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New 1099-MISC Withholding Tax Requirements 

Act 43 of 2017 created a withholding obligation for 
certain payors of Pennsylvania-source income and 
lessees of Pennsylvania real estate to non-residents. It 
also expanded the requirements with respect to when a 
copy of Federal Form 1099-MISC is required to be filed 
with the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue. 

Beginning January 1, 2018, anyone that makes the 
following payments is required to withhold from such 
payments an amount equal to the tax rate specified per 
72 P.S. § 7302 (currently 3.07%): 

• Payments of Pennsylvania source non-employee 
compensation or business income to a non-resident 
individual or disregarded entity that has a non-
resident member and is reported on a 1099-MISC.  

• A lessee of Pennsylvania real estate who makes a 
lease payment in the course of a trade or business to 
a non-resident lessor. 

NOTE: Withholding is optional for payors or lessees 
paying less than $5,000 annually. However, if you are 
unsure of the total amount of payments that will be made 
during the year, the Department encourages you to 
withhold and remit income tax from all payments made.  

Governmental payors, including the Pennsylvania State 
System of Higher Education and its institutions, are 
exempt from the requirement of withholding on non-
employee compensation and business income.  

IMPORTANT 
The 1099-MISC income subject to the withholding 
provisions of Act 43 of 2017 will not be subject to 
assessment for a failure to withhold for a period ending 
prior to July 1, 2018. However, when tax is withheld, it 
must be filed and remitted as required by law. 

The department expects that payors/lessors will file the 
related 1099-MISC, with boxes 16 and 17 completed, 
with the department timely in January 2019. 

NON-EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION 
Typically, a payment is considered “non-employee 
compensation” if it is made to: (i) someone who is not 
your employee; and (ii) for services in the course of your 
trade or business. 

LEASE PAYMENTS 
A lease payment includes, but is not limited to, rents, 
royalties, bonus payments, damage rents and other 
payments made pursuant to a lease.  

A lessor includes only individuals, estates and trusts.  

 

 

 

 

PAYOR / LESSEE RESPONSIBILITIES 
REGISTERING 

Any payor/lessee required to withhold must apply for a 
1099-MISC withholding account by completing a PA-100 
Pennsylvania Enterprise Registration Form electronically 
at www.pa100.state.pa.us. If you already have an 
employer withholding account and you do not want to 
report the 1099-MISC separately, you do not have to 
complete a new registration. However, if you want to 
report the 1099-MISC separately, you must register for 
a 1099-MISC withholding account. 

PERIODIC WITHHOLDING 
AND REMITTANCE REQUIREMENTS 

Payors and lessees are required to withhold and remit 
taxes on income according to the following schedule: 

• Semi-Weekly – If total withholding is $5,000 or 
greater per quarter ($20,000 per year), such 
payors are required to make withholding deposits 
on the following Wednesday for any payments 
made on Wednesday, Thursday or Friday; and on 
Friday for any payments made on Saturday, 
Sunday, Monday or Tuesday. 

• Semi-Monthly - If total withholding is $1,000 to 
$4,999.99 per quarter, the taxes are due within 
three banking days of the close of the semi-monthly 
period.  

• Monthly – If total withholding is $300 to $999 per 
quarter, the taxes are due the 15th day of the 
following month.  

• Quarterly – If total withholding is under $300 per 
quarter, the taxes are due the last day of April, July, 
October and January.  

The (REV-1716) Period Ending and Administrative Due 
Dates for the Remittance of Employer Withholding and 
filing of Quarterly Returns and W-2 Forms can be located 
on the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue website, 
www.revenue.pa.gov. 

Withholding tax payments, quarterly returns, and annual 
reconciliations must be submitted electronically to the 
Department through e-TIDES, the Department’s online 
business tax filing system.  All payments of $1,000 or 
more must be remitted by Electronic Funds Transfer 
(EFT). Electronic payments can be made through e-
TIDES at www.etides.state.pa.us. 

ANNUAL FILING REQUIREMENTS 
The Annual Withholding Statement (REV-1667), 
along with the individual 1099-MISC forms, must be filed 
electronically with the Department through e-TIDES, 
www.etides.state.pa.us by January 31 of the ensuing tax 
year. 

 

http://www.pa100.state.pa.us/
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/
http://www.etides.state.pa.us/
http://www.etides.state.pa.us/
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ISSUING 1099-MISC 
Payors or lessees are required to file a Federal Form-
1099-MISC with the Department and are required to 
provide a copy to the payee or lessor by January 31 of 
the ensuing tax year. 

CORRECTED 1099-MISC 
If a corrected Federal Form 1099-MISC is issued to a 
payee or lessor and the amounts related to income from 
sources within Pennsylvania changes for nonresident 
recipients or the total amount changes for resident 
recipients.  

PAYEE / LESSOR RESPONSIBILITIES 
Payees and lessors having tax withheld who receive a 
copy of the Federal Form 1099-MISC from the lessees 
are required to file a copy thereof with their Pennsylvania 
tax return. 

