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OVERVIEW OF THE PROGRAM

The Property Tax/Rent Rebate Program is a Pennsylvania program that provides rebates on property tax or rent paid for the previous
year by income-eligible seniors and people with disabilities.

This rebate program benefits eligible Pennsylvanians age 65 and older; widows and widowers age 50 and older; and people with
disabilities age 18 and older.

Historically, the income limit has been $35,000 a year for homeowners and $15,000 annually for renters however, half of the Social
Security income is excluded. Spouses, personal representatives, or estates may also file rebate applications on behalf of individuals
who lived at least one day in the application year and meet all other eligibility criteria.

For many years, the maximum standard rebate has been $650 but the program provides supplemental rebates for qualifying
homeowners which could boost rebates to $975.

The Property Tax/Rent Rebate Program is one of five programs supported by the Pennsylvania Lottery. Since the program’s inception
in 1971, older and disabled adults have received more than $7.6 billion in property tax and rent relief. The rebate program also receives
funding from slots gaming.

WHAT’S NEW FOR 2024

House Bill 1100, signed into law in August of 2023, amended the Taxpayer Relief Act to expand the eligibility requirements and benefits
for the Property Tax/Rent Rebate Program starting in the 2023 application year (rebates filed in calendar year 2024).

e Income thresholds for homeowners and renters increased to $45,000.
0 This means that all applicants now use the same income eligibility table.

e Maximum standard rebate was raised to $1,000.

2024 ELIGIBILITY TABLE
INCOME MAX REBATE
$0 - $8000 $ 1,000
$8,001 - $15,000 $770
$15,001 - $18,000 $ 460
$18,001 - $45,000 $380

¢ In future years, income thresholds for standard rebates will grow with inflation annually.

SUPPLEMENTAL REBATES (KICKERS)

The supplemental property tax rebates are available to homeowners with particularly high property tax burdens. The income eligibility
did not change for supplemental rebates under the new law. However, the amounts were increased based on the new standard
rebate levels. Applicants do not need to do anything to claim the supplemental rebate as these are automatically calculated by the
Department of Revenue and awarded to property owners with $30,000 or less in income who live in:

e Philadelphia, Scranton, or Pittsburgh
e Other parts of the state where property taxes are 15% or more of their total income

INCOME ST&I‘;I/)\?ERD SUPPLEI;III(IIEIC\JI-::':) REBATE TOTAL MAX REBATE
$0-$8,000 $1,000 $500 $1,500
$8,001-515,000 $770 $385 $1,155
$15,001-$18,000 $460 $230 $690
$18,001-$30,000 $380 $190 $570
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS

Below is a calendar of events to provide a basic overview of when key things happen during administration of the program.

MONTH EVENT

e The department begins accepting applications (for taxes or rent paid in the previous year).
JANUARY e myPATH opens for 2023 rebate applications.

e PA-1000 booklets are mailed out to applicants who filed previously via paper.

e Reminder letters are mailed out to applicants who filed via myPATH or preparer.

e Forms are published on the department’s website and online forms ordering is available.

e Posting/processing of applications begins.
e The department begins making automated phone calls to advise that the application was received.

APRIL

e Due date for applications is June 30™. In the beginning of June, the Governor will decide whether to
extend the application deadline to December 315,

JUNE e Press release will be issued if extension is granted.

e The department begins making a second round of automated phone calls to let applicants know
that their rebate application was approved.

JULY e  PA Treasury will begin to mail or direct deposit rebates on July 1%,

e August 15" is the first day the department can request a stop payment on a rebate issued on July
1st. Stop payments can only be requested 45 days past the date the rebate was issued.

AUGUST

e If due date was extended, all applications will be due by December 315
e last day to file a rebate.

DECEMBER

IMPORTANT: If the application is not filed by the due date (or extended due date), the individual may not apply for the
program. This means that an application cannot be submitted for a previous year.
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REMINDER LETTER MAILED TO APPLICANTS

In January of each year, the department mails a reminder letter to PTRR applicants that used either myPATH to file or had their
application prepared using software in the previous year. These letters are designed to remind applicants to file and include a copy
of the PA-1000 RC, Rent Certificate. We include this document with the letters so that previous renters can take it to their landlord
for completion or for situations where a previous year homeowner moved into a rental property.

Property Tax/Rent Rebate

This notice is in regards to your Property Tax Rent Rebate claim submitted to the Pennsylvania Department of

Revenue.

Why you are receiving this notice Your PA-1000 Pennsylvania Property Tax/Rent Rebate claim was filed

If you have any questions regarding this electronically using myPATH, instead of the department—provided form. The

notice, please contact the department department thanks you for filing your PA-1000 Pennsylvania Property

using the information provided. Tax/Rent Rebate claim using myPATH and encourages you to continue to
file your claim form through myPATH for future claim years. Moving forward,

Customer Experience Center the depariment will not be mailing out a paper claim form and instruction

1-888-222-9190 booklet to Pennsylvanians who filed a PA-1000 electronically using
myPATH.

What you need to do Submit your PA-1000 to the department either online or via mail.

Filing online
You may file the PA-1000 online via mypath.pa.gov

Filing by mail
If you wish to obtain a physical copy of the PA-1000, they are available via
the following channels:

* Downloading the form online from the department’s website at
www.revenue.pa.gov, under the Forms & Publications tab

»  Emailing a request to RA-FORMS@pa.gov
= Calling toll-free 1-800-362-2050
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PROPERTY TAX/RENT REBATE AUTOMATIC REMINDERS

To reduce inbound calls from PTRR applicants who are just checking on the status of their rebate application, the department makes
outbound calls using our automated dialer system. This allows the department to notify applicants that their rebate was either
received or has been approved for payment. These calls begin about mid-April each year and continue until the majority of the PTRR

applications are processed for the year.

On these outbound calls the Department of Revenue will never provide any personal information. These are strictly automated phone
calls pushing information to claimants regarding the status of their applications. Below are the various scripts that we are currently

using:

PTRR APPLICATION RECEIVED

Hello, this is an automated call from the Pennsylvania
Department of Revenue to let you know that your Property
Tax/Rent Rebate application has been received.

You do not need to take further action.

If you want to confirm the information in this message or check
the status of your application, please visit our website,
myPATH.pa.gov, that’s m-y-p-a-t-h dot p-a dot g-o-v and click the
“Where’s My Rebate?” hyperlink directly from the homepage.

Have a nice day from the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue.

If you want to confirm the information in this message or check
the status of your application, please visit our website,
myPATH.pa.gov, that’s m-y-p-a-t-h dot p-a dot g-o-v, and click
the “Where’s My Rebate?” hyperlink directly from the
homepage.

Have a nice day from the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue.

CALLER ID MESSAGE FOR CLAIMS RECEIVED
You have reached the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue. If
you are calling because you missed a call on your phone from this
number, don’t worry, we were just calling to let you know that
your Property Tax/Rent Rebate application has been received.

You do not need to take any further action.

If you want to confirm the information in this message or check
on the status of your application, please visit our website,
myPATH.pa.gov, and click on the “Where’s my Rebate” hyperlink
directly from the homepage.

Thank you for calling and have a nice day.

PTRR CLAIM APPROVED - CHECK TO BE MAILED

Hello, this is an automated call from the Pennsylvania
Department of Revenue to let you know that your Property
Tax/Rent Rebate has been approved.

Please allow 4 to 6 weeks for your rebate to arrive.
You do not need to take any further action.

If you want to confirm the information in this message or check
on the status of your application, please visit our website,
myPATH.pa.gov, and click on the “Where’s my Rebate” hyperlink
directly from the homepage.

If you apply for a rebate next year, we encourage you to select
the direct deposit payment option on your application. This will
allow us to quickly and securely deposit your rebate into your
bank account. This option is quicker than waiting for a paper
check to come in the mail.

Have a nice day from the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue.

PTRR CLAIM APPROVED - DIRECT DEPOSIT

Hello, this is an automated call from the Pennsylvania
Department of Revenue to let you know that your Property
Tax/Rent Rebate has been approved.

You do not need to take any further action.

If you want to confirm the information in this message or check
on the status of your application, please visit our website,
myPATH.pa.gov, and click on the “Where’s my Rebate” hyperlink
directly from the homepage.

Have a nice day from the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue.

CALLER ID MESSAGE FOR CLAIMS PAID
You have reached the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue. If
you are calling because you missed a call on your phone from this
number, don’t worry, we were just calling to let you know that
your Property Tax/Rent Rebate application is being paid.

You do not need to take any further action.

If you want to confirm the information in this message or check
on the status of your application, please visit our website,
myPATH.pa.gov, and click on the “Where’s my Rebate” hyperlink
directly from the homepage.

Thank you for calling and have a nice day.
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TYPE OF FILER

The first step to completing the application is determining if your constituent meets the eligibility requirements. As a reminder this
program is only available to older or disabled individuals so be sure to ask the appropriate questions to confirm if they fit into one of
the categories below.

If the applicant is a first-time filer, make sure they include the corresponding proof documents depending on the filing category. Please
see the Documents to Include section or the Proof Document Checklist for more information.

Category A on the application is the age qualifier. If selecting this
AGE 65 OR OLDER option, the applicant must be 65 or older by December 31 of the
application year. This is the most common category selected.

e If the applicant is a first-time filer and falls into this category, they
must remit proof of age along with their application

Category B should be used if the applicant is under 65 but their spouse
is 65 or older by December 315 of the application year. This category is
the least common because typically the person who is 65 will file as the
primary applicant.

MARRIED TO INDIVIDUAL AGE 65 OR OLDER

e If the applicant is a first-time filer and falls into this category, they
must remit proof age for the spouse.

Category C is used by a widow or widower who is anywhere between
the ages of 50 and 64 by December 31 of the application year. This
category only applies if the couple was still married at the time of the
spouses passing.

WIDOW/WIDOWER AGE 50-64

e Ifapplicantis a first-time filer and falls into this category, they must
remit proof of age along with a copy of their spouse’s death
certificate.

Category D should be used if the applicant is 18 to 64 years old by

PERMANENTLY DISABLED AGE 18-64 December 315 of the application year and they are permanently
disabled.

e  For Social Security disability, SSI permanent and total disability,
Railroad Retirement permanent and total disability, or Black Lung
disability, provide a copy of your award letter.

e For Veterans Administration disability, provide a letter from the
Veterans Administration stating that you are 100 percent disabled.

e  For Federal Civil Service disability, provide a letter from Civil
Service stating that you are 100 percent disabled.

e If the applicant does not qualify under any of the above, they
should have their physician complete a PA-1000 PS (See the PA-
1000 PS guidance under the Preparing the Application section.)
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REBATE TYPE

In addition to identifying what category an applicant falls under, we also need to know if they are a property owner, a renter, or if they
are an owner/renter because this will affect their eligibility income amount and the type of rebate that they receive.

DEFINITIONS

¢ Applicant must have owned the home.
PROPERTY OWNER *  Applicant must have occupied the home as a primary residence.
¢ Taxes must have been paid for the application year.

¢ Applicant must have rented and occupied the residence.
RENTER e Applicant must have a true landlord/tenant relationship.

* Applicant may not have received cash or public assistance for the months being claimed.

e Applicant owned, occupied, and paid taxes for part of year and paid rent for other portion of
OWNER/RENTER the year. (Common example includes mobile homes where the applicant owns the home and
rents the lot or vice versa)

INCOME GUIDELINES

Effective January 2024, for property taxes or rent paid in 2023, all qualified applicants who make $45,000 or less for the application
year are eligible to receive a property tax or rent rebate. As mentioned in the What’s New section, this income cap applies to both
renters and homeowners. Maximum rebate amounts vary based on the amount of income. The more income an applicant makes, the
lower the rebate will be.

* Please refer to the What’s New for 2024 section for specific rebate amounts.

FILING ON BEHALF OF A DECEASED INDIVIDUAL
To be eligible for a rebate, the applicant must have lived at least one day of an application year; owned, occupied, and paid taxes; or
rented, occupied, and paid rent for the application year during the period they were alive.

The property tax paid for a deceased applicant will be prorated based upon the number of days the applicant lived during the
application year. Rent rebate applications filed on behalf of deceased applicants will be paid based upon the amount of rent paid
during the application year. Schedule A must be completed for the calculation of the prorated property tax rebate.

To determine if a deceased applicant is eligible for a rebate, a decedent’s application must also include an annualized income amount
in the calculation of total household income. Schedule G must be completed for the calculation of annualized income amount to be
included in household income. A copy of the death certificate must also be included with the application.

A surviving spouse, estate, or personal representative may file an application on behalf of a deceased applicant. A personal
representative can also have a previously filed rebate issued in his or her name, instead of the name of the decedent, in certain
circumstances.

SURVIVING SPOUSE IS ELIGIBLE TO FILE ON THEIR OWN N
If the surviving spouse meets the eligibility requirements to file on their own, H:;:;L:::mymv ""4@""'-S::::::;:;;Lﬁ:;m::iv"'- opouseis
they should discard any label (if filing via paper) and file as a first-time applicant. in the oval.

PLEASE WRITE IN YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER{S) ABOVE

In this situation, they should include a copy of the death certificate and a letter Last Name First Name
stating they were the spouse of the applicant at the time of death, and sign as

the applicant. The deceased spouse’s SSN should be entered in the area

provided and the oval filled in, indicating the spouse is deceased.

First Line of Address

NOTE: If the surviving spouse is eligible to file on their own, do not mark the oval in Section Il, Line 3 that reads, “Filing on behalf of a
decedent.”
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SPOUSE NOT ELIGIBLE TO FILE ON OWN

If the surviving spouse does not meet the eligibility requirements to file on their own, they “Filiti_n only one oval in each
section.
should complete the application listing the decedent as the primary and surviving spouse as 1. 1am filing for a rebate as a:
the secondary. P sractons " See
R. Renter — See instructions
NOTE: In this situation, the surviving spouse will need to fill in the oval under Section Il of the B Owneriientar — Sen
PA-1000, Line 3 “Filing on behalf of a decedent.” Additionally, they will need to include a 2. 1 Cortify that as of Dec. 31, 2021,
completed DEX-41, copy of the death certificate (showing their name listed as the spouse), a '“";f“é’laimm age 65 or older
letter stating they were the spouse of the applicant at the time of death, and sign on the B. Claimant under age 65,
with a spouse age 65 or
applicant signature line. older who resided in the
same household
C. Widow or widower, age
o . c o q 50t
IMPORTANT: A surviving spouse can only file using this method if the decedent passed away D. Permanently disabled
during the application year. In addition, if the decedent passed away during the application /m‘;ﬂn‘[ﬁ?“\
year, the income must be annualized using the Schedule G and taxes paid must be prorated < 3.
Filing on behalf of a ,

using the Schedule A. For more information on completing these schedules, see the guidance decedent
under the Preparing the Application section. v

ESTATE

If the decedent is due a rebate, an application may be filed by the executor or the administrator of an estate. A completed DEX-41
must be submitted with the application. A copy of the Short Certificate showing the will was registered or probated must also be
submitted. If there is no will but there are assets, submit a copy of the Letters of Administration. Either of these may be obtained from
the county courthouse where the death is recorded. The person filing the application must fill in the oval under Section Il of the PA-
1000, Line 3 “Filing on behalf of a decedent” and sign on the applicant’s signature line.

