
 
 

Department of Revenue | PO Box 281230| Harrisburg, PA 17128 | 717.787.3911 | www.revenue.state.pa.us 

LICENSEE TAX RESPONSIBILITY PROGRAM QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE 

By Direction of the Commonwealth of 
Pennsylvania’s Governor’s Office - Executive Order:   
Commonwealth Licensee Tax Responsibility Program 
Executive Order Number: 2011-06 
Effective Date: September 15, 2011 
 
The public relies on commonwealth licensing agencies 
for assurance that license applicants and licensees will: 

 Conduct business in a reputable manner; 

 Are in good standing within the commonwealth; 

 Are in compliance with applicable laws and 
licensure requirements 

 
Established that: 

 The Secretary of Revenue develop and operate 
a Licensee Tax Responsibility Program to 
identify any applicants for the issuance or 
renewal of state issued licenses who have not 
timely reported or paid all state taxes due and 
owing to the commonwealth. 

 The chief administrators of all commonwealth 
agencies under the Governor’s shall cooperate 
by: 

o Providing the Department of Revenue 
with the necessary information for 
business licensees and applicants for 
business licenses including, but not 
limited to, 

o The applicant’s state personal income 
tax identification number, state sales tax 
number, state corporation tax number, 
state employer withholding tax number 
and unemployment compensation 
account number 

o On not less than an annual basis 

 Department of Revenue shall issue a notice to 
the licensing agency indicating those licensees 
and applicants who have unresolved state tax 
obligations on not less than an annual basis. 

 
Program Administered By: 

 Department of Revenue - Bureau of Compliance 
o Business License Clearance Division 
o Phone: 717-787-3911 Option 5 
o Fax: 717-783-6055 

 
Tax Checks Performed on Key Tax Types: 

 Personal Income Tax 

 Corporation Tax 

 Sales Tax 

 Employer Tax 

 Inheritance Tax 

 Motor Fuel Tax 
 

Who must file a PA40 Tax Return? 
If you are a PA resident, nonresident or a part-year PA 
resident, you must file a PA tax return if: 

 You received total PA gross taxable income in 
excess of $33 during a single year, even if no 
tax is due with your PA return; and/or 

 You incurred a loss from any transaction as an 
individual, sole proprietor, partner in a 
partnership or PA S corporation shareholder 

 A dependent child with taxable income in excess 
of $33 must file a PA tax return 

 
Contact Information: 
Phone: 717-787-3911 Option 5 
Fax: 717-783-6055 
Mailing Address: 

PA DEPT OF REVENUE 
BUREAU OF COMPLIANCE 
4TH AND WALNUT STREET 
HARRISBURG, PA 17128 

 
Make checks payable to: 

Pennsylvania Department of Revenue 
 
 
IRS and PA Department of Revenue Data Sharing: 
The IRS and the PA Department of Revenue are 
involved in an information sharing program.  This 
includes: 

 Facilitating the exchange of taxpayer data, 

 Leveraging resources,  

 Providing assistance to taxpayers to improve 
compliance and communications, 

 Identifying and reporting information on 
emerging tax administration issues 

If you received a letter related to a Personal Income Tax 
concern, the IRS provided data that would indicate you 
may have a PA State Tax filing obligation. 
 
When calling regarding the letter, we are able to 
speak with: 

 The taxpayer(s) 

 Power of Attorney 

 Tax Preparer per specific year that filed the 
return(s) 

 
Is this a scam? 
Personal information is not printed on the letter because 
of confidentiality of tax information.  Please contact the 
Business License Clearance Division at 717-787-3911.  
We will verify your identity and help you resolve your 
outstanding issue(s). 
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Employer and Income History 
Due to confidentiality of tax information we are only able 
to verify information that you provide to us and we are 
not able to tell you who your employers were or how 
much you made. 
 
How to get a W2 or 1099: 

 You should contact your former employer(s) for 
copies of your W2’s or 1099’s.  If you are unable 
to recall who your employer(s) were or get the 
documents; 

 Contact the IRS and request a Wage and 
Income Transcript: 
o www.irs.gov/individuals/tax-return-

transcript-types-and-ways-to-order-them 
o Phone: 1-800-908-9946 

 Social Security Administration Office 
www.ssa.gov/myaccount 
o Yearly Totals of Earnings 

 
 
Reciprocal State Agreements: 

 Pennsylvania honors a reciprocal state 
agreement with Indiana, Maryland, New Jersey, 
Ohio, Virginia, and West Virginia 

 Agreement only applies to W2 income and does 
not apply to 1099 income 

 
Received a W2 or 1099 income from a PA address 
but did not enter PA for business: 
Please call the phone number listed on the letter and we 
will provide you instructions for sending a letter of 
explanation and any other supporting documentation 
needed. 
 
