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2017 STATE TAX SUMMARY: ACT 43 OF 2017 
 

Sales and Use Tax 
 

• Help Desk or Call Center Support: Effective October 30, 2017. Help desk or call center 
support for canned software is exempted from sales and use tax when separately 
invoiced. 
 

• Beer Keg Exemption: Effective October 30, 2017. Kegs used to contain malt or brewed 
beverages are exempt from sales and use tax as part of wrapping and packaging 
supplies.  

 
• Marketplace Sales: Sellers of products on the internet not maintaining a place of 

business in the Commonwealth and not collecting Pennsylvania sales tax, making sales 
of at least $10,000 into Pennsylvania in the previous calendar year, must file an election 
by March 1, 2018 opting either to begin to collect sales and use tax by April 1, or commit 
to sending use tax notices with each sale. Additionally, sellers sending notices must also 
send an annual summary of purchases both to the customer and to the Department.   
 
Affected entities are: marketplace facilitators, persons who list or advertise property for 
sale in any forum and who either directly or indirectly collect the payment from the 
purchaser and transmit the payment to the person selling the property; remote sellers,  
persons that do not maintain a place of business in the Commonwealth and sell at retail 
into the Commonwealth; and referrers, persons who provide a forum for interaction 
between buyers and sellers but do not directly participate in the sale. Marketplace 
facilitators and referrers are required to file an election on behalf of all the sellers 
participating in their system. If the election is made to collect sales tax, then the 
marketplace facilitator or referrer is required to collect and remit sales tax on all of its 
taxable marketplace sales.   
 
For those opting to collect sales tax, the new provisions require collection to begin by 
April 1, 2018 for tangible personal property. The effective date is delayed until April 1, 
2019 for digital goods such as electronic copies of books, canned software, music and 
similar items. 

 
Personal Income Tax 
 

• ABLE Savings Accounts: Effective October 30, 2017, Act 43 provides taxing provisions 
related to ABLE accounts. ABLE accounts themselves are exempt from all 
Commonwealth taxation. Further, undistributed account earnings are not subject to tax. 
Distributions from accounts are taxable unless used for qualified disability expenses of 
the designated beneficiary. A contributor to an account may deduct up to $14,000 (the 
current dollar amount under Section 2503(b) of the Internal Revenue Code) for 
Pennsylvania personal income tax purposes, but such deduction cannot reduce the 
contributor’s taxable income to less than zero. 
 
 
 
 

o Note: The Internal Revenue Code limits the total yearly contributions from all 
contributors to an account to $14,000. 
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• Checkoffs: The expired Korea/Vietnam Memorial National Education Center checkoff is 
repealed. The Wild Resource Conservation Fund, Organ and Tissue Donation 
Awareness Trust Fund, Military Family Relief Assistance Program, Pennsylvania 
Children’s Trust Fund and American Red Cross checkoffs are made permanent. These 
administrative changes are effective October 30, 2017. 
 

• Non-resident withholding: Effective January 1, 2018, Act 43 requires payors of non-
employee compensation and business income to non-resident individuals (or 
disregarded entities with a non-resident owner) to withhold income tax from such 
payments. The United States government, the commonwealth of Pennsylvania, their 
agencies, instrumentalities, and any political subdivisions of Pennsylvania are excluded 
from this withholding requirement.   
 
Further, lessees of Pennsylvania real estate making “lease payments” to non-resident 
lessors are also required to withhold personal income tax on such payments. Residential 
rental payments are exempt from the withholding requirement. Withholding of tax is 
required for payments of $5,000 or more annually. Withholding is optional on payments 
less than $5,000.  
 
 

Corporation Tax 
 

• Net Operating Losses:  If any part of the net operating loss deduction is declared to be 
unconstitutional by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court, the Department is required to 
publish a notice of the decision in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. The following provision is 
effective upon publication of the notice. 
 

• Removes the $5 million cap on NOL deductions and increases the cap of 30% of taxable 
income as follows:  
 

o 35% of taxable income for tax year 2018, and;  
 

o 40% of taxable income for tax year 2019 and thereafter.  
 

• Qualified Manufacturing Innovation & Reinvestment Deduction: A newly created 
deduction allowing a qualified business to deduct five percent of its capital investment 
from their corporate net income tax liability if it invests at least $100 million in the 
creation of new or refurbished manufacturing capacity within 3 years of a designated 
start date. The deduction would be available to each qualifying business for five years 
and cannot exceed 50 percent of the corporation’s tax liability. Interested businesses 
can contact the Department of Community and Economic Development after the 
effective date of December 29, 2017. 