Required Proof Documents:
o If there is a will - We would need a short certificate showing who the executor or executrix is.
o If there is no will - We will need a decree of distribution or court order appointing the administrator.

NOTE: If the decedent passed away during the application year, the income must be annualized using the schedule G and taxes paid
must be prorated using the Schedule A. See the guidance under the Preparing the Application section for more information on
completing these schedules.

PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE

If a person dies and there is no will, the will has not been registered or probated, or there is no estate, then a personal representative
may file an application on behalf of an eligible decedent. A decedent’s personal representative must submit a copy of the decedent’s
death certificate, a notarized DEX-41, Application for Refund/ Rebate Due the Decedent, a receipted copy of the decedent’s funeral
bill and proof that the personal representative personally paid the decedent’s funeral expenses in an amount that is greater than or
equal to the amount of the property tax/rent rebate to which the decedent is entitled. Proof of payment can be the front/back of a
check or a credit card or bank statement or other documentation showing that they personally paid for the funeral expenses. Like the
two scenarios listed above, the personal representative must fill in the oval under Section Il of the PA-1000, Line 3 “Filing on behalf of
a decedent” and sign on the applicant’s signature line.

NOTE: If the decedent passed away during the application year, the income must be annualized using the schedule G and taxes/rent
paid must be prorated using the Schedule A. See the guidance under the Preparing the Application section for more information on
completing these schedules.

GETTING A CHECK REISSUED UNDER THE SPOUSE, ESTATE, OR PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE NAME
If the person dies after filing the application the check will be issued under the decedents name unless the department receives a
completed DEX-41 and all supporting documentation. If your constituent can cash a check in the decedents name, there is no need to
have the name changed. If they cannot cash the check, a completed DEX-41 along with all supporting documentation should be submitted
to the department using the legislative resource account.
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As mentioned previously, there are several supporting documents that are required to be submitted along with the Property Tax/Rent
Rebate application. The department refers to these items as “proof documents”. These proof documents vary based on the applicant’s
specific filing type, rebate type, and type of income.

PROOF OF AGE

If an applicant has never filed a PTRR application in the past, they will be required to submit proof of age. Acceptable documents
include:

e  Birth certificate ¢ Naturalization/immigration paper, if age is shown
e Blue Cross or Blue Shield 65 Special Card e Military discharge paper, if age is shown

e Church baptismal record e Medicare card

e Driver’s license or PA identification card e PACE/PACENET card

e Hospital birth record e Passport

PROOF OF WIDOW/WIDOWER

If the applicant has never filed a PTRR application in the past, and they are a widow or widower age 50 to 64, they must provide proof
of their age (see above) and a photocopy of their spouse’s death certificate.

PROOF OF DISABILITY

If an applicant has never filed a PTRR application in the past and they indicate that they are permanently disabled between the ages
18-64, they must submit proof of age (see above) and proof of permanent disability.

e Award Letter: Acceptable for Social Security disability, SSI permanent and total disability, Railroad Retirement permanent and
total disability, or Black Lung disability.

e Letter from the For Veterans Administration stating 100% disabled: Acceptable for Veterans Administration disability.

e Letter from Civil Service stating 100%t disabled: Acceptable for Federal Civil Service disability.

PA-1000 PS, PHYSICAN’S STATEMENT OF PERMANENT AND TOTAL DISABILITY

This form is used when an applicant is not covered under the federal

Social Security Act or the federal Railroad Retirement Act who is unable I CIAN’S STATEMENT 2205310051
's Statement of
to submit proof of permanent and total disability. The physician ";”"“‘”"”";;n
completing the form must determine the applicant’s status using the R 23 375w on PA-T000 oo See e
same standards used for determining permanent and total disability iatructons
. . . . A claimant not covered under the federal Social Security Act or the federal Railroad Retirement Act who is unabile
under the federa] sOc|a| Secu r|ty Act or the federa] Ra||road Retirement Lusuurl:npwﬁmqpefrr_‘anen.r and total gisabilty may subimit hs Physican's Statement. The physician must deter-
mine the claimant's status using the same standards used for determining permanent and total disability
under the federal Sacial Security Act or the federal Railroad Retirement Act. CAUTION: f the claimant applied
ACt- for Social Security disability benefits and the Social Security Administration did not rule in the claimant's favor

the claimant is not eligible for a Praperty Tax or Rent Rebate.

The form must describe the disability as permanent, and the physician lparimant shal ey use i nformation fo he purposes o determinig th ciimants sy or  Property
. . . . . Tax or Rent Rebate.
must sign the statement to certify that the information is true and [—
. . | certify the claimant named above is my patient and is permanently and totally disabled under the standards thai
accurate to the best of h |5/h er knowled ge an d belief. the federal Social Security Act or the federal Railroad Retirement Act requires for determining permanent and total
disability. Upon request from the PA Department of Revenue, | will provide the medical reports or records indicat
ing diagnosis and prognosis of the claimant's condition, including signs, symptoms and laboratory findings, i
NOTE: If the applicant was denied Social Security Disability, they are not [oplcable or approprle.

Please sign after printing.

eligible for a rebate. Physcin Signature Date wunore
—

D iption of Claimant's and Total Disability. Briefly describe the reason(s) the above-named
lAitant = & aneqily dica

CERTIFICATION: A physician must sign and date the schedule in
order for it to be accepted.

DESCRIPTION: A physician must complete this section of the
schedule. Briefly describing the reason(s) the above-named = [

applicant is totally and permanently disabled.

State ZIP Code

PHYSICIAN IDENTIFICATION: A physician must complete all parts Ce——— [ome i
of this section for the schedule to be accepted.

L mLYRN AR spsmons: |
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PROOF OF INCOME

When completing the PTRR application, the applicant will be required to indicate the type of income that they receive. Based on the
income reported, there are specific proof documents that must be included. Please refer to the PTRR Proof Document Checklist to
determine what information to submit. This checklist is easy to use and organized in the order that the income should be reported on
the PA-1000 application.

WHEN INCOME IS LESS THAN TAXES OR RENT PAID

There could be situations where the eligibility income reported is less than the amount of taxes or rent paid. If this is due to only
reporting 50 percent of Social Security, Railroad Retirement Tier 1, or Federal Civil Service Retirement System benefits; then no
additional documentation is needed. If the customer is receiving financial assistance from another source or utilizing income from
personal savings that is not required to be reported in eligibility income, they should include a detailed explanation regarding how the
rent or property taxes were paid. For example, a customer has no income, but they are paying for rent out of their savings or a
customer has no income, but their bills were paid by a family member.

DOCUMENTS REQUIRED FOR A REBATE DUE A DECEDENT

If completing an application for a rebate due a decedent, please remit a copy of the death certificate along with the DEX-41, Application
for Property Tax/Rent Rebate Due the Decedent. In addition, the application must include an annualized income amount in the
calculation of total household income. See Schedule G, specifically the instructions for Line 11g, for more information on the
calculation of annualized income to be included.

DEX-41, APPLICATION FOR PROPERTY TAX/RENT REBATE DUE THE DECEDENT

This form is used when either:

e Anapplicant dies and there is no will, the will has not — e
been registered or probated or there is no estate. In gngéig}ﬂmms REB:EEEE&i%%%E;ENT
this case, a personal representative may file an “’;"::;:";I‘;F’:;“m" |
application on behalf of an eligible decedent. Narme of Deceder Date ofDeaih Decedends Socia Securty Nuntet
e An applicant dies after filing an application and there mumm Sl l
is no will, or if the will has not been registered or Shest Adires
probated, or there is no estate, then a personal oy r-,!, lz.p..-.u,:,
representative can also request that the department g tm sppicaton o= (smoct oty e vl
change the rebate to be issued into his/her name. In 1. [ The surviving spouse. (Atiach 8 copy of e decedents deaih cetficaie.)
situations where the rebate check has been received 2 [BB] e personel represertate ot decedent esse. (tch a cogy of # e cstlctnor caut arershrdng yor appolsrent |
but cannot be cashed, the check must be returned L e sttt s 8 eceoed sy of vt vt v e ey doecy e rrl g hot
with a request to have the rebate issued in the name S A S
Of the personal representative. State your rebaticnship o the decedent: . Sign the affidavit below and have your signature notarized )
| secrion i LT
|n bOth Scenarios the dECEdent's personal representative must I:::;:al:if:ii:;::::yhf(Ur::nli:::‘::;f:;:u:?l‘:;dnurlllymmuuinhrmmion provided on this claim has been examined by me and is,
submit a copy of the decedent’s death certificate, this form, e Commonueath of Panasyhanis, 1 o R et 35 resul o i i il b clsbursed accoring fo the s of
and a receipted copy of the decedent’s funeral bill showing PLEASE SIGH AFTER PRINTING

(SIGNATURE OF PERSON FILING THIS CLAIM)

that the personal representative personally paid the
decedent’s funeral expenses in an amount that is greater than
or equal to the amount of the property tax/rent rebate to

. . . PLEASE SIGN AFTER PRINTING
which the decedent is entitled. (SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC)

[scoron v XN

Subscribad and swom befare me this day of 20
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APPLYING AS A RENTER (RENT REBATE)

An applicant may claim a rent rebate only if they pay rent to a property owner for a dwelling that they rent for use as a home. This
dwelling must be a self-contained unit. A self-contained dwelling is a rental unit that has a separate bedroom, kitchen, and bath, but
it may also be a single room or set of rooms within a private home, hotel, or other dwelling.

In order to verify rent paid, the renter must submit a fully completed PA-1000 RC, Rent Certificate, filled out by the landlord, for each
place they rented during the year. The landlord or their authorized agent should complete Lines 1 through 8 and sign the PA Rent
Certificate.

e If they cannot get their landlord to sign the form, a completed PA Rent Certificate along with the notarized Occupancy
Affidavit must be included.

e They can also submit a completed PA Rent Certificate along with copies of their rent receipt(s) for each period in which they
paid the rent. However, the receipts must include the landlord or agent’s signature, the full amount of rent paid, the
applicant’s name, and the complete address of the rental property.

For more information on completing this form, please see the PA-1000 RC in the Preparing the Application section.

IMPORTANT: If the landlord is a tax-exempt entity and is not required to pay property taxes on the rental property, the renter does
not qualify for a rent rebate unless the entity makes payments in lieu of taxes to a local government authority (county, municipality,
school district, fire/police department, etc.) in order to allow their residents to claim rent rebates.

LEASE WITH MULTIPLE TENANTS

If there is more than one tenant listed on the lease agreement other than the spouse or minor child, you must complete the Schedule
F, Multiple Owner or Lessor Prorations.

If the lease shows more than three individuals, make copies of this schedule to include everyone listed.

HOUSING AUTHORITIES

Renters that live in a property owned by a housing authority, must still include a completed PA-1000, Rent Certificate with their
application. If they are unable to obtain a completed Rent Certificate including landlord signature, they can provide a letter or
statement from a housing authority that contains the following information:

e Name and address of the applicant

e Name, address, building name, federal tax identification number and telephone number of the authority

e The amount and date of each payment

e Astatement that the authority was required to pay property taxes or make payments in lieu thereof (PILOT payment); and
e An original signature of the representative of the authority

In addition, this letter or statement, the applicant should include a self-completed Rent Certificate.

IMPORTANT: Applicants that live in Housing Authority properties should use the Apartment Building indicator on the Rent Certificate.
If a rent certificate is not included with the application, it will delay processing, as the department will end up sending a request for a
completed form. Additionally, if the letter from the housing authority isn’t signed, follow the guidance provided in Landlord’s Oath
section.



DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

A .
Lh pennsylvania DOCUMENTS TO INCLUDE

Www.revenue.pa.gov

HOUSING AUTHORITY COMPLIANCE

As part of the department’s review and overall quality
assurance we must verify those housing authorities
completing Rent Certificates for their residents are legally pennsylvania
compliant with the program rules and regulations. This et
requires the department to conduct a review of properties

that are tax exempt to make sure that the required Payment

Page 1611 REV aL0723

in Lieu of Taxes (PILOT) were made. AT i o
ST JOSEPHS AFFORDABLE HOUSING LP CO
1218 GREEN ST FEIN BT}
. . . Bt PHILADELPHIA PA 19123-3217
As part of this review program there could be some applicants HILADELPHIA A 1o1z352 Housing D —_—
Period Ending 102612022

that are denied a rebate, due to their housing authority not
responding to the department’s request for information. If
this happens the housing authority needs to contact the

Property Tax/Rent Rebate Status Denial Notice

The Pennsylvania Department of Revenue has conducted an exempt property review of your organization

Why you are receiving this notice Your tax exempt facility failed to remit payment in lieu of taxes for
: H If you have any questions regarding this 2022, As a result, the residents of your facility no longer qualify for
department as directed on the notice(s) that requested the %, Dl ot Rach 1 oGt Wiii: T ROty THbieionk Ftocs ciratn e Bim 1ok GFEbe 0 Tmonl ik
inf . h . f denial the information provided rebates from the department.
information or the notice o enial. Property Tax/Rent Rebate Division Payment in lieu of taxes are mandated by Section 401.51, Title 61, of the
ra-rvbitptrrtxstati@pa. gov PA Code. Residents of a facility which fails to remit payment in lieu of

taxes are not eligible to claim a rebate from the depariment.

What you need to do Please inform the residents of your facility of their inability to receive a
rebate. Any rebate claims submitted to the department will be denied

If you wish to regain eligibility of your residents to claim rent rebates,
please contact the department using the information provided

PERSONAL CARE HOME

If the applicant lives in one of the domiciles categories listed below or similar domicile, a copy of the contract agreement must be
submitted with the application.

e Assisted Living facility e  Foster Care facility
e Boarding Home e Nursing Home
e  Domiciliary Care facility e Personal Care Home

When completing the Rent Certificate, you should select the rental unit type closest to the applicant’s situation. If a completed Rent
Certificate is not included with the application, it will delay processing, as the department will send a request for a completed form.