Frequently Asked Questions 
When does the new withholding requirement take 
effect? 
Beginning January 1, 2018, anyone that pays 
Pennsylvania-source non-employee compensation or 
business income to a non-resident individual or 
disregarded entity that has a non-resident member is 
required to withhold from such payments an amount 
equal to the tax rate specified per 72 P.S. § 7302 
(currently 3.07%). 

Does the new 1099 withholding requirement apply 
to all companies or only the ones which already 
have an employer withholding responsibility?  
The new withholding requirement is applicable to 
anyone, when any of conditions set forth in Act 43 of 
2017 are applicable. 

I do not have any payroll, do I now need to set up 
a payroll account?  
Businesses that currently do not withhold Pennsylvania 
personal income tax from employee compensation, or 
businesses who desire to segregate 1099-MISC 
withholding from regular employer withholding, will have 
to register for a 1099-MISC withholding account using 
the online PA-100 at  www.pa100.state.pa.us. 

I already have a payroll account. Do I now need to 
set up a 1099-MISC account?  
Businesses that currently withhold Pennsylvania personal 
income tax from employee compensation can use the 
same account to report, withhold and remit 1099-MISC 
withholdings. 

I outsource my payroll, do I now need to set up a 
separate withholding account?  
Businesses that currently do not withhold Pennsylvania 
personal income tax from employee compensation, or 
businesses who desire to segregate 1099-MISC 
withholding from regular employer withholding, will have 
to either register for a 1099-MISC withholding account 

using the online PA-100 or work with their payroll 
provider to combine the filings. 

NOTE: If the decision is made to include 1099-MISC 
withholding along with regular employer withholding, the 
deposit schedule will align with the employer’s assigned 
deposit frequency. 

How do I file my 1099-MISC Withholding Tax 
return and payment?  
Withholding tax payments, quarterly returns, and annual 
reconciliations must be submitted electronically to the 
Department through e-TIDES at www.etides.state.pa.us. 

How do I obtain a 1099-MISC withholding account? 
Initially, a new 1099-MISC withholding account will be 
established to remit on a quarterly basis and will then be 
subject to an annual payment frequency change based 
on amounts withheld. 

If the payor or lessee does not currently have an 
employer withholding account, entities required to 
withhold and remit Pennsylvania personal income tax are 
required to apply for a 1099-MISC withholding account 
by completing a PA-100 Pennsylvania Enterprise 
Registration Form electronically at 
www.pa100.state.pa.us. If you have any questions or 
need assistance filling out the PA-100 Pennsylvania 
Enterprise Registration Form, please call our Tax 
Registration Office at 717-787-3653. 

How often must I remit a 1099-MISC Withholding 
Tax return and payment?  
For more information on filing returns and payments, and 
quarterly due dates, please visit our online services 
center at www.revenue.pa.gov.   

As a PA resident, I hire a non-resident contractor 
for various jobs throughout the year.  Obviously, 
I’m not sure if my year-end total payments to them 
will be greater than $5,000. How should I handle 
the new withholding rules?  
Withholding is optional for payors paying less than 
$5,000 annually. However, if you are unsure of the total 
amount of payments that will be made during the year, 
the Department encourages you to withhold and remit 
income tax from all payments made.  

If the payor is only obligated to pay withholding on 
PA-sourced income, is it the payor’s responsibility 
to determine the PA sourced income? 
Section 101.8 of the Pennsylvania Code provides 
guidance on this matter. 

 

 

 

http://www.pa100.state.pa.us/
http://www.etides.state.pa.us/
http://www.pa100.state.pa.us/
http://www.revenue.pa.gov/
https://www.pacode.com/secure/data/061/chapter101/s101.8.html
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Our company has a non-resident serving as a 
Director. Are we required to withhold Pennsylvania 
Personal Income Tax?  
If you will be paying the individual more than $5,000 
annually, you are required to withhold PA Personal 
Income Tax and remit the tax based on published 
information. 

When issuing a 1099-MISC, how should I account 
for workers living in reciprocal states?  
Reciprocity applies to W-2 based employee compensation 
only. Pennsylvania-sourced income being reported on a 
1099-MISC is always taxable for Pennsylvania personal 
income tax purposes, as it is considered nonemployee 
compensation regardless of whether it is classified as 
compensation or business income by the recipient. 

Will PA have a separate W-9 to include state of 
residency?  
No, PA is not creating a W-9 form. Payors and lessees 
will need to establish what information is needed to 
determine a payee or lessor’s residency. However, the 

Internal Revenue Service, Form W-9, does provide 
information in Box 3 to determine if a payee or lessor is 
an individual or a single-member LLC and the address 
provided may assist in determining their state of 
residence.  

If a Payor contracts with a single member LLC, how 
is the Payor to determine if the single-member is a 
non-resident owner? 
Form REV-611, Determining Residency for PA Personal 
Income Tax Purposes, provides guidance on the subject. 
 
How can I find more information about what 
income is taxable in PA, and therefore subject to 
this withholding?  
This link defines what is considered to be taxable income 
from within this commonwealth e.g. PA sourced Income  

 
 
 

 

http://www.revenue.pa.gov/FormsandPublications/FormsforIndividuals/PIT/Documents/rev-611.pdf
https://www.pacode.com/secure/data/061/chapter101/s101.8.html