 
Determining Residency: 
For guidance in determining residency, please reference 
REV-611, the department’s Determining Residency 
brochure, found on our website, www.revenue.pa.gov. 
You will also find other general tax information and 
instructions on our site.  
 
 
Bureau of Compliance Case Status: 

 Cases remain open for approximately 60 days 
from the date on the letter. 

 There is no certificate that is issued to state that 
your case is in a compliant status, but submitting 
agencies are notified of case statuses. 

 
 
 
 

Status of Your Pennsylvania License 
Your licensing agency has submitted you for tax 
compliance review per Executive Order 2011-06.  If you 
are concerned about the status of your license, please 
contact the issuing agency. 
 
 
Letter Was Mailed to Wrong Address 
Letters are sent based on the address provided by the 
licensing state agency.  You should contact the agency 
that issues your license to update your mailing address. 
 
 
Corporation Taxes 
For guidance regarding Pennsylvania Corporation 
Taxes, please reference REV-582, the department’s 
brochure that can be found on our website, 
www.revenue.pa.gov. 
 
 
Out of Existence/Withdrawal/Dissolution 
If you are an entity that is ceasing operations in the 
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and you are registered 
with the PA Department of State, you will need to 
complete a REV-181. 
 
If you are not registered at the Department of State, and 
you are ceasing operations, you will need to complete a 
REV-238. This form will only impact your corporation tax 
accounts. 

 
Both forms can be found on our website 
www.revenue.pa.gov 
 
Sales and Use Tax 
For guidance regarding Pennsylvania Sales and Use 
Tax, please reference REV-585, the department’s 
brochure that can be found on our website, 
www.revenue.pa.gov. 
 
All sales tax license holders must file returns even for 
periods when no taxable sales were made.  Such “zero 
returns” enable the department to distinguish between 
businesses that made no taxable sales and those that 
collected taxes and failed to remit them. 
 
If there are specific questions around Sales and Use Tax 
filing, please contact the Department of Revenue’s 
Taxpayer Services at 717-787-1064. 
 
 
Employer Withholding: 
All Employers with an Employer Withholding Account 
has W2 & W3 filing requirements with or without wages 
paid. 

http://www.irs.gov/individuals/tax-return-transcript-types-and-ways-to-order-them
http://www.irs.gov/individuals/tax-return-transcript-types-and-ways-to-order-them
http://www.ssa.gov/myaccount
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/
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A W-2 Transmittal (REV-1667) along with an individual 
Wage and Tax Statement (W-2/1099-R) for each 
employee must be submitted annually on or before Jan. 
31 following the year in which wages were paid. 
 

Taxpayers Filing 250 or More W-2’s or 1099’s Must File 
Electronically 

 e-TIDES 

 Compact Disc 

 Email to ra-btftw2@pa.gov 
 

Taxpayers Filing Fewer Than 250 W-2’s 

 e-TIDES 

 Compact Disc 

 Email to ra-btftw2@pa.gov 

 Paper W-2 forms* 

 TeleFile (if less than 10 W-2’s), 1-800-748-8299 
 
If there are specific questions around Employer 
Withholding filing, please contact the Department of 
Revenue’s Employer Tax Division at 717-787-7635. 
 
Cancellation of Sales/Employer Accounts 
Complete a REV-1706 is if you are canceling: 

 PA state sales tax license 

 Employer withholding account (does not cover 
unemployment accounts which must be filed 
with Dept. of Labor & Industry) 

 Cigarette Dealer’s License 
 
Inheritance Tax 
For guidance regarding Pennsylvania Inheritance Tax 
General Information, please reference REV-720, the 
department’s brochure that can be found on our website, 
www.revenue.pa.gov. 
 
A Pennsylvania Inheritance Tax Return, REV-1500, 
must be filed for every decedent with property that may 
be subject to Pennsylvania inheritance tax.  
 