MONTHLY CHARGES OTHER THAN RENT
Only the amounts attributable to rent may be considered. If there is a monthly charge that includes items other than rent, such as
board, meals, personal cleaning services, nursing care, medications, etc., the amount applicable for rent must be obtained from the
landlord.

SUBSIDIES
If an applicant receives any rent subsidies provided by or through a government agency, the amount of such subsidy must be claimed
on Line #5 of the Rent Certificate and deducted from the total rent paid.

YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL LINES. IF NONE, ENTER “0”. Dollars Cents

4, What was the amount of rent per month? (Include only the amount charged for rental.
Do not include security deposits or amounts paid for food, medicine, medical care
or personal care.) If your rental amounts changed during the year, please explain in the

space provided. .. ... 4. °
5. How much of the monthly rental amount was paid or subsidized

by a governmental agency? . . ... . 5. .
6. Total monthly amount of rent paid. (Subtract Line 5 fromLine4.) .............. 6. .

7. Number of months unit was occupied by the claimant in 2023.
(If less than 12 months, please explain in the space provided.) .. ................ 7.

8. What was the total rent paid in 2023 by the claimant?

(Multiply Line 6 by Line 7.) Enter the amount here and on Line 16 of the claim form
or the appropriate line(s) of Schedules D, EorF. ... ... .. ... ... ... .. .... 8.

11
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SPOUSE LIVES IN AN ASSISTED LIVING, PERSONAL CARE OR NURSING HOME
In situations where the applicant and the spouse live apart in different domiciles (i.e., private residence and a nursing home) for the
entire year due to personal care needs, they may both qualify for a rebate. After reviewing their separate qualification under the
program’s eligibility guidelines, if they each qualify. You will need to complete separate PA-1000 applications for each. Do not include
their Social Security Number on each other applications as it will result in delayed processing of both and most likely in one of them
being denied a rebate. (Reminder only amounts attributable to rent may be considered. See Monthly Charges Other Than Rent
section.)

BOARDING HOMES
A boarding home provides accommodation for a fee. Usually, a resident only has a right to occupy a room and share other facilities
such as a kitchen and bathroom. Although the applicant does not have a “Self-Contained Unit” they still qualify for the program. When
they file, they must provide a copy of the contract agreement with the application.

RENTING A ROOM IN A PRIVATE HOME OR OTHER DOMOCILE

A rental unit may be a self-contained dwelling that is a separate bedroom, kitchen, and bath, but it may also be a single room or set
of rooms within a private home, hotel or other dwelling. A room in a private home may qualify as a homestead (a self-contained
dwelling the applicant rents for use as a home) if a landlord-tenant relationship exists. Such a relationship exists when a landlord (the
lessor) provides the applicant (the lessee) with a lease for a self-contained dwelling within the property owner’s residence. As
mentioned, this usually means a separate kitchen, bath, and bedroom. The homeowner must maintain a lease agreement, have
separate utility bills, have other evidence of a self-contained dwelling, and report the rental income on their federal and state income
tax return. The applicant is responsible to prove that a landlord tenant relationship exists.

NOTE: An applicant renting a room in a house that is not considered a self-contained does not qualify for this program.

When completing the Rent Certificate, select either Apartment in a House or the Private Home indicator. In this situation, you should
also include a copy of the lease. If a completed Rent Certificate is not included with the application, it will delay processing, as the
department will end up sending a request for a completed form.
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APPLYING AS AN OWNER/RENTER

An applicant may qualify as an Owner/Renter if:

1. The applicant owned, occupied, and paid taxes for part of the year and was a renter for the other part of the year (PA-1000
Schedule A must be completed)

2. The applicant owned, occupied, and paid taxes on a home and paid rent for the land upon which the home is situation (such
as, but not limited to, a mobile home in a mobile home park or a home on which land rent is paid); or

3. The applicant paid rent for the home they occupied and paid property taxes on the land upon which it stood (such as, but not
limited to, a mobile home).

APPLICANT LIVES IN A MOBILE HOME PARK

Individuals that live in a mobile home or trailer can qualify to file as both an Owner and a Renter depending on their situation.

EXAMPLE: John pays property taxes on a mobile home that he owns and occupies. His mobile home is on land that he leases. John
may claim a property tax rebate on the mobile home and a rent rebate on the land.

APPLICANT SELLS HOME AND STARTS TO RENT

Individuals that move from their home to an apartment (or vice-versa) qualify to file as both an Owner and a Renter depending on
their situation.

EXAMPLE: Jane pays property taxes on her home that she owns and occupies for January through April. She moves into an apartment
in May and lives there for the remaining part of the year.

HOW TO COMPLETE THE APPLICATION
Applicants who fall under the scenario mentioned above, should fill in the oval next to (B)
Owner/Renter when completing the Section Il of the PA-1000. This oval is used for applicants
who owned and occupied their residence for part of application year, and also rented and
occupied another residence for the rest of application year, or if they owned their residence
and rented the land where their residence is located.

Fill in only one oval in each
section.

1. 1 am filing for a rebate as a:

P. Property Owner — See
instructions

R. Renter — See instructions

CAUTION: As an owner/renter, do not select categories P or R. As this may reduce their rebate

amount. B. _Owner.'Renter — See

[l J . [l

It is important to calculate the property tax rebate separately from the rent rebate. Complete

Lines 14 and 15 to calculate the property tax rebate and complete Lines 16 through 18 to

calculate the rent rebate. myPATH will automatically calculate these figures when you file the application electronically.

Line #14: Include the total property tax amount paid. Proof of taxes paid must be submitted with the application. Then complete
Line #15 as instructed.

Line #16: Include the total amount of rent paid. A completed Rent Certificate must be included with the application. Then
complete Lines #17 and #18 as instructed.

Line #19: To determine the amount for Line 19, start with the amount of total income reported on Line 23. In Table A, find the
income range that includes the Line 23 amount and circle the corresponding maximum standard rebate amount.
Compare the maximum standard rebate amount to the sum of Lines 15 and 18 and enter the lesser amount on Line 19.
The maximum standard rebate cannot exceed $1,000.

NOTE: An Owner/Renter must include proof of taxes paid and a completed rent certificate in order to avoid processing delays. See
the section on Documents to Include for more information.

13
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APPLYING AS AN OWNER (PROPERTY TAX REBATE)

All property owners, with the exception of residents of Philadelphia, must submit proof that property taxes were paid for the
application year. In order to verify taxes were paid, proof of one of the following must be submitted:

e Copies of the tax bill(s) for the application year, that have been marked or stamped “PAID” by the tax collector, indicating the
date and amount paid; (This is the best form of documentation that a 3rd party has verifying the payment.)

e Copies of the un-receipted tax bill(s), along with a copy of both the front and back of the cancelled check(s) that paid the tax,

e A copy of the year-end mortgage statement showing the amount of real estate taxes paid escrow; or

e Asigned letter from the tax collector certifying the payment of real estate taxes during the application year; or

e Areceipted copy of the tax bill from an owner’s association or corporation, for residents in a cooperative housing corporation
or condominium.

e If the tax bill is not the same as the applicant’s address on the PA-1000 application, a written explanation must be submitted
explaining why the address is different. This may take the form of a letter from the tax collector verifying the applicant’s
home address.

ELIGIBLE REAL ESTATE TAX BILLS TAXES/CHARGES THAT ARE NOT ELIGIBLE

e County If your tax bills contain any of these charges, you must deduct
e School district them when completing Line 14:
e City

e Flat rate charges

e Footage charges

e Personal property tax

e  Per capita tax

e  Occupational privilege tax

e Sewerrent

e  Garbage collection charges

e Municipal assessments such as, or including, road,
institution, street, library, light, water, fire, debt, and
sinking fund taxes

e Interest or penalty payments

e Borough
e Township

TAX BILLS WITH DIFFERENT NAME

If tax bills do not reflect the names of the applicant(s), proof of ownership must be submitted along with the Schedule F. Examples of
documents acceptable as proof are:

e A copy of the deed or life estate;
e A copy of the trust agreement; or
e A copy of the will or decree of distribution, if inherited.

If the name listed is that of a spouse and the name of the spouse or deceased spouse is shown on the application, a death certificate
should be submitted.

NOTE: The term Et Vir (and husband) and Et Ux (and wife) indicate joint ownership. However, if the term Et Al or Et Alia (and others)
appear, the additional owners must be identified.

e A rebate may not be claimed on more than one property, except for the sale of one primary residence and the subsequent
purchase of another primary residence.

e Arebate may not be claimed on property not used for primary personal residential use, unless the second property is adjoining
and not separated by a road, lane, etc. and is used in connection with the residence.

e If the property is used for other than the applicant’s personal use, PA-1000 Schedule E must be submitted.
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PHILADELPHIA RESIDENTS

The City of Philadelphia provides the department with electronic records of all receipted property tax bills for Philadelphia that were
paid for the application period. If you live in the City of Philadelphia and paid your property taxes do not include a copy of your
receipted property tax bills. If you live in Philadelphia and paid your property taxes after January 1st of the current year, please submit
proof of payment as outlined in the preceding information.

IMPORTANT: If the tax bill does not reflect the applicant’s address on the form, an explanation must be submitted. This may take the
form of a letter from the tax collector verifying the applicant’s home address. If the applicant moved, PA-1000 Schedule A may need
to be completed.

NOTE: You or the person who prepares your application will need to know the amount of tax you paid in order to correctly calculate
your rebate. If you do not have a copy of your original tax bill or a copy of your tax payment, you or your preparer will need to estimate
the amount of taxes you paid. If the tax amount you provide is not correct, the department will adjust the amount of your rebate
based upon the paid taxes reported to the department by the City of Philadelphia.

DIFFERENT ADDRESS ON TAX BILL APPLICANT MOVED DURING YEAR

If the Philadelphia tax bill is not the same as the applicant’s
address on the PA-1000 application, a written explanation
must be submitted explaining why the address is different.

If the applicant moved during the year, PA-1000 Schedule A
may need to be completed. Please make sure to use more
than one form if needed.

This may take the form of a letter from the tax collector
verifying the applicant’s home address.

DIFFERENT NAME ON TAX BILL

If tax bills do not reflect the names of the applicant(s), proof of
ownership must be submitted along with the Schedule F.
Examples of documents acceptable as proof are:

e A copy of the deed or life estate,

e A copy of the trust agreement; or

e A copy of the will or decree of distribution, if
inherited.

If the name listed is that of a spouse, and the name of the
spouse or deceased spouse is shown on the application, a
death certificate should be submitted.

NOTE: The term Et Vir (and husband) and Et Ux (and wife)
indicate joint ownership. However, if the term Et Al or Et Alia
(and others) appear, the additional owners must be identified.
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BEFORE GETTING STARTED

When attempting to apply for a Property Tax/Rent Rebate, it is very important that your constituent have the appropriate
documentation available before getting started. This documentation will need to be included with the application regardless of which
method is used to file. Necessary documents to be include will depend on the type of filer or rebate type that was discussed in the
Eligibility section.

Common required documents include:

e  Proof of age e Completed Rent Certificate

e Proof of disability e Copies of a will, deed, decree of distribution or trust
e  Proof of death agreement proving property ownership

e Proof ofincome e DEX-41

e  Proof of taxes paid

FIRST TIME FILER

If your constituent has never filed a PTRR application in the past, there are several educational resources that you can provide to them.
You can find links to these resources in the Resources section or by visiting the Office of Legislative Affairs webpage at
www.revenue.pa.gov/GetAssistance/LegislativeAffairs.

We recommend that you print the REV-573 and the Proof Document Checklist to provide to your constituents. These documents
provide a two-page summary of the program outlining basic eligibility information and guidance on the documentation needed. Proof
documentation that must be included for first time filers are proof of age, proof of widow/widower (age in addition to death
certificate), and proof of disability. As a reminder, do not send original documents to the department as they will not be returned.

REPEAT FILER

If your constituent has filed a PTRR application in a previous year, there are a few things to keep in mind:
e The applicant doesn’t need to submit proof of age or disability however, they need to provide proof of income reported and
taxes or rent paid.
e Additionally, applicants who filed paper rebate applications the previous year should automatically receive a PA-1000 booklet
in the mail which includes a preprinted mailing label.

PREPRINTED LABEL
While we encourage you to file this year’s application electronically (See Electronic Filing section), it is important that you use the
preprinted label included in your constituent’s PA-1000 booklet if you decide to remit a paper application. This preprinted label will
help to expedite the processing because it is easy for our equipment to scan and will guarantee there are no keying errors.

IMPORTANT: When using the address label, please ensure that all information is correct. If anything is incorrect, do not use the label.
You will still need to enter the Social Security number on the application as the Department of Revenue removed those numbers from
the label due for confidentiality purposes.

NOTE: If the applicant has a label that includes a spouse who passed away during the application year, do not use the label. Unless
the spouse passed away after Dec. 31. However, it is recommended that a widow or widower of a deceased applicant who qualifies
for a rebate complete an application for themselves if they meet eligibility rules of the program.

To aid in processing the rebate properly, be sure to provide an applicant’s school district and county codes, which indicate where
he/she resided as of December 31° of the application year. School district and county codes are listed on Pages 22 through 24. The
codes are also available online at www.revenue.pa.gov/schools.
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WAYS TO FILE

ELECTRONIC FILING

Pennsylvania Department of Revenue offers a free electronic filing option for the :

Property Tax/Rent Rebate Program. This is a non-logged in function, which means
you do not have to create a myPATH username or password to apply. You can easily

submit the application on behalf of your constituents by visiting myPATH.pa.gov
and locating the Rebates tile.

Rebates

From there, click the link to Apply for a Property Tax/Rent Rebate. The system will
ask for an email address. This email will be used to send the confirmation. You may View my rebate status or apply for a rebate
enter your email address to complete the application.

&~

. ) ) > Apply for a Property Tax/Rent Rebate for 2022
As mentioned above, ensure that you have all the supporting documentation

required. The application cannot be saved for completion at a later time and the
system will time out after 15 minutes of inactivity.

> Where's My Rebate?

Accepted file types include pdf, jpeg, jpg, png, gif, tiff, and rtf. If your attachments are not able to be electronically uploaded with your
application, you will have to file a paper application.

