

PROPERTY TAX/RENT REBATE PROGRAM

Expanded Income Eligibility and Larger Rebates Now Available



Governor Josh Shapiro delivered on a promise he made to older Pennsylvanians when he signed a new law, Act 7 of 2023, that significantly expands the Property Tax/Rent Rebate (PTRR) program. This historic legislation delivers the largest targeted tax cut for Pennsylvania seniors in nearly two decades.

Under the expansion, nearly 175,000 more Pennsylvanians will qualify for a property tax or rent rebate. At the same time, many of the 430,000 people who will see their rebates increase.

Since its inception in 1971, the PTRR program has delivered **more than \$8 billion** in property tax and rent relief to some of Pennsylvania's most vulnerable residents. The program is funded by the Pennsylvania Lottery.

For more information, about the Property Tax/Rent Rebate Program, please visit revenue.pa.gov/PTRR or call 1-888-222-9190.

WHAT'S NEW

- First, the maximum standard rebate is increasing from \$650 to \$1,000.
- Second, the income cap for both renters and homeowners will be made equal and increase to \$45,000 a year.
- Third, the income caps will be tied to the cost-ofliving moving forward, meaning those who receive a rebate won't lose their eligibility in the future due to increases in Social Security payments.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

- Pennsylvanians age 65 and older
- Widows and widowers age 50 and older
- People with disabilities age 18 and older

You must have owned and occupied a home or rented and occupied a home, apartment, nursing home, boarding home, or similar residence in Pennsylvania.

Homeowners must have paid property taxes prior to applying. Renters must verify their landlords were required to pay property taxes or made payments in lieu of property taxes on rental properties.

INCOME & REBATES

HOMEOWNERS	INCOME	MAX. REBATE
&	\$ 0 to \$ 8,000	\$1,000
RENTERS	\$ 8,001 to \$ 15,000	\$ 770
	\$15,001 to \$ 18,000	\$ 460
RENT	\$18,001 to \$45,000	\$ 380

Exclude half of Social Security benefits, Supplemental Security income, and/or Tier 1 Railroad Retirement benefits when calculating total household income.

Rebates are based on property taxes or rent paid the year prior.

HOW TO APPLY



Online: File for a rebate using myPATH at **mypath.pa.gov**. This is the department's user-friendly online filing system. Filing online gives you instant confirmation

that a claim has been successfully filed, allows access to automatic calculators, and includes other helpful features.

Paper: If you filed for a rebate by paper last year, you will automatically be mailed a paper instruction booklet/application form. Paper applications are also available online at revenue.pa.gov/ptrr or by calling 1-800-362-2050.

Rebates will be distributed beginning July 1, as required by law. First-time filers should anticipate that it will take additional time to review their applications and process their rebates.





PROPERTY TAX/RENT REBATE PROGRAM

Top Tips for Homeowners & Renters When Filing

REV-573 11-23



Planning to file for a rebate through the Property Tax/Rent Rebate program? Here are some tips from the Department of Revenue to help applicants accurately file their applications and avoid common mistakes.

Missing or Inaccurate Social Security Number(s)

Be sure to include your full Social Security Number(s) on the application. It should also be written on documentation sent in with your application. Your SSN should appear as it does on your Social Security card.

Misspelled Names

Double check the spelling on name(s) listed on the application. It should match the names on Social Security cards.

Inaccurate Income Information

Carefully review your income information: wages, dividends, pension income, and other income you receive to make sure you are calculating the correct amounts. Remember to exclude one-half of Social Security payments.

Math Mistakes

Math errors are some of the most common issues on applications. Filers should always double check their math.

Incorrect Bank Account Numbers

If able, filers should choose direct deposit. This is the fastest way for you to receive your rebate once distributions start on July 1. Please make sure you are using the correct routing and account numbers.

Unsigned Forms

If filing by paper, an unsigned application isn't valid. A signature and date are needed from one applicant on the application.

Incomplete Rent Certificate

Applicants must use the department's **PA-1000RC** form (rent certificate) as documentation for rent paid during the claim year. The form must be filled out and signed by the renter's landlord, or their authorized agent. The department will not solely accept rent receipts or ledgers as proof of rent paid.

Incorrect Homeowner Tax Documents

Make sure you include a copy of your tax bills with a letter from the tax collector or financial institution that the taxes have been paid.

All filers — whether returning or filing for the first time — need to include the required documentation for property taxes or rent paid when filing an application. This information will be needed whether filing online or by paper.



Reminders

- You must reapply for rebates every year as they are based on annual income and property taxes or rent paid during the prior year.
- It's free to apply for a rebate and assistance is available at hundreds of locations across the state: **Department of Revenue district offices**, **local Area Agencies on Aging**, senior centers, and state legislators' offices.
- Supplemental rebates are automatically calculated for those with incomes of \$30,000 or less who live in Philadelphia, Scranton, or Pittsburgh, or if property taxes are 15% or more of total income.