
DATE: December 31, 2003 

SUBJECT: Cigarette Floor Tax Return
REV-142

TO: All Pennsylvania Licensed Cigarette Stamping Agents

CIGARETTE TAX BULLETIN 03-15 

On December 23, 2003 Governor Edward Rendell signed into law Act 46 of 2003 (HB 200 PN 3160)
raising the excise tax on a pack of 20 cigarettes from $1.00 to $1.35 effective January 7, 2004 an increase
of $.35 cents per pack. Cigarette tax on packs of 25 cigarettes will increase from $1.25 cents to $1.6875
per pack, an increase of $.4375 per pack. The new cigarette tax rate applies to all floor stock and to all
cigarettes in vending machines located within Pennsylvania on January 7, 2004.

The commission paid to cigarette stamping agents for expenses of affixing cigarette tax stamps has
been reduced from 1.25 percent to .98 percent. However, the cost of doing business for a Cigarette
Stamping Agent shall be presumed to be 1.7 percent of the basic cost of cigarettes. Cigarette Stamping
Agents purchasing cigarette tax stamps on a consignment basis must increase bond limits by forwarding
a rider to the above address to increase the bond liability amount. If you wish to secure alternative forms
of cigarette tax stamp credit purchases as prescribed in Act 46 of 2003, please contact the Department.
NOTE: It will be necessary to file a monthly report, for the period beginning December 1, 2003 and ending
January 6, 2004; and a report for the period beginning January 7, 2004 and ending January 31, 2004.

In order to properly report and remit the floor tax due on your cigarette inventory, it will be necessary
to take an immediate physical inventory of all Pennsylvania stamped cigarettes held in your possession as
of 12:01 A.M. on January 7, 2004 complete and file the enclosed Cigarette Stamping Agent Floor Tax
Return (REV-142) by the due date of April 6, 2004. Please refer to the filing instructions on the reverse
side of the floor tax return.

Cigarettes which are alleged to be in transit as of January 7, 2004, will be deemed the property of
the shipper. The shipper shall file a return and pay the floor tax imposed under 72 P.S. 8206.1 by
April 6, 2004.

Failure to file a floor tax return and pay the floor tax due by April 6, 2004 will result in the imposition
of penalties and interest and may result in criminal prosecution.

Visit the Department of Revenue’s Web site www.revenue.state.pa.us for additional information.

Should you have questions regarding this matter, please telephone (717) 772-6919 or FAX
(717) 705-8413.

PENNSYLVANIA �
DEPARTMENT OF

evenue

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

DAS 103 (12-03)

BUREAU OF BUSINESS TRUST FUND TAXES
MISCELLANEOUS TAX DIVISION
DEPT. 280909
HARRISBURG, PA 17128-0909