Using our electronic filing option offers many benefits for you and your constituent, including:

LEGISLATIVE OFFICE BENEFITS

e When you file your constituent’s application electronically you will receive a printable confirmation screen and email containing
the customer’s name, filing period, confirmation code, submission date and requested rebated amount. You can easily save a
copy of the confirmation in your files. This will be useful when communicating on their behalf with the department.

e You can scan and upload their supporting documentation, so you know it was sent.

e You can check on the status within 48 hours.

e You can also delete the submission the day you submitted it via myPATH.

e  You can print a copy of the PTRR application, if desired

CONSTITUENT BENEFITS
e  Faster processing
e Error-reducing automatic calculators (Unlike the paper version of the PA-1000, do not cut Social Security Income or Railroad
Retirement Tier 1 benefits in half. The system will reduce the income for you.)
e  Easy direct deposit options
e  Security features to ensure your sensitive information is safe
e Immediate confirmation of receipt (no missing the deadline)

PAPER FILING

If you or your constituent are unable to remit the application online via myPATH. You may complete the paper PA-1000, Property Tax
Rent Rebate Claim Form. Please keep in mind that any person who filed in the past and was approved, will receive a PTRR booklet in
the mail from the Department of Revenue (See Repeat Filer for more information).

If your constituent does not have a copy of the PTRR Booklet, please use the forms on our website at revenue.pa.gov. These forms are
in a fillable PDF format that are easy for our equipment to scan, which will help to avoid delays in processing.
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COMPLETING THE APPLICATION
GENERAL REMINDERS
The first set of questions are designed to gather information about the applicant to help determine what categories and rebate type

that they qualify under. This varies slightly between the paper form and electronic application. myPATH will ask for the constituent’s
demographics at a later point as it starts out by ensuring they meet the eligibility requirements before moving forward.

If completing a paper application, be sure to fill in the Social Security Number and enter the county and school district codes even
when using the preprinted label. If this information is not included, the application may suspend.

In addition, you should include the applicant’s phone number when completing the application. The department will make automated
phone calls to advise when applications are received and again when they are approved for payment.

SIGNING AS THE PREPARER

We encourage every legislative employee to answer Yes to the question “Is this claim being filed by a preparer?”. At the end of the
application, you will be asked to sign the district office number as the name of the preparer and your office phone number. This will
allow the department to interact with you without the need for a Waiver of Confidentially Provision.

CLAIMANT OATH: | declare that this claim is true, correct and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief, and this is the only claim filled by members of my household. |
authorize the PA Department of Revenue access to my federal and state Personal Income Tax records, my PACE records, my Social Security Administration records and/or my
Department of Human Services records. This access is for verifying the truth, correctness and completeness of the information reported in this claim.

PREPARER: | declare that | prepared this return, and that it is to the best of my knowledge

and belief, true, correct and complete

(717) 534-1323
SUPPORTING SCHEDULES
ORDER OF COMPLETION
Whether you are completing an application electronically through myPATH or by PA-1000 Lines 1 — 11f
paper, there are additional schedules that may need to be completed based on how 7
the questions are answered. myPATH is very intuitive and will automatically ask Schedule G
follow-up questions to ensure the schedules are completed, whereas paper
applicants will need to be sure they know which forms to include. PA-1000 Linillg, 12 & 23
IMPORTANT: If you must complete more than one schedule, ensure that you Rent Certificate
complete them in alphabetical order. If one schedule does not apply to you, skip it, v
and move onto the next schedule. If the applicant is a renter, you must carry forward, Schedule A
as the total rent paid, the last amount shown on the previous schedule when you
move on to the next schedule. Lastly, you will report the amount shown on the last Schedule B
schedule that applies to you on Line 16 of the PA-1000 application. v
Schedule D
If you were required to complete Schedules B, D, E, or F, enter the lesser amount of 7

the total rent paid in the application year or the amount shown as eligible rents paid, Schedule E
on the last schedule completed.
Schedule F
v

PA-1000 Lines 12 - 19

PA-1000 Lines 20 - 22
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PREPARING THE APPLICATION

SCHEDULE A, DECEASED CLAIMANT AN MULTIPLE HOME PRORATIONS

myPATH has two questions which will prompt you to

complete Schedule A:

e  “Hasthe claimant owned and lived in more than one
home this year?”

e “Is the claimant filing on behalf of a decedent?”

Schedule A is to be used only by a property owner who
did not own and occupy a single residence for the entire
year or for an owner that died during the application year
and an application is being filed on behalf of the deceased
property owner.

Schedule A is required when an applicant:

I PA SCHEDULE A 2205410059

Deceased Claimant andior
Multiple Home Prorations

Powunina i D022

PET—————

OFFICIAL LISE ONLY

Sodal Securlty Mumber

You may make photocopies of this form a3 needed.

If you ewned, paid the property taxes on and resded in a Pennaylvania localed home during 2022, then sold that residence and baught
anofer Pannsylvania lacated home, paid the propary taxes an and resided in that home far the remsinder of the year, fill in the sproarate
dales for sach residence. Complete Sie address and socupancy dabes slang with Lines 1 thraugh 5 far each home in the applcable calurng
If i awed, i the property tixss on and nesided in & Penrsyhania locsted hame during 2022, then sold the propary and moved inlo &
rertal property and paid rent or if you lived in a rental properiy and paid rent, fen boughi a Pennsylvania locaied home, paid the propesty
taxes and resided in that home for the remainder of the year, complele the address and cosupancy dales and complete the infarmation far
the: First Home colurmn on Lines 1 through 5 far the portion of the year that you owned your hame. You should alsa complete a PA Rent
Cerfificate for the portion of the year that you renfed 3 Pennsylvania locasted rental propery. NOTE: If yau resided part of the year in a home
Iocated oubside PA, do not claim the property o paid for that period. Erter 2ero in the appropriate ealumn on Line 1

Additionally, if a deceased individual cwned, paid propery faxes on and resided in 3 Pennsybvaria located home during 2022 and died during
the ciaim year, complede the address and cccupancy dabes and complete the: information for the First Home column for Lines 1 Sirough 5. IF
the deceased previously cwned another Pennsyhiaria localed hame before owning the Pennsylvania localed home he or she was living in
preceding death, comglets ihe addess and oocupancy dates along with Lines 1 through 5 for both columns of the fom. If the decesssd
resided part of @ year outside PR, do not claim the property tax paid for St period. Erfer zero in the appropriate column on Line 1. 1f e

daceased paid property taxes and resided in a Pennsyivania located home during 2022, fien sald the property, moved into a rental property
and paid ret; of if the deceased lived in & rental prapeity and paid rent, then baught a Pennsyhvaria |ocaled home, paid the property Bxes
and resided in thal hame for the remainder of his of her e, complete the address and occupancy dales and complele the infarmation for he
First Home eolumn for Lines 1 through & for the portion of the year that the deceased owned the home. The surviving use, estaie ar
personal represeniadive ciaiming the rebaie on behall of the deceased should alsa complete a PA Rent Cerilicaie Tor the pordion of the year
the deceased rented a Pennsybvania located rertal property

e Owned and occupied a residence during the
application year and sold the residence and
bought another residence in which they resided
for the remainder of the application year;

e Owned and occupied a residence, sold the
residence and then moved into a rental or other
unit which they do not own; e —

e Moved from a rental or other unit into a - : | . Mot ber Rz
residence which they owned and occupied; R cupied i b b

oocupied this home from
(Dt mcnwed irvbo Siis horme)

Total baxes paid on Line 1 for ®ie First Home Colurmn indudes the amounl of propey Bxes paid by the daimant dirsclly of an the daimant's
behall fom an esciow account for & dsimant thal awned the firsl home &5 of Jan. 1 of the daim year, For firsél homes purchased during e
claim year, inchude the amourt of property taxes paid by the daimant directly or on the daimani's behall from an escrow account and the: total
property taxes, before any pro-raia allocation of the peoperty taxes, from a HUD-1 Closing Stalement fom the purchase of the property. Total
taxgs paid on Line 1 for the Sscond Home Column includes the amount of propesty taxes paid by the ciaimant direcly of on the daimants
bshalf from an eserow account and e iotal propery taves, befere ary pro-rata slocation of the preperty taxes, from 3 HUD-1 Clasing
Statement from e purchase of the property.

Street acrness (Firss Home)

Gty or Post Ofice. Staie ZIP Coce

e Or died during the application year and any of Morin__Dey__pz2 v
th "
the previous situations applied. ey T— F———
NOTE' |f the taxpayer owned and occupied more than 1. Total property taxes paid on each home. See above instructions. 1 5
one home as hiS/her principal residence, prOOf of the 2. Mumber of days you or the deceased owned and occupied each home
. . 3. Percentage of the year that you or the deceased owned and occupied
taxes pald on each home must be Submltted. each home. Divide Line 2 by the number of days in the claim year
{385 or 366). Round 1o two decimal places.
If only one owned property is involved, the full address of 4- Multiply Line 1 by Line 3. 5 15 ]
the residence along with the dates the property was | | [ U UV IN I | |
deceased must complete.

owned and occupied by the applicant, or the deceased
should be entered in the top area provided on the
schedule.

If the applicant or deceased sold and bought another residence that was owned and occupied, the address of the most recent home
should be entered under the previously owned home along with the dates this property was owned and occupied. This most recently
bought home will most likely correspond to the address on the front of the application.

If the applicant or deceased owned and occupied a principal residence for part of the year and rented for the other portion in a
qualifying rental unit, the applicant or deceased is an owner and a renter and should fill in the appropriate oval in Section II.

Line 1: Enter the total amount of property taxes for the entire year for the home owned and occupied in the column titled “First
Home”. Use the second column titled “Second Home” only if the applicant purchased and occupied a second home after
selling the first one.

Often the amount of taxes paid will appear on the settlement sheet(s) and may be used as proof of payment.

Total taxes paid for the First Home Column includes the amount of property taxes paid by the applicant directly or on the
applicant’s behalf from an escrow account for an applicant that owned the first home as of Jan. 1 of the application year. For
first homes purchased during the application year, include the amount of property taxes paid by the applicant directly or on
the applicant’s behalf from an escrow account and the total property taxes, before any pro-rata allocation of the property
taxes, from a HUD-1 Closing Statement from the purchase of the property.
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Total taxes paid for the Second Home Column includes the amount of property taxes paid by the applicant directly or on the
applicant’s behalf from an es crow account and the total property taxes, before any pro-rata allocation of the property taxes,
from a HUD- 1 Closing Statement from the purchase of the property.

Line 2: Enter the number of days the applicant or the deceased owned and occupied the residence(s).

Line 3: Enter the percentage of the year the applicant or the deceased owned and occupied each home by dividing the amount on
Line 2 by the number of days in the application year (365 or 366). Round the percent- age to two decimal places.

Line 4: Multiply the total amount of taxes paid on Line 1 of this schedule by the percentage factor on Line 3. This represents the
taxes owed and paid for the time the applicant or deceased owned and occupied the residence.

Line 5: Add together all the amounts from Line 4 of this schedule to determine the total amount of real estate property tax the
applicant owed and paid on all properties for the year. If the applicant only owned one property for part of the year this
would be the same figure as entered in Line 4. This figure is entered on Line 14 of the PA-1000 or if another schedule applies,
in Line 1 of the next schedule.

SCHEDULE B, WIDOW OR WIDOWER PRORATIONS

This schedule is to be filed by property owners and renters who were widows or widowers who remarried during the application year,
are filing as a widow or widower age 50 to 64 and filled in Oval C in Section Il, Number 2 on the front of the PA-1000. The date the
applicant remarried must be indicated.

Widow/Widower SCHEDULE B. If you were a widow or widower age 50 to 64 during 2022, and you remarried, use this
schedule to determine the percentage of the year for which you qualify for a Property Tax or Rent Rebate.

Date you remarried: Month | Day /2022

1. Total property tax or rent that you paid in 2022. If you were an owner and
completed Schedule A, enter the amount from Line 5. If you were a renter,
enter the amount from Line 8 of Schedule RC. .. ... ... ... ... ....... 1. §

2. Number of days you were a widow or widower during 2022 ............ 2.

3. Percentage of the year you were a widow or widower. Divide Line 2 by
the number of days in the claim year (365 or 366).

Round to two decimal places. . ........ . . .. ... 3. ]

4. Eligible property taxes or rent paid. Multiply Line 1 by Line 3. Enter this amount
on the next schedule you must complete or ...... ... .. ... ... . ...... 4. % ]

a) If an owner, enter the amount on Line 14 of your claim form.
b) If a renter, enter the amount on Line 16 of your claim form.

Line 1: Enter the amount of property tax and/or rent paid during the application year. If the applicant is a property owner and was
required to complete PA-1000 Schedule A, the amount from Line 5 of that schedule should be used.

Line 2: Enter the number of days the applicant was a widow or widower during the application year.

Line 3: Enter the percentage of the year the applicant was a widow or widower by dividing the amount on Line 2 by the number of
days in the application year (365 or 366). Round the percentage to two decimal places.

Line 4: Multiply the eligible amount of property taxes or rent paid from Line 1 by the percentage factor on Line 3. This represents
the property taxes or rent owed during the time the applicant was a widow or widower. If the applicant is a property owner
and PA-1000 Schedules E and/or F do not apply, enter this figure on Line 14 of the PA-1000 application form. If filing as a
renter and PA-1000 Schedules D, E and/or F do not apply, enter this figure on Line 16 of the PA-1000 application. In either
case, if one of the succeeding schedules does apply, the amount should be placed on the appropriate line of that schedule.
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SCHEDULE D, PUBLIC ASSISTANCE PRORATIONS

If filing as a renter, myPATH will ask the question, “Has the claimant received cash public assistance?” If the applicant received cash
public assistance during the year, they should answer yes to this question. This will populate Schedule D, which allows you calculate
how much rent can be claimed by the applicant.

This schedule is to be used only by renters who personally received cash public assistance during the application year. If the applicant
received cash public assistance for the entire year, they are not eligible to receive the rent rebate and should not file a PA-1000
application form, unless they also qualified as a property owner. Do not include SSI, food stamps, or other such noncash relief supplied
by a government agency when accounting for cash public assistance.

If one spouse receives cash public assistance it may not disqualify the other spouse, however cash public assistance received by the
non-applicant spouse must be included in eligibility income on Line 11d of the PA-1000 if both spouses are living together. Cash public
assistance received by the applicant must also be included on Line 11d of the PA-1000.

Note: If a customer received cash public assistance during the application year, they should also include the Compass Letter issued by
DHS.

