



OFFICE OF CHIEF COUNSEL STRAWBERRY SQ, FL 10 327 WALNUT STREET HARRISBURG, PA 17128-1061

PENNSYLVANIA SALES AND USE TAX CREDIT CHART

Information updated as of September 13, 2024

STATE	STATE SALES TAX RATE (excluding local sales tax rate)	Reciprocity Status - Credit allowed against PA sales tax except as noted below (see guidelines).		NOTES
		Property Except Vehicles	Vehicles	(see next page)
ALABAMA	4%		2%	
ALASKA	NONE	NONE	NONE	
ARIZONA	5.6%			
ARKANSAS	6.5%			
CALIFORNIA	6%			
COLORADO	2.9%			
CONNECTICUT	6.35%			
DELAWARE	NONE	NONE	NONE	1
DIST. OF COLUMBIA	6%	NONE	NONE	2
FLORIDA	6%		NONE	
GEORGIA	4%			
HAWAII	4%			
IDAHO	6%			
ILLINOIS	6.25%			3
INDIANA	7%			3
IOWA	6%		NONE	4
KANSAS	6.5%		NONE	4
KENTUCKY	6%			
	4.45%			F
LOUISIANA				5
MAINE	5.5%			
MARYLAND	6%			6
MASSACHUSETTS	6.25%			
MICHIGAN	6%			
MINNESOTA	6.875%			
MISSISSIPPI	7%		5%	
MISSOURI	4.225%			
MONTANA	NONE	NONE	NONE	
NEBRASKA	5.5%			
NEVADA	4.6%			
NEW HAMPSHIRE	NONE	NONE	NONE	
NEW JERSEY	6.625%			
NEW MEXICO	4.875%		NONE	7
NEW YORK	4%			
NORTH CAROLINA	4.75%		NONE	8
NORTH DAKOTA	5%		NONE	9
OHIO	5.75%			
OKLAHOMA	4.5%			10
OREGON	NONE	NONE	NONE	
RHODE ISLAND	7%			
SOUTH CAROLINA	6%			11
SOUTH DAKOTA	4.2%		NONE	12
TENNESSEE	7%			
TEXAS	6.25%			
UTAH	4.85%			
VERMONT	6%			
VIRGINIA	4.3%		4.15%	
WASHINGTON	6.5%			
WEST VIRGINIA	6%		NONE	13
WISCONSIN	5%			. •
WYOMING	4%		NONE	
44 I CIVILIAG	₩ /0		NONE	

GUIDELINES

- Pennsylvania law allows a credit for sales and use tax legally owed and paid to another state, provided the other state grants a substantially similar credit for sales tax paid to Pennsylvania.
- Pennsylvania will recognize a credit for local sales and use tax paid to another state, only if the tax
 is collected by that state and paid under a provision of state law. This chart does not include local
 sales tax rates.
- The amount of the credit is equal to the tax paid to another reciprocal state, except that the credit may not exceed 6 percent statewide, 8 percent in Philadelphia and 7 percent in Allegheny County.
- Taxpayers who claim credits must present evidence showing the amount of sales tax paid to other states with legal claim to the tax.

NOTES

- 1) **Delaware** Pennsylvania does not grant credit for payment of Delaware's 2.75% vehicle registration fee.
- 2) District of Columbia Imposes an excise tax on the purchase price of motor vehicles. The District of Columbia does not grant credit for sales tax paid to Pennsylvania on motor vehicles.
- 3) Illinois Reduced 1% rate applies to modifications for rendering a motor vehicle usable by a disabled person.
- **4) lowa -** Retail sales of motor vehicles are exempt from sales tax and subject to a 5% one-time registration fee.
- **5)** Louisiana Rate increased from 4.0% to 4.45% as of July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2025.
- 6) Maryland Grants credit for sales tax paid to Pennsylvania on motor vehicles.
- 7) New Mexico Imposes an excise tax on the purchase price of motor vehicles. New Mexico does not grant credit for sales tax paid to Pennsylvania on motor vehicles. Sales tax rate decreased from 5% to 4.875% as of July 1, 2023.
- 8) North Carolina Retail sales of motor vehicles are exempt from sales tax.
- 9) North Dakota Imposes an excise tax on the purchase price of motor vehicles. North Dakota does not grant credit for sales tax paid to Pennsylvania on motor vehicles.
- **10) Oklahoma -** Rate of 4.5% consists of 3.25% excise tax and 1.25% sales tax. Oklahoma does not grant credit for sales tax paid to Pennsylvania on motor vehicles.
- **11) South Carolina -** Retail sales of motor vehicles are exempt from sales tax and subject to the Infrastructure Maintenance Fee as of July 1, 2017.
- **South Dakota -** Imposes an excise tax on the purchase price of motor vehicles. South Dakota does not grant credit for sales tax paid to Pennsylvania on motor vehicles. Sales tax rate decreased from 4.5% to 4.2% as of July 1, 2023.
- 13) West Virginia Does not grant credit for sales tax paid to Pennsylvania on motor vehicles.