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Consumer Fireworks Tax 

What is the Consumer Fireworks Tax? 
On October 30, 2017, Governor Tom Wolf signed into law 
Act 43 of 2017, establishing a consumer fireworks tax on 
each separate sale at retail of consumer fireworks within 
the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 

The tax is imposed at a rate of 12% on the sales price of 
consumer fireworks. The 12% tax is in addition to the 
sales and use tax already imposed on such sales (see 
example).  

Example: 

Consumer Grade Firework $10.00 
6% PA Sales Tax $0.60 
Subtotal: $10.60 
12% Consumer Fireworks Tax $1.27 

Total Paid by the Consumer $11.87 
  

RETAILER INFORMATION 
What you need to know 

Effective October 30, 2017, retail sales of consumer 
fireworks, as defined in Act 43, are subject to the 12% 
consumer fireworks tax. If you have sold a product at 
retail considered a consumer firework under the law, you 
are required to charge, collect and remit the 12% 
consumer fireworks tax even if you are not yet licensed 
under the new law. 

License 
Sellers of consumer fireworks are required to apply for a 
Consumer Fireworks Facility License with the 
Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, Bureau of Ride 
and Measurement Standards. You can find more 
information by visiting the Department of Agriculture’s 
website at www.agriculture.pa.gov.  

Important: Under the new law, your facility may 
continue to sell consumer fireworks, to out-of-state 
residents and PA residents with a municipal permit, 
under its current license for a period of 90 days (through 
January 28, 2018) or until the term of the current license 
expires, whichever comes first. You must apply for and 
obtain a new license under the new law to be able to 
lawfully sell consumer fireworks beyond this expiration 
date. 

Filing and Paying Taxes 
Licensees must submit a quarterly consumer fireworks 
tax return with the Pennsylvania Department of 
Revenue, even for periods where no taxable retail 
fireworks sales occurred. Retail consumer fireworks sales 
made during the fourth quarter of 2017 (October 30 
through December 31) should be included in your first 
quarter 2018 consumer fireworks tax return, which is due 
April 20, 2018. 

Beginning April 1, 2018, licensees can register their 
consumer fireworks tax account with e-TIDES, the 
department’s e-filing tax system for businesses. Once 
licensed, consumer fireworks tax returns must be filed 
electronically using e-TIDES at www.etides.state.pa.us. 

Paper tax returns are not available or permissible for this 
tax type.  

If your Point of Sale system cannot handle charging two 
different taxes on one transaction, you can use one 
composite tax rate (18.72%), per sales transaction. 
However, when your tax returns are filed with the 
Department of Revenue the collection of the sales tax 
and fireworks tax must be reported separately on the 
respective return.   

Calculation of the Consumer Fireworks Tax 
The tax authorized will be imposed and collected at a rate 
of 12% on the sales price of consumer fireworks. The 
12% tax will be in addition to the sales and use tax 
already imposed on such sales (see examples).  

• Example #1 
Counties with 6% sales and use tax rate: 

Consumer Grade Firework $10.00 
  
6% PA Sales Tax $0.60 
Subtotal: $10.60 
12% Consumer Fireworks Tax $1.27 

Total Paid by the Consumer $11.87 
 

• Example#2 
Counties with an additional sales and use tax rate: 

Consumer Grade Firework $10.00 
6% PA Sales Tax $0.60 
2% Phila. Sales Tax $0.20 

Subtotal: $10.80 
12% Consumer Fireworks Tax $1.30 
Total Paid by the Consumer $12.30 

 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
Am I required to charge, collect and remit the 12% 
Consumer Fireworks tax even if I’m not yet 
licensed under the new law? 
Yes. Effective October 30, 2017, retail sales of consumer 
fireworks, as defined in Act 43 are subject to the 12% 
consumer fireworks tax. 

How do I get a Consumer Fireworks Retailer 
License? 
Sellers of consumer fireworks are required to apply for a 
Consumer Fireworks Facility License with the 
Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, Bureau of Ride 
and Measurement Standards. You can find more 
information by visiting the Department of Agriculture’s 
website at www.agriculture.pa.gov.  

How often must I remit a Consumer Fireworks Tax 
return and payment? 
Licensees must submit a quarterly consumer fireworks 
tax return with the Pennsylvania Department of 
Revenue, even for periods where no taxable retail 
fireworks sales occurred. 