Renter SCHEDULE D. Renters who received cash public assistance are not eligible for rebates for those months when they
received that assistance. If you received cash public assistance during any part of 2022, use this schedule to determine the
amount of rent for which you qualify for a rebate. IMPORTANT: If you received cash public assistance for all of 2022, you
may not claim a rebate.

1. Total number of months during which you received cash public assistance: ‘1. ‘

NOTE: If you received cash public assistance for a full year, you may not claim a rebate.

2. Total rent that you paid in 2022 from Line 8 of Schedule RC, or if you
completed Schedule B, enter the result from Line 4 of Schedule B. . ..... ‘2. $ ‘

3. Total rent you paid during the months that you received
cash public assistance. . ... ... ... . . ‘3. $ ‘

4. Eligible rent paid. Subtract Line 3 from Line 2. Enter this amount on the
next schedule you must complete, or on Line 16 of your claim form. ... |4. § 7

Line 1: Enter the number of months which the applicant received cash public assistance.

Line 2: Enter the total rent paid during the year, unless PA-1000 Schedule B has been completed. In this case, enter the amount from
Line 4 of that schedule.

Line 3: Total rent you paid during the months that you received cash public assistance.

Line 4: Subtract the amount entered on Line 3 from the amount entered on Line 2 and enter thisamount on Line 16 of the PA-1000
application, unless PA-1000 Schedule E or F applies, in which case this figure will be entered on Line 1 of either of those
schedules.
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SCHEDULE E, BUSINESS USE PRORATIONS

myPATH will ask the question, “Has the claimant used their home for purposes other than their personal residence?” If the applicant
rented or used a portion of their home for business purposes, you should answer yes to this question. This will populate the Schedule
E, which allows you to determine what portion of the home was used as a personal residence. This figure will be used to determine
the amount of rent or taxes that can be claimed.

This schedule is filed by property owners and renters who used a portion of the homestead for purposes other than their personal
residence, i.e. as a rental property or for business purposes. If a portion of the residence was used as a rental property, the applicant
must also include a PA-40 Schedule E or Part 1 of the federal Schedule E. A rental property would include not only the rental of an
apartment, but any room (such as a boarding house), storage area and/or garage. If a portion of the residence was used for business
purposes, the applicant must include a PA-40 Schedule C, PA-40 Schedule C-EZ, PA-40 Schedule C-F Reconciliation, PA-40 Schedule F,
federal Schedule C, federal Schedule C-EZ, federal Schedule F, etc.

In addition, if the property exceeds 75 acres, the burden of proof is upon the applicant to prove the additional land is necessary for
their (and their spouse’s) personal use and is to be prorated unless this can be substantiated.

Owner/Renter SCHEDULE E. You must complete this schedule if you also used part of your homestead for a purpose other
than your personal residence.

* If you operated a business in part of your home, you must submit a 1040 Schedule C or PA-40 Schedule C.
« If you rented part of your home to others, you must submit a 1040 Schedule E or PA-40 Schedule E.

1. Total property taxes or rent paid on your residence in 2022. Enter the
amount of your total property taxes paid or total rent paid from Line 8 of
Schedule RC, or, if you completed Schedule A, B or D, enter the result

from that schedule. . ... .. ... . . . . . e 1. J

2. Enter the percentage of your home that you used as your residence
fromthe chartbelow. .......... . . ... .. .. . . ... ‘2. . or % ‘

3. Eligible property taxes or rent paid. Multiply Line 1 by Line 2.
Enter this amount on the next schedule you must completeor. .......... ‘3. $ ‘

a) If an owner, enter the amount on Line 14 of your claim form
b) If a renter, enter the amount on Line 16 of your claim form

CHART OF PERSONAL | 20% | 25% | 30% | 33% | 40% | 50% | 67% | 75% | 80% | 90% | 9% Other percentage
USE PERCENTAGE 0.20 | 0.25 | 0.30 | 0.33 | 0.40 | 0.50 | 0.67 | 0.75 | 0.80 | 0.90

Line 1: Enter the total amount of property taxes or rent paid on the entire residential property for the application year. If PA-1000
Schedule A, B and/or D were required to be completed, use the eligible property tax or rent from the last schedule.

Line 2: Enter the percentage of the residential property the applicant used for his/her personal living quarters (including those of
other household members) and enter the decimal equivalent.

Line 3: Multiply Line 1 by Line 2 to determine the amount of taxes or rent attributable to the applicant’s personal residence. If this
is being used to determine the eligible property tax, enter this figure on Line 14 of the PA-1000 application form. If this is
being used to determine the eligible rent, enter this figure on Line 16 of the PA-1000 application form. If PA-1000 Schedule
F applies, enter the figure on Line 1 of that schedule.
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SCHEDULE F, MULTIPLE OWNER OR LESSOR PRORATIONS

myPATH will ask the question, “Does the claimant have an additional name on their deed or lease other than their spouse or minor
children?” If answered yes, the applicant will be prompted to complete Schedule F.

This schedule is used by property owners and renters whose deeds or leases reflect names other than those of their spouses and/or
minor children. If the names on the deed and/or lease are a husband and wife’s, the couple may be considered as one unit unless the
deed/lease specifies them as tenants in common.

Only one resident of the property address may claim a rebate, even if more than one of the owners or renters qualifies. The resident
with the lowest income is encouraged to file for a rebate. It is up to the applicant to decide how payment will be distributed, once
made.

Enter the name(s) of other(s) who appear on the deed or lease (other than the spouse of the applicant), the address where they lived,
their age, the relationship to the applicant and their SSN. If there are more than three names on the deed or lease, attach a full listing
of all owners or complete additional Schedules F for this section.

Owner/Renter SCHEDULE F. If your deed or lease shows additional names (other than your spouse or minor children)
during 2022, complete this schedule. You must list all owners and renters. If your deed or lease shows more than three names,
make copies of this schedule or make your own schedule.

Claimant's name Address, if different than claim form Age
Name Address, if different than claim form Age Relationship Social Security No.
Name Address, if different than claim form Age Relationship Social Security No.

1. Total property taxes or rent paid on your residence in 2022. Enter the
amount of your total property taxes paid or total rent paid from Line 8
of Schedule RC, or, if you completed Schedule A, B, D or E, enter the

result from that schedule. . ...... ... .. ... .. . . . ... ... ... 1. § —‘

2. Eligible claimant percentage. Divide the number of owners or renters
that qualify as claimants by the total number of persons listed on the
deed OF [8ASE. .. ... . ‘2_ . or %

3. Eligible property taxes or rent paid. Multiply the amount on Line 1 by the
percentage on Line 2, and enterthe result: ......................... ‘3. $ ‘

a) If an owner, enter the amount on Line 14 of your claim form
b) If a renter, enter the amount on Line 16 of your claim form

Line 1: Enter the total amount of property taxes or rent paid on the residence for the application year. If PA-1000 Schedule(s) A,
B, D and/or E have been completed, use the figure for the last schedule completed.

Line 2: Enter the eligible applicant’s percentage. Generally, this is calculated by dividing the number of owners/renters that qualify
as applicants by the total number of persons listed on the deed or lease. How- ever, if the deed specifies other percentages
of ownership, the percentage is obtained from the deed itself and proof of the amount must be submitted by including a
copy of the deed. A husband and wife are generally considered one entity. If one or more of the persons listed on the deed
has died, proof of how their portion(s) were distributed must be provided. If more than the applicant filing for the rebate
is eligible, proof of eligibility of the other owner(s)/lessee(s) should be submitted. To be eligible, another owner/lessee
must meet the age/disability, residency, and income tests.

Line 3: Multiply the amount of eligible taxes or rents entered on Line 1 of this schedule by the decimal entered on Line 2. This
represents the amount of taxes/rent that is eligible for the rebate. Enter the amount of eligible taxes from this schedule on
Line 14 of the PA-1000 application form; if the amount represents eligible rent, enter the amount on Line 16 of the PA-
1000 application form.
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SCHEDULE G, INCOME ANNUALIZATION

As mentioned under Schedule A, myPATH will ask the question, “Is the claimant filing on behalf of a decedent?” If answered yes, the
applicant will be prompted to complete Schedule G in addition to Schedule A.

This schedule is used for property tax or rent rebate applications filed on behalf of deceased applicants. It calculates the annualized
income amount to be included on Line 11g along with any other income reported for that line. An annualized income amount is
required to be included to determine if the deceased applicant is eligible for a rebate. The annualized income amount is a calculated
estimate of the income the deceased would have earned during the period from the date of his/her death through the end of the
application year.

Owner/Renter SCHEDULE G. Annualized income calculation for owners and renters.

1. Enter the date of death of the claimant: Month / Day /2022

2. Number of days the claimant lived during the claimvyear. .............. |2. ‘

3. Add the positive amounts from Lines 4 through 11f of your claim form plus
any amount for Line 11g before the calculation of the annualized income

amount and enterthe resulthere. . .. ....... ... ... ... . ... ... 3. % ‘
4. Enter the result of dividing the days in the claim year (365 or 366) by

Line 2. Round to two decimal places. .......... ... .. ... ...... ‘4. |
5. Multiply Line 3 imes Line 4. ... .. ..o 5. s |
6. Subtract Line 3 from Line 5 and enter the result here and include in

Line 11g of the claim form. . ... ... .. .. .. . .. . . . ... 6. % }

Line 1: Enter the applicant’s date of death.

Line 2: Enter the number of days the applicant lived during the application year. This date includes the date of death regardless of
how long the deceased lived on that date.

Line 3: Add all the positive amounts on Lines 4 through 11f from the application and then include any amount from Line 11g that
does not include the calculation of the annualized income amount and enter the result.

Line 4: Enter the decimal determined by dividing the number of days in the application year (365 or 366) by the number of days
the applicant lived on Line 3 and rounding the amount to two decimal places.

Line 5: Enter the result of multiplying the total income from Line 3 times the decimal on Line 4.

Line 6: Subtract the amount on Line 3 from the amount on Line 5 and enter the result on this line. Add the result to any other
income amounts from 11g before the calculation of the annualized income amount and enter the total on Line 11g.

If any amounts from Lines 4 through 11f are not earned in equal amounts or approximate equal amounts on a monthly basis, the
applicant should consider using an alternative method for calculating the annualized income amount. A worksheet is required to be
included which provides the calculation method and provides a reason for the deviation from the method used on this schedule. For
example, if a gain on a stock sale were included on Line 8 and all the other income is earned on a pro rata basis, there might be
difference in the rebate amount if an alternative method were used.

In this case, the method would be to subtract the gain from the income as determined for Line 3 of Schedule G (it would not be
subtracted from the amount reported on Line 8, but just for the calculation of the annualized income amount). The result would be
multiplied by the decimal determined by dividing the number of days in the application year by the number of days the applicant lived.
This result would then have the income without the gain subtracted from it to give a more accurate annualized income amount to be
included in Line 11g.
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PA-1000 RC, RENT CERTIFICATE

A renter is required to include the PA-1000 RC, Rent Certificate, when submitting their PTRR application. The department data
captures this form, so it must be completed in its entirety to prevent processing delays. When the form is not fully completed, the
application will suspend for manual review and often the department will need to request additional information.

GENERAL REMINDERS

LINE 1 ADDRESS WHERE THE APPLICANT PAID RENT: If
the address on the front of the application is different

1. Street address of the residence for which the claimant paid rent

. . 1025 Penn S
than the address on the rent certificate your constituent City, State, ZIP Code
should include an explanation regarding why the | __Harrisburg, PA 17102

2. Owner's business name or landlord’'s name (last, first, middle initial) if an individual
John Doe
Landlord's Address

7703 Fairville Road
LINE 2 LANDLORDS ADDRESS: The landlords address City, State, ZIP Code

must be included. If not, it will cause delays in Harrisburg, PA 17112

processing. If the landlords and applicants address are Landlord’s EIN (if applicable) and daytime telephone number
the same a copy of the lease agreement must be __1(717) 772-9209
included with the application.

addresses are different.

3. Rental unit is (fill in the appropriate oval):

LINE 3 INDICATE THE TYPE OF RENTAL UNIT: If a selection is not marked, the Apartment in a House Mobile Home Lot

application will suspend, and the department will be required to request the gpaTen;Bu"dmg ;Jlfrs':gHHome

information. If selecting Domiciliary Care, Boarding Home, or Personal Care Oar_ ng Fome ”V_ae O_m_e
Mobile Home Assisted Living

Home, you must submit a copy of the contract agreement.
Personal Care Home

Building Name:
REPORT MONTHLY FIGURES: If there are not monthly figures reported on lines Domiciliary Care Foster Care
#4 thru #6, the application will suspend for review as it requires manual If Domiciliary or Foster Care or if a Boarding or Personal Care

intervention to process Home, you must submit a copy of your contract agreement.

CORRECT INCORRECT

Dollars Cents Dollars Cents
or rental. or rental. H
e e
nin the 1in the
.4 600.00 .4
....5. 0.00 ....5.
8. 600.00 .6
T 12 T 12
m rm
....8. 7,200.00 ....8. 7,200.00

NOTE: To assist with processing an application in this situation, enter the appropriate amounts on lines that don’t have values entered
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CHANGES IN RENT PAID THROUGHOUT THE YEAR

APPLICANT IS AT THE SAME PROPERTY: When the amount of rent changes at the property during the year, the applicant has two
options for completing lines #4 thru #8 of the schedule.

Dollars Cents | Explanation of item 4.
ental. 600 * 5 = 3000
OPTION 1: Take the entire rent paid for the property during the year e 650 * 7 = 4550
and divide it by the number of months they lived at the property .4 629.17 7550 112 = 629.17
and enter the amount on Line #4. . 0.00
6. 629.17
Explanation of Item 7.
; 12
.8 7,550.04

OPTION 2: Complete separate PA-1000RC form for each period where the rent was the same amount.

Dollars Cents Dollars Cents
Complete one schedule o7 Complete a second  tal
for the first part of the
p e schedule for the e
year. a 600.00 second part of the |4 650.00
year.
In this example that is .. 5. 0.00 5. 0.00
five months. 6 600.00 In this example that .. 650.00
is seven months.
7 5 7 7
.. 8. 3,000.00 8. 4,550.00

NOTE: In this situation we don’t need both schedules to be signed by the landlord. Just
notate on the second schedule to see the first schedule.