 
Other Taxes: 

 
• Realty Transfer Tax: Veterans’ Service Organizations: Broadens the category of 

veterans’ service organizations defined as tax-exempt for the purposes of transfers 
under the realty transfer tax, effective October 30, 2017.  
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• Inheritance Tax: Clarifies existing requirements regarding the filing of returns for the 

inheritance tax exemption on transfers of certain family owned farms and family owned 
businesses. Any inheritance tax return filed after July 1, 2012 under Section 2136 
(returns) that reports transfers of property which are exempt from inheritance tax under 
Section 2111 (transfers not subject to tax) will be considered timely if filed within one 
year of the tax return due date, including an extended due date. 
 

• Public Transportation Assistance Fund: Effective October 30, 2017, provides for a 
prorated fee for partial day car sharing services as a clarification to the current vehicle 
rental fee.  
 
Fee Schedule: 
 

Rental Interval Fee 
Less than 2 hours $0.25 
2 to 3 hours $0.50 
More than 3, but less than 4 hours $1.25 
4 hours or more $2.00 

 
• Fireworks Tax: Incorporates the existing Fireworks Law into the Tax Reform Code and 

modernizes and expands the definition of legal consumer fireworks. Further imposes a 
tax at the rate of 12% on the sale price of consumer fireworks suitable for use by the 
public. The 12% tax will be in addition to the sales and use tax already imposed on such 
sales. The Department of Agriculture will continue to administer the Fireworks Law. The 
fireworks tax is effective October 30, 2017. 
 
 

Tax Credit and Economic Development Programs 
 

• Tax Credit Eligibility: Provides that before a tax credit can be awarded, the Department 
may make a finding that the taxpayer has filed all required state tax reports and returns 
and paid any balance due, unless the tax due is currently under appeal. 

 
• Film Tax Credit Districts: Amends the existing Film Production Tax Credit to authorize 

the creation of not more than two film production tax credit districts. Film production tax 
credit districts must be located on deteriorated property which is at least 55 acres and 
contains at least one qualified production facility and six soundstages. The deteriorated 
property must be occupied by two or more qualified businesses that make a total capital 
investment of at least $400 million on the property within five years after the designation 
of the district. The district designation will expire after 15 years. Tax credits, which are in 
addition to existing film production tax credits, may be approved for fiscal years 2019-
2020 and thereafter. These provisions are effective within 60 days. 
 

• Entertainment Production Tax Credit: Effective October 30, 2017, Act 43 moves the 
authorizing language for this credit from Title 12, Chapter 33 to the Tax Reform Code as 
Subarticle E of the Entertainment Production Tax Credits. The credit remains available 
to up to five tours per year at a maximum of $800,000 per tour. 
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• City Revitalization and Improvement Zone (CRIZ) Program: Effective October 30, 
2017, the CRIZ program is amended to include a provision, which allows an inactive 
parcel to be transferred out of the zone and replaced with a parcel of equal or lesser 
acreage. Such transfer of parcels in and out of the zone does not need to occur 
simultaneously. Provides that excess money transferred to a CRIZ fund for utilization in 
a pilot zone is not required to be returned to the commonwealth by the pilot zone’s 
contracting authority and must be used in accordance with the current utilization 
provisions in the article.  
 
As amended, pilot zones are exempt from returning excess funds to the commonwealth 
annually as long as the excess funds are used in accordance with the current utilization 
provisions in this article. 
 

• Neighborhood Improvement Zone (NIZ) Program: The NIZ program has been 
amended to include a provision to allow the contracting authority to transfer parcels out 
of the zone and replace with parcels not to exceed the acreage transferred out. The 
Department and municipality must certify that there is no activity in the zone being 
transferred that generates tax receipts or other revenue. The program changes are 
effective in one year. 

 
• Keystone Opportunity Zone Program: The application date for additional Keystone 

Opportunity Zones is extended from October 2016 to October 2018 and extends the 
date for DCED action on applications for additional KOZs from December 2016 to 
December 2018. 

 
 
Petition for Reassessment:     
 

• The period of time a taxpayer has to file a petition for reassessment, review or 
adjustment with the Board of Appeals (BOA) is reduced from 90 days to 60 days after 
the mailing date of the notice of assessment. In addition, the time period for appeal to 
the Board of Finance and Revenue by a taxpayer is reduced from 90 days to 60 days. 
This change applies to petitions for refunds, petitions for reassessments, and petitions 
for redeterminations filed with the Department on or after December 29, 2017. 
 
 

Tobacco Master Settlement  
 

• Authorizes the Commonwealth Financing Authority (CFA) to enter into a sales 
agreement or issue bonds utilizing a portion of the annual payments from the Tobacco 
Master Settlement Agreement. Any agreement or issuance of bonds shall raise net 
proceeds of $1,500,000,000 to be deposited into the General Fund. The term of the 
sales agreement shall not exceed 10 years and the term of the bonds shall not exceed 
30 years. 


