

DATE July 29, 2016

RE Direct Wine Shipment Tax, Act 39 of 2016

## DIRECT WINE SHIPMENT TAX BULLETIN 16-001

On June 8, 2016, Governor Tom Wolf signed into law Act 39 of 2016, amending the Liquor Code to provide for various consumer convenience initiatives including direct shipment of wine from wine producers to residents of this commonwealth.

The amendments to the Liquor Code impose a \$2.50 per gallon excise tax on direct wine shipments. In addition, all direct wine shipment sales are subject to Pennsylvania state and local sales tax.

Producers of wine who are licensed by the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board as Direct Wine Shippers are permitted to ship up to thirty-six cases, of up to nine liters per case of wine in a calendar year to Pennsylvania residents who are at least 21 years of age. Direct Wine Shippers are required to obtain a Pennsylvania sales tax license prior to applying for a Direct Wine Shipper license from the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board. Once licensed, Direct Wine Shippers are required to remit wine excise tax to the Department of Revenue on a quarterly basis. Sales and use tax must be remitted along with wine excise tax on a quarterly basis for the initial licensing year. For all subsequent licensing years the sales tax filing frequency will be evaluated annually and subject to change based on provisions of Section 217 of the Tax Reform Code.

In the coming months the department will be providing additional information regarding the Direct Wine Shipment Tax, including registration information, tax returns and instructions, payment methods and frequently asked questions.

Please visit our website at www.revenue.pa.gov for updates on the Direct Wine Shipment Tax.