APPLICANT MOVES TO A NEW PROPERTY: When an applicant moves during the year, they will need to have a completed PA-1000 RC,
Rent Certificate for each property and each Rent Certificate needs to be signed by the respective landlord.
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LANDLORD’S SIGNATURE
All renters must ensure they are including the PA-1000 RC, signed by the landlord or authorized agent. If an applicant cannot obtain
the landlord’s signature on the PA-1000 RC, they must provide a fully completed PA-1000 RC, filled out by the claimant, along with:
e A completed and notarized Occupancy Affidavit stating the reason the landlord’s signature could not be obtained, or

e Copies of rent receipts or rent ledger(s) signed by the landlord or authorized agent which include the applicant’s name,
address of the rental unit, the amount paid and the period for which the rent was paid. The department will only allow the
rebate based on the amounts provided for periods in which rent receipts are submitted.

IMPORTANT: All figures should be filled in on lines #1 thru #8 of the schedule as well as the rental unit type.

UPLOADING ATTACHMENTS

If completing an electronic application, the next step is to upload the attachments. Based on how you answered the questions, myPATH
will indicate what type of documents are required. Refer to the Documents to Include section to determine acceptable proof
documents based on what is being requested. You will then click add and select the files from your computer:

on {pdfipeq jpg.pna.gittifr

Type Name Description Sizo

Select a file to attach . The system will ask you to select what type of attachment

you are about to upload from the list of required
documents. You will choose the appropriate proof
document and enter a description of the document.

Proof of Age <

Proof of Age

Proof of Age Docs

e Proof of Disability
[Choose File | Letter.pdf Proof of Income Then select “Choose File” and navigate to the file on your
- Proof of Taxes Paid desktop.
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myPATH SUBMISSION DENIAL SCREEN

When you submit an application, you may receive a message indicating that a claim has already been filed under this SSN for the tax

year. The purpose of this messaging is to remind customers that they previously filed. If you receive this alert when filing on behalf of
a constituent, you cannot file the application via myPATH.

2023 Property Tax/Rent Rebate
Application

2023 Property Tax/Rent Rebate Application

? © o @ o @

ite Personal Information Attachments Review Claimant Oath Summary

Cancel < Previous

We recommend taking the following steps. First, determine if your customer already filed for the claim year. If they did, there is no
reason to submit a duplicate application unless you are amending. All amended applications must be filed by paper. Second, If the

customer did not previously file the application, contact the legislative office for assistance. They will review the claim and determine
what the next steps should be.
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CONFIRMATION

After the application is submitted electronically, you will receive a confirmation screen that includes your submission information.

If you want to keep track of the applications that you are completing, we recommend printing a copy of the confirmation screen.

ome

Confirmation

You may view your submission by returning to myPATH and navigating to Find a Submission and use your email jochriseme@pa.gov and confirmation code kbfrdj

Printable View

The confirmation information will also be emailed to the email address that was entered.

From: PATH PAS <RV-DoNotReply@pa.gov>
Sent: Wednesday, November 1, 2023 12:44 PM

To: Chrisemer, Jonathan <jochriseme@pa.gov>
Subject: Testing: PAS PA Department of Revenue: Application Received
We have received your 2022 Property Tax/Rent Rebate Application.

‘You may view your submission by returning to myPATH and navigating to Find a Submission and use your email jochriseme@pa.gov and confirmation code kbfrdj.

Customer Name: TAXPAYER, ANDY
Filing Period: 31-Dec-2022
Submission Type: 2022 Property Tax/Rent Rebate Application
Confirmation Code: kbfraj
Email Address: jochriseme@pa.gov
Submitted Date: 12/15/2023
4650.00

Requested Rebate Amount:

Rebates are typically not issued until after July 1st.

Please do not reply to this automated email. This mailbox is not monitored.

The information transmitted is intended only for the person or entity to whom it is addressed and contains confidential and/or proprietary information. Any use of this information other than by the intended recipient
i prohibited. If you receive this message in error, please send a reply email to the sender and delete the material from any and all computers. Unintended transmissions shall not constitute a disclosure of confidential

and/or proprietary information.
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UPDATING/AMENDING APPLICATIONS

If any information was incorrectly reported on your constituent’s application, you will need to correct the information with the
Department of Revenue. Unlike personal income tax returns, there is no indicator or amended application form to be completed. The
only way to amend a PA-1000, Property Tax/Rent Rebate Application is by submitting a duplicate application.

Important: If you have already submitted an application, you cannot submit amended application through myPATH.

UPDATING DIRECT DEPOSIT INFORMATION: To prevent delays in processing, please do not submit a duplicate application just to
update the direct deposit information. If incorrect direct deposit information was provided or the account was closed, the department
will issue a paper check instead. Department of Revenue performs what are called “strip runs” to verify banking information for rebate
applicants before any payments are dispersed. This is an automatic process that will occur so there is no action required from the
applicant.

CHANGING AN ADDRESS: See Changing/Updating Customers Address in the Contacting the Department Section
RESPONDING TO NOTICE: See Responding to a Letter in The Contacting the Department Section.

SUBMITTING MISSING INFORMATION

FORGOT INFORMATION AT TIME OF FILING

If your constituent forgot to include information at the time
of filing, use form DEX-93, Individual Taxes Correspondence evan g 38 1

. " . . . . i INDIVIDUAL TAXES
Sheet to submit the missing information. The instructions pennsylvania CORRESPONDENCE SHEET

on the DEX-93 will assist you in helping your constituent.

IMPORTANT: Please Include information for only one taxpayer and one tax year per correspondence sheet. Do not highlight

Th e D EX_93 isasi ngl e use d ocum ent, meani ng th at yo u must information on attachments. Please follow thess instructions to avoid delays in processing and payment of refunds.
. . NOTE: i you received a Request for Information, Biling MNotice, or 1D Theft Request, the department encourages you to submit your
use a Sepa rate fOrm fOr each a ppllca nt a nd perIOd . response via myPATH at myPATH.pa.gov. Corespondence submitted via myPATH will post b your account immediately
PURPOSE: Use this comespondence shest to fax or email information (see Email Rules below) to the Bur=au of Indrvidual Taxes for
items related to e-File retum to requasts for billing notices, Bureau of Fraud Detection
. . and Analysis notices. or Property Tax Rent Rebate notices. START
When using this form: ' faxveor

Taxpayer Name (name listed first on retum or notice)

e Complete all demographic information.

Taxpayer Address (including Zip Code)

e Always check the box(es) next to the most accurate
“Reason”.

Taxpayer ID # (FEIN, |ast four digits of SSN, or notice number)

e Send information to the fax number or email address
listed with the “Reason.”

° Donlt include messages in the body of the email. If you are providing additional information for Personal Income Tax, please refer to the below:

Reason (check applicable box):

[] Required E-File Return Attachments - Military orders. other states’ returns and other information (fax: 717-772-4193
or email: RA-BITPITELFCORFAXES@PA GOV)

[] Corespondence for the Bureau of Fraud Detection and Analysis (fax: T17-705-4614 or email: RA-RVPITFRALUDEPA GOV)
RECEIVED LETTER IN THE MAIL ] Respons ta Department Notce for Perscnal Income Tax

L] Department Request for information (fax 717-763-5823 or email: RA-BITPITHOLDCORFAXEGEPA. GOV)

If your constituent received a Request for Information, L] Department Biling Notic (faxc717-705-6236 or emat: RA-BITEILLCORFAXES@PA GOV)

e . If you are providing additional informatien for the Property Tax Rent Rebate, please refer to the below:
BI I | ) ng N Otlce' or I D Th eft Req u eSt' p Iea s€ encou rage th em [0 Deparment request for more information (fax: 717-783-5404 or email: RA-RVEITPTRRFAX@PA GOV)
to submit their response via myPATH. If they are unable or Emall Rules:

1. AN attachments must be pdf files.
No messages in body of email

~

Use “Reason” block checked as emall Subject.
Muitiple emalils for one taxpayer labeled using

unwilling to use myPATH, you also have the ability to submit

[
o

. . . 3. Mo links 10 shared files. 1of __, 2of ___, 3of __ etc. in Subject
a response on thelr behalf Respondlng to a Letter is a non- 4. Maximum email file size s 15mb 9. Redact all $5Ns 1o last four digits
. . 5. Information for onfy one taxpayer per email 10. Use Revenue ID or PATH 1D if avallable.
logged in feature that can be found directly from the 6. A comespondance shest a copyof Gepamen e & 1. Emods wthout enfcaton nmaton ar dees
recuured for each emai atiachimen wihout posting to any accoun
myPATH  homepage by visiting myPATH.pa.gov. Sender Information:
Correspondence submitted via myPATH will post to the fiomre of Sorder Tlaphioes Womibor
appllca nt's account |mmed|ate|y. Number of pages sent including comespondence sheet:

Thiss message is interded only for the use of the individual or entity to which it i addressed, and may contain infarmaticn that is privileged, confidengal
and exemgt fram distlosure under apgkicable law. If the reader of this message is not the interded recipient or the emplayees or agert respersible for
delivering the message 1o the intended recipiert, you are hereby nofified that any dissemination, distribusn, of copying of this communication s strictly
prahibited. If you have received this communication in emor, please notify us immediately by telephone, and return the original message fo us at the
above address via the LS. Postal Service. Thank you

*Please see the Responding to a Letter section for more
information.
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DENIED APPLICATIONS

If a rebate application is denied, the constituent will receive an Adjustment Summary notice stating that the department adjusted
their Property Tax/Rent Rebate. If this notice is received, please do not submit a duplicate application. Instead follow the instructions
on the notice and petition the Board of Appeals to dispute. Below is an example of the notice your constituent will receive:

Page a1 REV 1L0204

Date issued is used to determine the
period of time that your applicant has to
file an appeal.

pennsylvania
SRAATMENT OF REVENLE

N\ J
. o . I8  COCETE 0L O R S
Notice type quickly identifies that this is EEE e Letter 1D
an Adjustment Summary notice. This EI;'!"-E:; AXPAYE R ADDRESS Soctu Securty
notice is sent to applicants anytime an -

adjustment is made by the department. N

Padiod Eoding
Adjustment Summary

The Pennsylvania Department of Revenue has adjusted your 2022 Property Tax/Rent Rebate

Why you are receiving this notice explains

Why you are receiving this notice «  You do not qualify for a Pennsylvania Property Tax/Rent Rebate for the
: Py i If you have questions regarding this claim year above. The department did not receive all of the necessary

that the appllcant didn’t not quallfy notice, please contact the department information or documentation to complete your claim for a Property
because the department did not receive Wing the information provided Tax/Rent Rebate.
all of the necessary information or .

Customer Experience Center
documentation. 1-888-222-9190

Summary

Line ltem Reported Values Adjusted Values
Summary shows that the Rebate Amount Rebate Amount $650.00 $0.00
is the line that was adjusted. Additionally,
thIS area ShOWS the orlglnal amount How to file an appeal If you disagree with this decision, you may file an appeal within 90 days of the
cIaimed under the Reported Values and Date Issued printed on this notice. Information on filing an appeal is available

at www.eservices.revenue.pa.gov/FileAnAppeal.
the amount it was adjusted to under the

Adjustment Values.

How to file an appeal is found near the bottom of the notice and explains that the applicant has 90 days to appeal from the date
issued that is printed on this notice. In addition, this section provides the website for filing with the Board of Appeals (BOA) which is
the fastest and most effective way to submit the petition to the department. Moreover, when an online appeal is submitted, the
petitioner will be provided with a confirmation number that the appeal has been received and the appeal can be tracked through the
filers account.

IMPORTANT: After the petition is filed, the BOA has 6 months to process the petition and issue judgement.

31



DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

A -
& pennsylvania MAKING A CHANGE TO THE APPLICATION

Www.revenue.pa.gov

HOW TO FILE AN APPEAL

Before attempting to file an appeal, please confirm that the individual accurately received a denial letter and not just a request for
additional information. If the individual has received a PTRR denial letter, you will want to ensure that it has not been more than 90
days since the notice was issued. Additionally, you will want to ensure that you have all the necessary documentation to provide to
the department along with the petition.

Petitions should be sent directly to the Board of Appeals online or by mail. Please be aware that the Board of Appeals does not accept
petitions by email or fax. The preferred method of filing is online because this method is the only method that provides an immediate
confirmation number.

ELECTRONIC PETITION

There are multiple benefits to filing an appeal electronically. The most important is that when the appeal is electronically filed, the
applicant will receive a time stamped e-confirmation that establishes that the appeal was received by the Board. Individuals who have
used traditional mail delivery services have faced delivery problems in recent years, and those delivery challenges have caused
jurisdiction problems with some appeals. Be safe and file the appeal electronically. Additionally, due to internal efficiencies with
electronic appeals, on average, electronic appeals tend to be decided 10-20% sooner than paper filed petitions.

To get started, simply visit eservices.revenue.pa.gov/FileAnAppeal and click Submit a Petition from the left navigation bar. If this is
the first time electronically filing an appeal, the petitioner will need to register for an account before getting started.

PAPER PETITION

If unable to file an electronic appeal, complete the REV-65, Board of Appeals Petition Form, and remit it into to the Board of Appeals
via the United States Postal Service at:

BOARD OF APPEALS
PO BOX 281021
HARRISBURG PA 17128-1021

Petition is considered filed as of the USPS postmark date. Meter dates (ex: Pitney Bowes) or any other non-USPS mark (ex: FedEx, UPS)
are not recognized.
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CHECKING REBATE STATUS

Before contacting the department, check the status of a constituent’s application online or over the phone. To use these services, you
will need the primary applicant’s SSN, date of birth, and application year. Please note that the status is only updated once a day
regardless of which service that you use. Below, you will find an explanation of each status along with guidance what you should do
for each status.

WHERE’S MY REBATE ONLINE

To check the status of a PTRR application online, simply visit myPATH@pa.gov and
locate the Rebates panel from the homepage. This is a non-logged in feature,
meaning you do not need to create a myPATH username or password. Click the
hyperlink that says Where’s my Rebate? and you will be prompted to enter the
applicant’s information. Please note that if incorrect information is entered into the

system, the account will be locked for 24 hours. You or the constituent will need to Rebates
try again the fOHOWing day View my rebate status or apply for a rebate
© Where's My_PA Property Tax/Rent Rebate? | /
> Apply for a Property Tax/Rent Rebate for 2022

> Where's My Rebate?

= E

WHERE’S MY REBATE OVER THE PHONE

If you or your constituent would prefer to call the automated phone line to check the rebate status, you are welcome to do so 24
hours a day, 7 days a week. The phone number to call is 1-888-PATAXES (728-2937). Like the online option, you will need to enter the
primary applicant’s information. Entering incorrect information will lock the account for 24 hours.

