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CIGARETTE TAX BULLETIN 03-16

On December 23, 2003, Governor Edward Rendell signed into law Act 46 of 2003 (HB 200 PN
3160) raising the excise tax on a pack of 20 cigarettes from $1.00 to $1.35 effective January 7, 2004, an
increase of $.35 cents per pack. Cigarette tax on packs of 25 cigarettes will increase from $1.25 cents to
$1.6875 per pack, an increase of $.4375 per pack. The new cigarette tax rate applies to all floor stock and
to all cigarettes in vending machines located within Pennsylvania on January 7, 2004.

In order to properly report and remit the floor tax due on your cigarette inventory, it will be necessary
to take an immediate physical inventory of all Pennsylvania stamped cigarettes held in your possession as
of 12:01 A.M. on January 7, 2004, complete and file the enclosed Cigarette Dealer Floor Tax Return
(REV-779) by the due date of April 6, 2004. Please refer to the filing instructions on the reverse side of
the floor tax return.

The top portion of the enclosed return marked “Retain this copy for your records” is to be retained
by the licensee for a period of three (3) years. Detach the floor tax return coupon and send it, along
with your floor tax payment, in the enclosed return envelope provided (E203). Please make sure the
Department of Revenue return address appears in the window of the envelope. The Cigarette Dealer Floor
Tax Return and payment may be filed anytime after January 7, 2004, but must be submitted no later than
April 6, 2004.

Failure to file a floor tax return and pay the floor tax due by April 6, 2004 will result in the imposi-
tion of penalties and interest and may result in criminal prosecution.

Visit the Department of Revenue’s Web site www.revenue.state.pa.us for the Cigarette Dealer Floor
Tax Return and additional information.

Should you have questions regarding this matter, please telephone (717) 772-6919 or FAX
(717) 705-8413.
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The below Cigarette Dealer Floor Tax Return (REV-779) must be filed by each licensed
wholesale, retail and vending location on or before April 6, 2004. Please make checks
pavable to the PA Dept of Revenue.
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NAME AND ADDRESS (MAKE CORRECTIONS AS NECESSARY)

WHOLESALE, RETAIL AND VENDING INVENTORY OF PACKS OF PENNSYLVANIA STAMPED CIGARETTES

1. Number of packs of 20 cigarettes......... x $.35 =8
2. Number of packs of 25 cigarettes.............. x $.4376 = §
3. Balance due from inventory of packs of cigarettes (add Lines 1 and 2)......... $
4. Penalty and interest if filed after April 6, 2004, see instructions 5

on the back of this form.

5. Total amount due (add Lines 3 & 4). Please remit this amount $
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Important: Failure to file this return and pay the floor tax due will result in the imposition
of penalties and interest and may result in criminal prosecution.
I hereby certify that this return is true and correct.

SIGNATURE TITLE DATE



INSTRUCTIONS FOR CIGARETTE DEALER FLOOR TAX RETURN
WHOLESALE, RETAIL, AND VENDING MACHINE OPERATORS

Effective Date of Tax Increase - The Pennsylvania state cigarette tax will increase from $1.00 to $1.35
per pack of twenty (20) cigarettes and $1.25 to $1.6875 per pack of twenty-five (25) cigarettes as
of January 7, 2004.

Who Must Report and Pay the TaX - When the rate increase goes into effect on January 7, 2004, stamping
agents, wholesale, retail, and vending dealer with an inventory of PA stamped cigarettes, including unsaleable
cigarettes, bearing the old tax rate will be required to pay a "floor tax™ on all PA stamped cigarettes

on hand as of 12:01 AM, January 7, 2004. Every cigarette dealer must file a return even if no cigarettes

are in inventory.

Note - Vending machine operators have an option of reporting their inventory of Pennsylvania stamped cigarettes
as either 1) an actual physical count of all cigarettes in gha vending machines or 2) a calculated figure

of sixty (60) percent of the charge-out inventory. Charge-out inventory is the amount of cigarettes shown

as the normal fill capacity of each machine.

Rate of Tax - The Pennsylvania cigarette tax will increase from $.05 per cigarette to $.0675 per cigarette.
The new tax rate per pack of twenty (20) cigarettes is $1.35. The new tax rate per pack of twenty-five (25)
cigarettes is $1.6875. The floor tax per pack of twenty (20) cigarettes is $.35. The floor tax per pack of
twenty-five (25) cigarettes is $.4375.

Filing Requirements - A floor tax return for each licensed location must be filed on or before April 6,
2004. Please make checks payable to the PA Dept of Revenue.

Corporate Filers - Corporate filers may elect to file a consolidated return and remittance on behalf of all
subsidiary locations. The consolidated return should include each subsidiary cigarette dealer license number
and a summary report of each subsidiary location's inventory subject to cigarette floor tax. The corporate

filer is required to maintain a signed copy of the subsidiary location return at the corporate headquarters. In
addition, each subsidiary location is required +to maintain a copy of the inventory and the cigarette floor tax
return at the business location for inspection. Corporate filers filing consclidated returns are secondarily
liable for any floor tax deficiency assessed against subsidiary locations. Should a corporate account choose to
allow each subsidiary location to file a cigarette floor tax return (Cigarette Dealer Floor Tax Return REV-779),
filing instructions for filing individual cigarette floor tax returns apply.

Record Retention - You must retain a copy of the completed tax return and supporting inventory documents for
a period of three (3) years. For your convenience, a copy of the tax report has been provided.

Unsaleable Cigarettes - Unsaleable cigarettes which are on the premises as of 12:01 AM, January 7, 2004
are subject to the cigarette floor tax. Credits for unsaleable cigarettes will not be issued by the Department
until the floor tax return and payment is received and the credit is verified.

Cigarettes in Transit - cigarettes which are alleged to be in transit as of January 7, 2004, will be deemed
the property of the shipper. The shipper shall file a return and pay the floor tax imposed 72 P.S. 8206.1 by
April 6, 2004.

Penalty and Interest - Failure to submit your tax return and payment by April 6, 2004 will require the
settlement of Cigarette Floor Tax due, plus penalty and interest. Penalty is calculated at five percent (57) of
the tax due but unpaid for each month or fraction thereof the tax that remains unpaid. Interest for 2004 is
computed at four percent (4%) (.000110 per diem) on such tax from the time the tax became due until the tax is paid.

Additional Penalties - In addition to settling penalty and interest, the Department has the authority

1o settle administrative penalties in an amount equal to the floor tax evaded plus interest and/or suspend or
revoke a cigarette dealer's license, and pursue criminal prosecution for a willful failure to file a floor tax
return by April 6, 2004.

Information and Forms - If you need help computing penalty or interest charges or have additional questions,
contact a Department representative at one of the telephone numbers listed below or the Cigarette Tax Unit,
Dept 280909, Harrisburg, PA 17128-0909. Telephone: (717) 772-6919 / Fax: (717) 705-8413
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