Products or
Vending Machines:

® Possession of any pack of cigarettes not
bearing a PA tax stamp.

® Cigarettes sold or offered for sale without a
valid license or without invoices supporting
the legal purchase from a licensed dealer.

® Possession of tobacco products for which the
proper tax has not been paid.

® Possession of tobacco products not supported
by the proper documentation.

® A vehicle or vending machine containing more
than 10 cartons of unstamped cigarettes or
$500 or more of OTP.

® A vehicle containing more than one carton of
cigarettes or $50 or more of OTP - if the
driver/owner had a previous conviction of
the illegal sale, possession or transportation
of that product.