STATUS: NO APPLICATION ON FILE

Where's My PA Property Tax/Rent Rebate?

2022 L 17-Mar-1950 B gty R b

The provided information does not match our records. If you filed electronically, please allow up to 24 hours from the time you submitted your application to check the status. If you mailed
your application, please allow 12 to 16 weeks from the date you mailed your application to check the status.

AUTOMATED PHONE MESSAGE: At this time, there is no record of your Property Tax/Rent Rebate application on file. If you filed
electronically, please allow up to 24 hours from the time you submitted your application to check the status. If you mailed your
application, please allow 4 to 6 weeks from the date you mailed your application to check the status.

WHAT IT MEANS: Either you entered the information wrong, or you need to give the system overnight to update the account, or the
paper application is still in processing at the Bureau of Imaging and Document Management.

WHAT YOU SHOULD DO: If the application was paper filed allow at least 12-16 weeks for the application to post before contacting the
department. If the application is not posted after that time frame, contact the department before submitting an additional application.
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STATUS: APPLICATION RECEIVED

Where's My PA Property Tax/Rent Rebate?

AUTOMATED PHONE MESSAGE: We have received your Property Tax/Rent Rebate application. Please allow additional time for us to
process your application. If additional information is needed, you will receive a letter with instructions. Rebates are typically not issued
until July 1st.

WHAT IT MEANS: The application is in our examination processing area and will be processed first-in-first-out If you check the status
prior to July 1%, there is a good chance you will get this message as these applications are processed in batch.

WHAT YOU SHOULD DO: Allow additional time for the application to process and continue to check the status. When the status
updates, you know the application has been reviewed. Do not contact the department.

STATUS: ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REQUESTED

Where's My PA Property Tax/Rent Rebate?

AUTOMATED PHONE MESSAGE: We have received your Property Tax/Rent Rebate application. However, additional information is
required from you in order to process your application. You will receive a letter explaining what is needed and instructions for
responding.

WHAT IT MEANS: The department has sent a letter requesting additional information. This status will appear before the letter is
mailed. Allow 1 week from the date the status appears to receive the letter.

WHAT YOU SHOULD DO: We suggest that you wait until the letter is received to respond because using the letter ID and the myPATH
application, “Respond to a Letter” feature on the Additional Services panel, to reduce processing time. When you respond this way,
you will receive a confirmation number confirming submission.

We request that you do not use the legislative email resource account to respond to a letter. As this adds an additional step into
processing and can delay the rebate. Once you have submitted the response via myPATH you can us the confirmation number in any
future legislative inquiry on the item.

NOTE: After submitting correspondence this message will not update until the correspondence is processed.
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STATUS: NOTICE OF ADJUSTMENT

Where's My PA Property Tax/Rent Rebate?

AUTOMATED PHONE MESSAGE: Your Property Tax/Rent Rebate application has been processed. However, we have made a change
to your application or rebate. You will receive a letter explaining the adjustment(s). Please follow the instructions on your letter.

WHAT IT MEANS: The department made an adjustment to the eligible rebate amount.

WHAT YOU SHOULD DO: We suggest that you wait until the letter is received to review the change made before you respond. If your
constituent disagrees with the change, we suggest responding using the letter ID and the myPATH application, “Respond to a Letter”
feature on the Additional Services panel, to reduce processing time. When you respond this way, you will receive a confirmation
number confirming submission.

We request that you do not use the legislative email resource account to respond to a letter. As this adds an additional step into
processing and can delay the rebate. Once you have submitted the response via myPATH you can us the confirmation number in any
future legislative inquiry on the item.

STATUS: APPLICATION PROCESSED

Where's My PA Property Tax/Rent Rebate?

AUTOMATED PHONE MESSAGE: Your Property Tax/Rent Rebate application has been processed. If you do not receive your rebate
within 4 to 6 weeks, please call 1-888-222-9190 to speak with one of our representatives.

WHAT IT MEANS: The rebate is being issued by the State Treasurer’s Office and will take about four weeks to be received

WHAT YOU SHOULD DO: Please pay attention to the date shown in the message, if it has been less than six weeks, we request that
you allow additional time for you constituent to receive the rebate. If they do not receive the rebate six weeks after the date shown,
contact the department for additional information.

35



A .
& pennsylvania CONTACTING THE DEPARTMENT

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

www.revenue.pa.gov

STATUS: APPLICATION DENIED

Where's My PA Property Tax/Rent Rebate?

AUTOMATED PHONE MESSAGE: Your Property Tax/Rent Rebate application has been denied. Please refer to your letter for an
explanation of the denial of your application, or you may dial 1-888-222-9190 to speak with one of our representatives.

WHAT IT MEANS: The application was denied by the department and the applicant will have to appeal the denial with the Board of
Appeals.

WHAT YOU SHOULD DO: If your constituent disagrees with the denial assist them with filing an application with the BOA. If you have
additional questions regarding the denial, contact the department. Do not send in correspondence through the legislative resource
account if the application has been denied.

CHANGING / UPDATING CUSTOMERS ADDRESS

If the customer has moved since filing their claim, they can update their address through myPATH by creating a profile as a new user
or logging into their existing myPATH account. You can also contact the ROLA, see SUBMITTING LEGISLATIVE INQUIRIES, and provide
the following information:

e Message explaining the issue,

e Customers name,

e SSN,

e Old address (used for original filing),
e New address,

e Any other relevant information.

36


http://www.mypath.pa.gov/

A .
& pennsylvania CONTACTING THE DEPARTMENT

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Www.revenue.pa.gov

OBTAINING A COPY OF THE APPLICATION
COPIES OF ELECTRONICALLY FILED APPLICATIONS
Please keep in mind that if the Property Tax/Rent Rebate application is submitted
electronically, you can print a copy upon submission. In addition, if you know the email
address that was used for filing and the confirmation code, you can use the Find a Submission =

feature from the myPATH homepage to obtain a copy. Simply visit myPATH.pa.gov and locate
the Additional Services panel. From there, select the Find a Submission hyperlink.

a™ s,

find a Submission

* Respondtoa LE'l'.EI'/
>

Find a Submission
Search for an Existing Submission > Tax Due Dates

Download Forms W-2G
y & Inferest Calculator

L > Treck My Inheritance Tax Retum

.022 Property Tax/Rent Rebate Submitted > c'-rnf-‘-/
Application Syl > Print

Next you will enter the email o

address used at the tlme Of flllng 2022 Property Tax/Rent Rebate Application

and the confirmation code. Upon —

clicking Submit, you will be taken ’

to the summary screen. Locate P
the Print hyperlink in the top
right-hand corner.

You will be presented with a copy of the Property Tax/Rent Rebate
application exactly as filed.

As a side note, some individuals struggle with checking their rebate status
because they are not entering the correct information. You can use this
copy of the application to fill in the necessary information.
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CONTACTING THE DEPARTMENT

COPIES OF PAPER APPLICATIONS OR TAX RECOR

Pennsylvania tax records are confidential and may be
released only to the taxpayer or pursuant to a release
signed by the taxpayer. This is done by completing the
REV-467, Authorization for Release of Tax Records.
Unauthorized disclosure of tax information is a criminal
offense. Carefully read the instructions on the reverse and
fill out the form completely.

The PA Department of Revenue will accept only an original
dated REV-467 signed by the taxpayer identifying the
specific tax records and tax years.

NOTE:

e Corporate tax records are available for release only by
a duly authorized officer.

e  Partnership tax records are available for release only
by a general partner.

LEGISLATIVE REQUESTS
If your constituent is requesting a complete copy of the
application or tax records, we recommend that you use the
REV-467 to make that request.

However, if your constituent is simply looking for the first
and second page of the PA-1000, Property Tax/Rent
Rebate Claim Form, the department will accept a
completed and signed "Waiver of Confidentiality
Provisions”. In this scenario, the documents will be
emailed to the legislative office making the request so long
as that is indicated on the waiver. If no email address is
provided, the records will be printed and mailed to the
taxpayer.

ABV.467 LEs (0304

pennsylvania AUTHORIZATION
DERARTMENT OF REVERUE SE
BUREAL OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES Fon RELEA OF
Durer TR OFFICE TAX RECORDS
12TH FL STRAWBEARY 50

HARAISELRG PA 17128-1200 PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE

Pennsylvania tax records are confidential and may be released only to the taxpayer ar pursuant to a release
signed by the taxpayer. Unauthorized disclosure of tax information s a eriminal offense.

Completion of this form authorizes the PA Department of Revenue to release the tax return documents identified
in Part Il

Carefully read the instructions on the reverse and fill out the farm completely.
PART I - DESIGNATION OF INDIVIDUAL TO RECEIVE TAX RECORDS

*

Full Name of Designated Individual Telephane No.

Name of Individual, Firm or Agency

Street Address
4.

City State ZIP Code
PART Il - TAX RECORDS TO BE RELEASED (See Instructions on reverse side.)

1 2 3 4 5
Taxpayer's Name as

Shown on Original Return Tax ID No. Tax Record Tax Period
6.

Current Street Address of Taxpayer

City State ZIP Code
7.

Street Address Used in Filing Returns

City State ZIP Code

PART III - CERTIFICATION

I certify that I:

[] am the individual whose tax records are to be released.

[ am a duly authorized corporate officer of the corporation for which tax records are to be released.

(Corporate Title)

[[] am a general partner of the partnership for which tax records are to be released.

[] am empowered by a power of attorney on tax matters to request release of the tax records.
{See instructions on reverse side.)

[ have been appointed as the executor or administrator of the will or estate of the deceased taxpayer
whose tax records are to be released. (See instructions on reverse side.)

PLEASE SIGN AFTER PRINTING
Signature Date  NMDOYY

| reseTrorM | NEXT PAGE PRINT FORM

IMPORTANT: The name and address on the REV-467 or the waiver must match what was on the original application (PA-1000) and

the requestor must submit a copy of their current valid photo ID.
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RESPONDING TO A LETTER

If it is determined that additional information is needed, the department will send a request for information notice to the applicant.
Letters can also be retrieved by creating a myPATH account for the customer.

We encourage that either the applicant or your office provides the requested documentation via myPATH. This is best way to serve
your constituent as it will get the information into our system, indexes to the applicants account and into processing workflow.

COMMON CUSTOMER NOTICES
REQUEST FOR INFORMATION: The department will send a request for information if additional correspondence is needed to process
the application. Do not submit an amended application if a request for information is received. Submit the requested information
using one of the methods listed on the letter. However, we encourage the use of myPATH (see USIING myPATH section).

ADJUSTMENT SUMMARY: The department will send an adjustment summary notice when we have changed the amount of the rebate
being requested. Submit any documentation that will support the customers position on why the adjustment should not have
occurred.

DENIAL LETTER: The department will send a denial notice when we fully deny a customer’s application. Do not submit a duplicate
application if the customer receives a notice of denial. The customer must appeal the decision by following the instructions on the
denial notice. This notice may include an adjustment summary notice that provides a brief explanation of the changes.

BILLING NOTICE: When the department makes an adjustment to an application that is already paid, a billing notice is sent to the
applicant. This notice will include an adjustment summary notice that provides a brief explanation of the changes. The customer can
pay the balance due on myPATH or use the enclosed coupon. If the customer disagrees, they will need to submit any documentation
that will support their position on why the adjustment should not have occurred.

USING myPATH

To expedite processing of the correspondence, go to myPATH@pa.gov
and then go to Respond to a Letter under the Additional Services panel
and enter the letter ID and their social security number. This is the
fastest and most efficient way to interact with the department. Once
the information has been submitted, a confirmation number will be
provided, and you can use this confirmation number when requesting
information from the Office of Legislative Affairs.

FILE FORMATS SUPPORTED Additional Services
Documents submitted electronically via myPATH must be converted to
the following formats to be able to be uploaded: PDF, jpeg, jpg, png,
gif, tiff, rtf

-' L —

Additional myPATH services for taxpayers

—

OTHER > Respond to a Letter

If you cannot use myPATH to the correspondence, you can also fax or * Find a Submission

email the responses to us using the following information:
*  Tax Due Dates

0 Fax Number: 717-787-1834 > Download Eorms W-2G

0 Email: RA-RVBITPTRRFAX@pa.gov 5

Penalty & Interest Calculator

IMPORTANT: Documents submitted through the fax or email listed 22 ele 2Ll s ST Ty

above must be converted to a PDF format. Also, a copy of the letter
should be included with the submission to ensure the information is
attached to the correct account.

NOTE: The Find a Submission option cannot be used to check the status of a response to a letter submitted through the Respond to a
Letter feature. If an applicant calls either the Customer Experience Center or automated phoneline, we will not be able to provide a
status on a submission until it is posted in our system.
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SUBMITTING LEGISLATIVE INQUIRIES

Legislative inquiries that are sent to the department will be processed through a new secure response system. Submission
of the inquiry will still start via an email sent to (revlegis@pa.gov). However, the method in which you view responses to
those submissions will look slightly different. This new process will help to expedite the response time, provide better
tracking of inquiries, and eliminate the need for multiple contacts. To ensure that your submissions are routed quickly
and appropriately, we highly encourage you to use the steps below to confirm that your emails are properly formatted.

REQUIRED EMAIL FORMAT

SUBJECT LINE
The subject line of the email should start with one of the abbreviations listed below. Additionally, we suggest that you
include the constituent’s name and/or additional details for your reference later (ex. PIT - Bob Jones).

Tax Type/Program Abbreviation

Personal Income Tax PIT

Property Tax/Rent Rebate PTRR

Sales Tax Sales

Corporation Tax Corp

Employer Withholding Emp

New Business Registration Regis

Tax Clearances Clearances

Audit Audit

Topic Not Listed Other

BODY OF THE EMAIL
The body of the message should contain the following information, to help us best serve your request.
MESSAGE EXPLAINING THE ISSUE Our constituent is looking for the status of their PIT return. They
filed in April and haven’t received their refund yet.
TAX YEAR or PERIOD IN QUESTION 2022
SSN, EIN, or PATH ID 123-45-6789
myPATH CONFIRMATION NUMBER (If known/Received when
filing)
CUSTOMER NAME (Taxpayer or business) Bob and Mary Jones
ADDRESS (Used when filing) 123 Main Street
Anytown, PA 17128

PHONE NUMBER and/or EMAIL (Used when filing) XXX-XXX-XXXX

BobJones@email.com

CURRENT ADDRESS (If different)
CURRENT PHONE NUMBER and/or EMAIL (If different)

B‘ From jsmith@email.com
Send To RV, revlegis;

Cc

Subject PIT- Bob Jones

Our constituent is looking for the status of their PIT return. They filed in April and haven't received their refund yet.