Balances in Collections: 
If you are actively working with the Department of 
Revenue or a Third Party Collection agency and 
received a letter, please contact the Business License 
Clearance Division.  We will need to verify that your 
information is being reviewed and/or payments are being 
applied properly. 
 
If you have a balance in collections with the PA 
Department of Revenue you may be requested to reach 

out to your local Regional or District Office.  All locations 
and contact information can be found at: 

www.revenue.pa.gov/GetAssistance/Regiona
landDistrictOffices 

 
Third Party Collection agencies utilized by PA 
Department of Revenue: 

Penn Credit 
Phone: 717-238-7124 or 800-800-3328 
 
LGBS 
717-236-7666 or 888-999-1455 
 
Alliance One 
Phone: 866-583-3417 
 
Arcadia Recovery Bureau 
Phone: 888-271-2712 

 
 
PA Personal Income Tax Guide 
The Pennsylvania Personal Income Tax (PIT) Guide is 
for informational purposes only, and while it's the 
department's intention to maintain the guidance as 
accurately as possible, this publication is not binding on 
the department if the guidance is outdated or contradicts 
statutory, regulatory or case law, or binding letter rulings.  
The PA PIT Tax Guide may be found on our website 
www.revenue.pa.gov. 
 
 
The Pennsylvania Code 
The full Pennsylvania Tax Code can be found at 
www.pacode.com. 
 
The tax code covers all taxes administered by the PA 
Department of Revenue.  Please see the specific tax 
chapter for more detailed information.  
 
Bureau of Compliance Case Status: 

 Cases remain open for approximately 60 days 
from the date on the letter. 

 There is no certificate that is issued to state that 
your case is in a compliant status, but submitting 
agencies are notified of case statuses. 

 
 
ONLINE SERVICES: 
e-Services Center at www.doreservices.pa.gov 

 
 This is the location for all the department’s electronic filing 
services. Through this website you can:  

 file returns using PA Free File; 

 request an extension of time to file; 

 make payments including, estimated payments; 

mailto:ra-btftw2@pa.gov
mailto:ra-btftw2@pa.gov
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/GetAssistance/RegionalandDistrictOffices
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/GetAssistance/RegionalandDistrictOffices
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/
http://www.pacode.com/
http://www.doreservices.pa.gov/
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 check the status of your return and refund; 

 update your address; 

 calculate penalty and interest; 

 pay tax due by Electronic Funds Withdrawal for PA 
PIT; and 

 find a link to pay by credit/debit card. 

 
TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE: 

 Taxpayer Service and Information Center 

Call 717-787-8201 for PA Personal Income Tax help 
during normal business hours, 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

 1-888-PATAXES 

Touch-tone telephone service is required for this 
automated 24-hour toll-free line.  Call to order forms 
or check the status of a personal income tax account, 
corporation tax account or property tax/rent rebate. 

Harrisburg area residents may call 717-425-2533.  
 

 Online @ www.revenue.pa.gov  

If you have Internet access, you can find answers to 
commonly asked questions by using the department’s 
Online Customer Service Center. Use the Find an 
Answer feature to search the database of commonly 
asked questions. If you do not find your answer in this 
area, you can submit your question to a customer 
service representative. 
 

 PA Personal Income Tax Guide (PA PIT Guide) 

The department’s PA PIT Guide has information that 
explains Pennsylvania’s income tax and its 
differences from federal rules. You can only access 
the PA PIT Guide at the department’s website. 
 

 Language Services 

Non-English-speaking taxpayers can receive 
assistance from the department through an 
interpretation service.  

El Departamento de lmpuestos puede ayudar los 
contribuyentes que no hablan inglés por medio de un 
servicio de traducción durante el periodo de pago de 
impuestos.  

 

 
FORMS ORDERING: 

 www.revenue.state.pa.us 

Pennsylvania income tax forms, schedules, 
brochures, electronic filing options, and other 
information are available on the department’s website. 

 E-mail Requests for Forms: ra-forms@pa.gov 

 1-888-PATAXES (728-2937) 

In the Harrisburg area, call 717-425-2533. 

 Automated 24-hour Forms Ordering Message 
Service: 

1-800-362-2050. This line serves taxpayers without 
touch-tone telephone service. 

 

 Written Requests: 

PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
TAX FORMS SERVICE UNIT 
711 GIBSON BLVD. 
HARRISBURG, PA 17104-3218 

 

http://www.revenue.pa.gov/
mailto:ra-forms@pa.gov

