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I. DEFINITIONS
1. Act – Resale Amusement Ticket Law, Act of May 2,

1947, P. L. 143, as amended.

2. Amusement – Any form of entertainment
including theatrical or operatic performances; con-
certs; motion picture shows; vaudeville; circuses;
carnivals and side shows; athletic contests,
including wrestling, boxing, football, basketball,
baseball, skating,  golfing, tennis, hockey, swim-
ming, archery, shooting and dancing; and all other
forms of diversion, such as sports, recreation, exhi-
bitions,  contests, displays, games and horse and
vehicle races. 

3. Established Price – The admission price set by the
owner of any place of amusement, not including
taxes. 

4. Licensee – The person to whom a resale amuse-
ment license is issued.

5. Licensor – The receiver of taxes of the city of
Philadelphia and the County Treasurers of the coun-
ties in Pennsylvania.

6. Person – An individual, partnership, corporation or
association.

7. Place of Amusement – Any place, indoor or
outdoor, within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,
where the general public may attend or engage in
amusement, upon paying an established price. 

8. Premium – The amount added to the established
price of an admission ticket that is charged by a
licensed reseller of tickets.

9. Admission Ticket – The evidence required to
enter a place of amusement.

II. WHO MUST OBTAIN A LICENSE?
Any person, other than those specifically excluded by the
Act, engaged in the resale of admission tickets to a Penn-
sylvania place of amusement at a price higher than the
established price of the ticket, is required to obtain a
license. A license must be obtained from each county in
which the licensee operates a business. A license need not
be obtained to resell admission tickets at the established
price.  No license is required to resell admission tickets at
a price higher than the established price, if the place of
amusement is located outside Pennsylvania. 

III. HOW IS A LICENSE OBTAINED?
To obtain a license, an application, form REV-656, together
with a bond must be filed with the licensor of the county
in which the person will conduct business. Application and
bond forms may be obtained from the licensor. The com-
pleted and verified application shall be accompanied by:

(1) A fee of $50;

(2) A bond of $1,000;

(3) A description of the business location from which
sales will be made; and 

(4) Proof, to the satisfaction of the licensor, that the
applicant is of good moral character and repute.

All licenses expire on December 31 following the date the
license was issued. A license may be renewed by the
payment of the annual $50 filing fee together with a
$1,000 bond covering the renewal license period. A license
may not be assigned or transferred.

IV. WHAT ARE THE BOND REQUIREMENTS?
The bond must be in the amount of $1,000 dollars and
issued by a surety company authorized by the Pennsyl-
vania Insurance Department. The bond shall be
conditioned upon the licensee’s faithful observance of the
provisions of the Act and Department of Revenue regula-
tions. The bond must remain in effect until the license
expires. The bond must be available for inspection while
being held by the licensor and must be turned over to the
County District Attorney or City Solicitor for collection,
should the license be revoked or the bond forfeited.

V. AT WHAT LOCATION MAY TICKETS BE
SOLD? MAY THE BUSINESS LOCATION BE
CHANGED? MUST THE LICENSE BE
POSTED? ARE PRICE LISTS REQUIRED TO
BE POSTED? WHAT RECORDS MUST BE
MAINTAINED?

A licensee may resell admission tickets only from the place
of business set forth in the application. A one-time change
of a business location may be made during each license
period. Written notice of the change must be given to the
licensor within 24 hours of the change. The notice of
change shall include the following:

(1) A copy of the original license issued to the licensee; 

(2) A description of the new business location; and

(3) The date upon which the business will be transacted
at the new location. 



Upon receipt of the original license, the licensor will
annotate it to reflect the change of address and return it
to the licensee.

The licensee must prominently display the license at the
business location. The licensee must also prominently
display a price list showing the established price and the
price being charged for every ticket sold by the licensee.
The licensee must maintain a full and accurate record of all
sales, including:

(1) The price paid by the licensee for the ticket(s);

(2) The price received by the licensee for the ticket(s);
and

(3) The name(s) and address(es) of the person(s) for
whom the licensee purchased the ticket(s).

The records of the licensee must be available for inspec-
tion at all times.

VI. WHAT AMOUNTS MUST BE PRINTED ON
THE ADMISSION TICKET?

In addition to anything the owner of the business may
have printed on the admission ticket, the following must
be separately and clearly printed on the face of the ticket: 

(1) The established price of the ticket; 

(2) The amount of the premium; and

(3) The amount of any lawful taxes.

VII. WHAT IS THE MAXIMUM AMOUNT OF
PREMIUM THAT MAY BE LEGALLY
PRINTED ON THE TICKET?

The premium printed on an admission ticket to a place of
amusement may not exceed 25 percent of the established
price of the admission ticket or $5 dollars, whichever is
larger.

VIII.PROCEDURE - REFUSAL TO GRANT A
LICENSE.

If a licensor refuses to grant or renew a license, the
licensor must, upon receiving written request from the
applicant or licensee for an opportunity to respond,
provide by mail five days’ notice of the time and place of
a hearing. 

IX. PROCEDURE - SUSPENSION AND
REVOCATION OF LICENSE.

If after issuing a license a licensor receives evidence of any
of the following circumstances or finds other reason for
revoking or suspending the license, the licensor must mail
written notification to the licensee stating the reasons for
the suspension or revocation. 

(1) The license was obtained by fraud or misrepre-
sentation; 

(2) The licensee made a misstatement on the appli-
cation; 

(3) The licensee has otherwise violated the provisions
of the Act or Department regulations.

The licensor must also, upon receiving written request
from the applicant or licensee for an opportunity to
respond, provide by mail five days’ notice of the time and
place of a hearing.

Should the licensee not appear at the hearing or fail to
provide evidence contesting the license suspension or rev-
ocation, the license may be revoked or suspended for a
period of time determined by the licensor. When the
license is revoked, the licensee’s bond may be forfeited by
the licensor, and the licensee will be ineligible to hold a
license for three years from the date of license revocation.

X. CRIMINAL PENALTIES
Upon summary conviction for a first-time offense, anyone
violating the Act will be sentenced to pay a fine up to $300
and the cost of prosecution.  If the first-time offender fails
to pay the fine, he will be subject to imprisonment for 30
days.  The second or subsequent time an individual is con-
victed of violating the Act, he will be guilty of a
misdemeanor of the second degree and will be sentenced
to pay a fine up to $5,000, imprisonment for up to two
years, or both. If a corporation, partnership or association
violates the Act, any of its directors, members, agents or
employees with knowledge of the crime may be convicted
of violation of the Act and subject to the penalties
described above. If the person violating the Act is a
licensee, the license may be suspended or revoked and
the person subject to the penalties described above.  

XI. DISPOSITION OF FEES AND BOND
FORFEITURES.

All fees and monies accruing from the forfeiture of a bond
will be paid to the county or city treasurer, for use by the
county or city in which the license was issued.