Licensees are still required to file a Sales and Use Tax 
return according to their assigned sales tax account filing 

http://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Business_Industry/fireworks/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.etides.state.pa.us/
https://www.etides.state.pa.us/
http://www.etides.state.pa.us/
http://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Business_Industry/fireworks/Pages/default.aspx
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frequency, which may differ from the quarterly consumer 
fireworks tax return. 

How will I report and remit consumer fireworks tax 
on sales made during the fourth quarter of 2017? 
Retail consumer fireworks sales made during the fourth 
quarter of 2017 (October 30 through December 31) 
should be included in your first quarter 2018 Consumer 
Fireworks Tax return, which is due April 20, 2018 

How do I file my consumer fireworks tax return and 
payment? 
Beginning April 1, 2018, licensees can register their 
consumer fireworks tax account with e-TIDES, the 
department’s e-filing tax system for businesses. Once 
licensed, consumer fireworks tax returns must be filed 
electronically using e-TIDES at www.etides.state.pa.us. 
Paper tax returns are not available or permissible for this 
tax type.  

What are consumer grade fireworks?  
Consumer grade fireworks (Class C) include 
firecrackers, Roman candles and bottle rockets. 

What are display grade fireworks?  
Display fireworks (Class B) are the type seen at 
community celebrations on the Fourth of July and New 
Year's Eve. They are only legal for professional pyro-
technicians use. In addition, M-80s, M-100s, quarter-
sticks, half-sticks and cherry bombs, which are illegal in 
most of the U.S., will remain illegal in Pennsylvania.  

Is there a resource to provide more guidance on 
fireworks? 
The American Pyrotechnics Association maintains a 
document, APA Standard 87-1, that contains definitions, 
standards and other helpful information related to 
fireworks. For a list of Consumer Fireworks that are 
subject to the consumer fireworks tax, please refer to 
Chapter 3. 

My POS system cannot handle charging two 
different taxes on one transaction. Can I use a 
composite tax rate?  
Yes, you can use one composite tax rate, per sales 
transaction. However, when your tax returns are filed 
with the Department of Revenue, the collection of the 
sales tax and fireworks tax must be reported separately. 

• Counties with 6% sales and use tax rate would 
use a composite rate of 18.72%. 

• Counties with 7% sales and use tax rate would 
use a composite rate of 19.84%. 

• Counties with 8% sales and use tax rate would 
use a composite rate of 20.96%. 

If my POS system cannot handle charging two 
different taxes on one transaction. How can I break 
out the various reporting components for 
Pennsylvania tax reporting? 
Chart #1 below shows the calculation of the PA sales tax, 
the county sales tax and consumer fireworks tax; and the 
various tax remittance break out percentages. 

 
CHART #1 
Breakdown of how the consumer fireworks tax is calculated based on current PA and county sales tax, the composite 
tax rate based on current PA and county sales tax, and the breakout percentages to report the various tax components 
on the Pennsylvania tax return: 

 

State Philadelphia Allegheny

Consumer Grade Firework Cost  $        10.00  $        10.00  $        10.00 

6% PA Sales Tax  $          0.60 6%  $          0.60 6%  $          0.60 6%
County Sales Tax  $          0.20 2%  $          0.10 1%

Subtotal:  $        10.60  $        10.80  $        10.70 
12% Consumer Fireworks Tax  $          1.27 12%  $          1.30 12%  $          1.28 12%

Total Paid by the Consumer:  $        11.87  $        12.10  $        11.98 

Composite Tax Rate 18.72% 20.96% 19.84%

Tax Remittance Break Out
Total Tax paid on purchase 1.87$          2.10$          1.98$          

PA Sales Tax break out % 0.60$          32.05% 0.60$          28.63% 0.60$          30.24%
County Sales Tax break out % -$            0.00% 0.20$          9.54% 0.10$          5.04%

Fireworks Tax break out % 1.27$          67.95% 1.30$          61.83% 1.28$          64.72%
100.00% 100.00% 100.00%

https://www.etides.state.pa.us/
https://www.etides.state.pa.us/
http://www.etides.state.pa.us/
http://www.americanpyro.com/apa-standard-87-1