Tax Year: 2022

S55N: 123-45-6789

MName: Bob and Mary Jones

Address: 123 Main 5t, Anytown, PA 17128

John Smiith | Legislative Aid
Phone: 717.555.1212| Fax: 717.555.1213 40
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AFTER SENDING AN EMAIL DOR RESPONSE

When an inquiry is submitted, you will now receive an Once the inquiry is reviewed and addressed, you will

email letting you know that your question has been  receive an email letting you know that we responded.
received.

[External] test [Incident: 231002-000166] [External] test [Incident: 231002-000166]
4
PA Dept. of Revenue <revenuepa@mailmw.custhelp.com:= OO 2| | w PA Dept. of Revenue <revenuepa@mailmw.custhelp.com> S 97| w
To @ Bianchi, Donald E Man 1: To @ Bianchi, Donald E Mon 1:25 P

ATTENTION: This email message is from an external sender. Do not open links or aftachments frot A]:'ENT!ON;THE;IHEH rr:ressug _e rs from an{ exrer;;a[;endfrr.pli‘_s ;_Dt Dbp j; f(n..ksgiﬁa:m]cchments from
unknown senders. To report suspicious email, use the Report Phishing button in Outlook. UNKNOWI SEAGETs. 10 TEPOTT SUSPICIOUS emat, use the fepo shing onin Q0%

@ Recently you requested personal assistance from our on-line support
center. To access your question and our response from our support site,
click here. We will assume your issue has been resolved if we do not
receive an ate from you within 96 hours. Thank you for allowing

@ Your question has been received. Due to increased volumes of calls
and emails as the department transitions to myPATH, you should
expect a response from us within 5-7 days. Thank you for your

patience. us to be of servide to you.
To update your question with additional information, click here Subject
) test
Subject
test Question Reference # 231002-000166

« Date Created: 10/02/2023 01:21 PM

Question Reference # 231002-000166 « Date Last Updated: 10/02/2023 01:25 PM

« Date Created: 10/02/2023 01:21 PM
« Date Last Updated: 10/02/2023 01:21 PM
« Status: Unresolved

UPDATE YOUR QUESTION/REVIEW A RESPONSE

To update your question or review the response, simply select the “click here” link in the email we sent. That will bring
you to the Log In screen.

Customer Support Home Find Answers Submit a Question My Profile -

Log in

First time users will need to

If you already have an account, enter your Create an Account create an account.
username and password. If you did not yet create a
passwaord for your account, please select the "Forgot (See CREATE AN ACCO

o This secure communication channe
your username or password” link below. , . .
taxpayers directly in touch with the

Username Department of Revenue agents
electronically, much like email but without
the risk of compromising confidential

Password taxpayer information. To establish secure
and direct communication with department
representatives, simply create a user

account by providing basic information.

Create a New Account

Forgot your username or need a new password?

Log in with your username

and password once your
account is created.
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This is an example of what you will see
when you log in to see a response.

Key areas to focus on:

SUBJECT: This area will display the
subject line of the email you sent.
(Remember the more specific
information you provide the easier it
will be for you to quickly recognize the
constituent inquiry.)

UPDATE THIS QUESTION: This area
allows you to respond to the email.
Additionally, you have the ability to
attach documents, if applicable.

RESPONSE: This area is where you will
see the response from the department.
It also includes the date and time of the
response.

CUSTOMER: This area will display your
original email to the department. It
also includes the date and time of the
original email to the department.

Cusbomuer Sapport Homs Fired A wurs

tezt

Updata this guestion

Add addvbenal informatien b your ouis beon

Attach addiicmal documenls b your geestion

D you wanl & rcsporma
Communization H|Et—:r‘_|l'

Hesponss Donald wia Emad

Al

Caatomer Donald E Bumanchn ma €55 Email

Donald Bianchi, CPA | Cirecio

28 Merartmert = B - T R
“A Departme 2 Riewemine | CLstormsr Experts

EHEVEHUE

ADDITIONAL DETAILS: This area shows
you the Reference Number, Status,
date Created, and date Updated.

Addienal Cetall2

Emanl Addrums ST [T

Palererre Murmbar
Shutum

Craafad LU 00 UL 2R FF
Updated LU 00 UL 25 FF
Tax Calsgory = iyPRIH - Sy

CONTACTING THE DEPARTMENT

LOGGING IN TO AN EMAIL RESPONSE

Subemil & Quswlces By Prabls -

L0 2 2028 O1: 25 PH

10/ 2y 2025 O1: 21 PH
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CREATE AN ACCOUNT

The first time you log into the system, you will need to
create an account. YOU are I’eqUired to prOVide SiX pieces Customer Support Home Find Answers Submit a Question My Profile -
of information marked by the *.

Create an Account
1. Username

Username *

2. Email Address |
(Must be the email address used to submit the =

IanIry) Password *
3. PaSSWO r.d Verify Password (Note: Password is user selected) *
4. First Name
Last N *
5. Last Name o
. Alternate Email 1
6. Daytime Phone Number
Alternate Email 2
HINTS
If you want to share an account, you have the ability to paytime Phone Number *
include two alternate emails in your profile. However, if e-Signature User D

chose this option, each email address will receive
notification of the initial submissions and the departments

Last 4 digits of SSN

I’eSpOHSES. Spouse’s SSN
Last 4 digits of EIN
YOUR ACCOUNT
Below is an example of what you will see when you log in

to our profile. This screen will display the four most recent
emails that you sent.

Customer Support Home Find Answers Submit a Question My Profile -

Account Overview

? Questions

Your Recently Submitted Questions

| Subject Reference # ' Status Date Created

| PIT - Notice 231004-000142 Unresolved 10/04/2023

Legislative test 231003-000255 Waiting 10/03/2023

eSignature/eTIDES 231003-000017 Waiting 10/03/2023

| test 231002-000166 Waiting 10/02/2023

See all questions / /
SUBIJECT: Displays REFERENCE #: This STATUS: DATE CREATED:
the subject line of lists the reference e Unresolved: waiting for the Records the date the
your email. This is number for each department to respond. email was created.
why it is important email you sent. e Waiting: The department has
to be specific. responded to your email.
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To see all the emails, you have sent to date, click the See all questions hyperlink.

Customer Support Home Find Answers Submit a Question My Profile -

Account Overview

? Questions
Your Recently Submitted Questions
Subject Reference £ Status Date Created
PIT - Motice 231004-000142 Unresolved 10/04/2023
Legislative test 231003-000255 Waiting 10/03/2023
eSignature/eTIDES 231003-000017 Waiting 10/03/2023
test 231002-000166 Waiting 10/02/2023

See all guestions

You will then be presented with a Support History screen showing all transactions.

Customer Support Home Find Answers Submit a Question My Profile

Advanced Search

Search your Support History

Results 1 - 10 of 42
Support History

Subject Reference # Status Date Created
PIT - Notice 231004-000142 Unresolved 10/04/2023
Legislative test 231003-000255 Waiting 10/03/2023
eSignature/eTIDES 231003-000017 Waiting 10/03/2023
test 231002-000166 Waiting 10/02/2023
Hello 230504-000299 No Response Required 05/04/2023
Hello 221201-000143 Waiting 12/01/2022
Hello 221013-000542 Waiting 10/13/2022
help 220929-000086 No Response Required 09/29/2022
TESt 220216-000197 Waiting 02/16/2022
TEST 220120-000371 No Response Required 01/20/2022

1 2 3 4 5 Next>
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CONTACTING THE DEPARTMENT

WAIVER OF CONFIDENTIALITY PROVISIONS FORM
A signed "Waiver of Confidentiality Provisions" form will be required to discuss taxpayer personally identifiable information with
legislative offices regarding constituent inquiries. The waiver requirement is to maintain the security of personally identifiable
information and abide by IRS confidentiality rules. General non-taxpayer specific questions will not require a waiver.

BEST PRACTICES

e Under Legislative Office Information, a
named representative to receive information
can be “Representative/Senator John Smith’s
office”.

e Both the “Reason for contact” and “Relevant
tax period/type” need to be filled in.

e Onlyone (1) of the taxpayers on a jointly filed
return needs to sign the waiver.

e  Waivers should be attached to your email to
the Office of Legislative Affairs when making
an inquiry.

e If a valid waiver is on file for a taxpayer,
subsequent inquiries associated with the
“reason for contact” will not require a new
waiver. (This is why it is important to log back
into the inquiry system and update a previous
inquiry.)

IMPORTANT: If you file a Property Tax/Rent
Rebate via myPATH and you indicate that your
office was the preparer, you will not need to
include a waiver form when submitting your
inquiry.

NOTE: If you are unable to provide a signed
waiver. The ROLA will contact the taxpayers
directly to either resolve the situation or get
needed details to properly follow-up.

Name/Entity:

SSN/EIN (Please Provide in Full):

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Liﬁ pennsylvania

WAIVER OF CONFIDENTIALITY PROVISIONS

Taxpayer Information

Contact Phone:

Address:

IfWe acknowledge that I/we understand that tax information is governed by Federal and State
confidentiality laws. 1/We wish to allow the listed party below access to this tax information for the
specified time period and for the stated reason. By signing this waiver |f/we acknowledge that I/we
specifically authorize the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue to reveal confidential tax information
to the named representative below, for the purpose of assistance with the issue described below.

Legislative Office Information

Mame:

Contact Phone: | )]

Reason for Contact/Issue to be Discussed (Please provide full detail):

Relevant Tax Period & Tax Type:

Taxpayer Signature

Taxpayer Date

Taxpayer Date
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The Department of Revenue has created several resources to help Legislative Offices serve their constituents. These documents
along with other information can be easily located on the department’s Office of Legislative Affairs webpage.

RESOURCE DESCRIPTION

This document provides talking points to explain the Property Tax/Rent Rebate expansion that

2023 PTRR Talking Points .
takes effect in January of 2024.

This document provides a two-page summary of the program that can be printed and given to
REV-573 constituents. It provides basic eligibility information and guidance on the documentation needed
when applying.

This document provides a two-page advertisement for electronic filing that can be printed and
DPO-87 given to constituents.

This document was developed to give legislative staff a single document that provides eligibility
PTRR Quick Tips criteria, summary of the various forms used when filling, how to file the application, how to check
rebate status, and what to do if information is requested by the department.

This is a three-page document designed to help legislative staff and constituents with gathering

Proof Document Checklist . ) )
the information needed when applying.

A flyer designed to advertise our myPATH portal. (The design of this form also provides a space
where a resourceful legislative staffer can insert a text box over the upper right-hand image and
insert the legislators name, address, and office information.)

Flyer — PTRR Apply Online

How to use
The above resources are in a PDF format so they can be printed and handed or emailed to the prospective applicant, included in e-
newsletters, or posted on the legislator’s webpage or social media channels.

REVENUEA411 VIDEOS

Filing a PA-1000 Property Tax/Rent Rebate Application https://youtu.be/3p-UnjCNpXM
Responding to a Letter https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qb hx6cGl-g
Where’s My Rebate https://youtu.be/d103rg3gNiE

How to use

These videos are available on the CWOPA YouTube page and can easily be linked to the legislator’s website, included in e-newsletters,
or posted on social media channels.

LEGISLATIVE TRAINING VIDEOS

The annual virtual training session with a Q&A follow-up for legislative staffers will be posted to the department Office of Legislative
Affairs (pa.gov) webpage. During this session we cover eligibility requirements for the program, electronic filing and services, common
errors, helpful tips, and resources available for assistance. This video is a great resource for new staffers or volunteers that are
employed during the year or for existing staffs that could not attend the live session.



https://www.revenue.pa.gov/GetAssistance/LegislativeAffairs/Pages/default.aspx
https://youtu.be/3p-UnjCNpXM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qb_hx6cGI-g
https://youtu.be/dIO3rg3gNiE
https://www.revenue.pa.gov/GetAssistance/LegislativeAffairs/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.revenue.pa.gov/GetAssistance/LegislativeAffairs/Pages/default.aspx
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PTRR FORMS ORDERING

To help reduce the cost to state government we are asking
legislative office to file PTRR applications online via our myPATH
portal. You don’t have to login to file the application and you will
receive a confirmation code as proof of filing.

SPANISH FORMS

A Spanish version of the PA-1000 instruction booklet is available
on our website (www.revenue.pa.gov/ptrr). In addition, a
Spanish version of the PA-1000 application will be available on
the Rebate panel of our myPATH online portal.

Rebates

View my rebate status or apply for a rebate.

RESOURCES

HOW TO OBTAIN FORMS

To obtain forms, there are various options available to your
office. To best help your office and your constituent we are
providing the listing in order of best service.

1. File via myPATH:
myPATH@pa.gov

2. Download and print the form from our website:
www.revenue.pa.gov/ptrr

3. Order Forms Online to be mailed to you:
revenue.activeorders.com/StoreFront/Shopping.aspx

4. Email Requests for Forms:

ra-forms@pa.gov

5. Automated 24-hour Forms Ordering Message Service:
1-800-362-2050.

PA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
TAX FORMS SERVICE UNIT
1854 BROOKWOOD STREET
HARRISBURG PA 17104-2244

6. Written Requests:

PTRR FORMS GUIDE

The following forms are available on the department’s website at (Property Tax/Rent Rebate Program Forms (pa.gov)). However, we
recommend that you use the online application available at myPATH.pa.gov.

FORM

DESCRIPTIONS

PA-1000 PTRR application form

PA-1000 Booklet

Pennsylvania Property Tax or Rent Rebate Program Instruction Booklet

PA-1000 Booklet (ESPANOL)

Pennsylvania PTRR Program Instruction Booklet -- Spanish Version

PA-1000 RC

Rent Certificate and Rental Occupancy Affidavit. (This is required for all applying renters.)

PA-1000 Schedule A

Used if applicant owned more than one home during the application year or passed away.

PA-1000 Schedule B/D/E application year

e (B) Used if applicant was a widow or widower age 50 to 64 and remarried during the

e (D) Used when renter receives cash public assistance
e (E) Used when part of the homestead was for purposes other than residence such as an in-
home business or rented a portion of their residence.

PA-1000 Schedule F/G *

(F) Used to prorate taxes or rent when more than one eligible person is on the deed or lease
e (G) Used to annualize income of deceased applicants

PA-1000 PS Physician’s Statement of Permanent and Total Disability
DEX-41 Application for Property Tax/Rent Rebate due the Decedent
REV-65 Board of Appeal Petition Form
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